Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
Post Reply
rsoko
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:54 am
Country: -

Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by rsoko » Tue Mar 26, 2013 5:49 pm

I was having some issues flashing my new Turnigy 9xr. So I asked around for help and opened up the radio. Turns out there is a upgraded M128 MCU! That is a change from the 64 of previous models.
The radio was purchased on March 16, 2013.
Attachments
Inside New 9xr 3-25-13 (5)- Resized.jpg
Inside New 9xr 3-25-13 (4)- Resized.jpg
Inside New 9xr 3-25-13 (3)- Resized.jpg
Inside New 9xr 3-25-13 (2)- Resized.jpg
Inside New 9xr 3-25-13 (1)- Resized.jpg


rsoko
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:54 am
Country: -

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by rsoko » Tue Mar 26, 2013 5:53 pm

Here are the best resolution close-ups I could get of the new processor. (These were shot with my phone a Galaxy SII)
Attachments
20130326_093929.jpg
20130326_093806.jpg

User avatar
rperkins
Posts: 1422
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 12:51 pm
Country: -

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by rperkins » Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:16 pm

thanks for the post and the pictures.
I ordered a 9xr from HK on March 8th, with shipping on March 11th. Just checked and it only has the m64 :(

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18982
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by jhsa » Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:42 pm

Hey yay, now they just have to make the telemetry mod as well :D And create more space for other mods inside the radio ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18982
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by jhsa » Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:44 pm

You can flash then the er9x128 or even opentx 128.. You can have the complete openTX inside the radio now.. and the double of the memory for models..
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


rsoko
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:54 am
Country: -

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by rsoko » Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:45 pm

jhsa wrote:You can flash then the er9x128 or even opentx 128.. You can have the complete openTX inside the radio now.. and the double of the memory for models..
Where is the code to download for er9x128? (Not sure what is latest Stable Version)

User avatar
mhotar
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 9:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Jemnice, Vysocina

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by mhotar » Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:13 pm

9xr PCB is ready for telemetry mod, it needs only to place two components to different position ,move two vires inside connectors and some code change. They can surprise us.

Odesláno z mého Blade pomocí Tapatalk 2

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18982
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by jhsa » Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:48 pm

rsoko wrote:
Where is the code to download for er9x128? (Not sure what is latest Stable Version)
Go to preferences in eepe and change the processor to m128 and click download.. it will download the latest er9x128 version..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

rsoko
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:54 am
Country: -

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by rsoko » Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:38 pm

Thanks! That makes it easy.

mpjf01
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 3:07 am
Country: -
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by mpjf01 » Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:43 pm

So HK have another version of "their" firmware for the 128 processor?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16586
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by MikeB » Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:54 pm

The version for the M64 actually loads into a M128 and runs OK. eepe might get confused though!

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

rsoko
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:54 am
Country: -

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by rsoko » Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:56 pm

Is this the one that needs to be downloaded: er9x 128 frysky?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16586
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by MikeB » Tue Mar 26, 2013 11:07 pm

Yes, but it does expect the telemetry mods to be done. I only build that one as I had assumed it was only needed by people who needed the '128 because the FrSky version was getting close to the limit of available flash. I could add the standard version for the '128 if it is needed, just trying to minimise the number of varients needed.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

rsoko
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:54 am
Country: -

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by rsoko » Tue Mar 26, 2013 11:16 pm

Thanks for the response. That makes sense. Having a lot of extra does take up a lot of extra space.

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by kaos » Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:17 am

I guess HK finally figure out they won't sell too many 9XR unless they upgrade/change something.;) or the OEM worker just loaded a wrong roll of CPU when they made them (which happens not infrequently in factory). Would be interesting to see what is coming out from now on.

User avatar
dvogonen
Posts: 453
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:38 pm
Country: Sweden
Location: Stockholm

Re: Sv: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by dvogonen » Wed Mar 27, 2013 5:52 am

Or even more likely:
The 64 chip version was temporarily unavailable and was replaced by the slightly more expensive, pin compatible, 128 version to be able to complete the production run. This is done all the time. Lots of circuits are compatible, but you generally want to use the cheapest (obviously).

If the change was intentional they would have updated the firmware to take advantage of the expanded memory. Is there room for more than 16 models?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18982
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by jhsa » Wed Mar 27, 2013 10:38 am

would they?
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
dvogonen
Posts: 453
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:38 pm
Country: Sweden
Location: Stockholm

Re: Sv: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by dvogonen » Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:05 pm

If they wanted to claim an improvement they better update the firmware to use it.

The easiest way would be to use a newer version of openTX or er9x compiled for m128

The additions they made to er9x were purely cosmetic anyway, so there would be little reason to repeat them.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18982
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by jhsa » Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:09 pm

well, soon we will find out if that m128 was an improvement or not.. ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

nougiw
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by nougiw » Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:39 pm

jhsa wrote:You can flash then the er9x128 or even opentx 128.. You can have the complete openTX inside the radio now.. and the double of the memory for models..

Could you explain this to me please? ATmega64 and ATmega128 have both 2kB of EEPROM, so why double the memory for models? Models' templates aren't stored exclusively in EEPROM?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10241
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by Kilrah » Fri Mar 29, 2013 7:43 pm

No, atmega128 has 4kB.

nougiw
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by nougiw » Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:16 pm

Kilrah wrote:No, atmega128 has 4kB.
That's a bit strange considering the 2nd page of this document.

http://www.atmel.com/Images/doc2539.pdf

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10241
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by Kilrah » Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:18 pm

Well, apparently even atmel makes errors in their docs!
See datasheet instead. http://www.atmel.com/Images/2467S.pdf

I'm happily using the extra 2kB on my 9x with openTx :)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18982
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by jhsa » Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:41 pm

me too. got 3.4 KB free on mine :)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

kippan
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:23 pm
Country: -

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by kippan » Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:29 pm

I bought my 9XR on March 28, 2013.There is a upgraded M128 MCU inside to. No problems with either gimbals or anything else. Works perfect for me.

User avatar
Flaps 30
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:04 pm
Country: -
Location: Wokingham Berkshire

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by Flaps 30 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:47 pm

kippan wrote:I bought my 9XR on March 28, 2013.There is a upgraded M128 MCU inside to. No problems with either gimbals or anything else. Works perfect for me.
Now that is interesting.. I wonder if they are using the M128 software that gives you extra model storage....

Can you tell us how many models the transmitter will allow you to store?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18982
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by jhsa » Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:52 pm

Just look at the model select menu how much free space you have..
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

kippan
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:23 pm
Country: -

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by kippan » Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:21 pm

Hi,16 channels as standard.

windcatcher
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:43 am
Country: -

Re: Look I got a 9xr from HK with a M128 MCU'

Post by windcatcher » Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:41 pm

What needs to be done to use bigger memory of new chip?

I have received new radio with m128, uploaded newest er9x 788 version 128 but free model memory is still 1777.
When I read eeprom with eepe it shows 4KB but free bytes dont add up to used bytes.

How much free model memory do you get on yours?


Post Reply

Return to “er9x”