Er9x128

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
Post Reply
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16129
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Er9x128

Post by MikeB » Sun Jan 13, 2013 11:28 am

Seems it would be useful for er9x to support a MEGA128 version.
I'll look into this. Initially, I think I will only handle the FrSky version, since that is the one with the least spare flash memory.
So, A new hex will appear in due course "er9x-128.hex".
I will need to handle eepe at the same time.

The first change will simply be to make use of the extra EEPROM, so you get more model storage space. I'm not convinced that adding more models than the existing 16 is necessary, and that keeps things simple.
I may, however, put the templates back in.

Mike.

Third test version of eepe that tries to support M128 EPROM files:
eepe.zip
26/1/2013
(707.84 KiB) Downloaded 429 times

er9x-128.hex
Provisional r789 14 Apr 2013
(179.1 KiB) Downloaded 414 times
er9x-128.hex
Second Provisional r789 18 Apr 2013
(179.08 KiB) Downloaded 459 times
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9832
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Er9x128

Post by Kilrah » Sun Jan 13, 2013 11:35 am

MikeB wrote:I'm not convinced that adding more models than the existing 16 is necessary
It fills up very quicky once you can, I'm at 15 already ;)
Attachments
15.jpg

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Sun Jan 13, 2013 11:40 am

Could I suggest more C.switches and Voice switches??
Thanks Mike. It seems that I will give the chip quik a try sometime this week. Am a bit nervous about it. I never touched an smd component till I started modding my radios and now I'm just about to replace a chip :) I've learnt so much.. My other radio needs some mods done, like the encoder and the new audio board, so I'll just replace the atmega on that one. Hopefully the 128's I bought from china are any good. will see.
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: Er9x128

Post by gohsthb » Sun Jan 13, 2013 11:57 am

My models trend to be more complicated, so I never get more than 10 to fit before I get eeprom warnings. More space would be nice.
-Gohst

Sent from my LG-P999 using Tapatalk 2

User avatar
cre8tiveleo
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Country: -
Location: Ontario,(GTA North)
Contact:

Re: Er9x128

Post by cre8tiveleo » Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:04 pm

lol


User avatar
Flaps 30
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:04 pm
Country: -
Location: Wokingham Berkshire

Re: Er9x128

Post by Flaps 30 » Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:50 pm

Ohh wow! ..... This thread should turn out to be interesting.
jhsa wrote:Could I suggest more C.switches and Voice switches??.
What no vario request?
jhsa wrote:Thanks Mike. It seems that I will give the chip quik a try sometime this week. Am a bit nervous about it. I never touched an smd component till I started modding my radios and now I'm just about to replace a chip :)
You will be fine. Trust me. Taking the old chip out is so easy using the Chip Quik.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Sun Jan 13, 2013 2:24 pm

Flaps 30 wrote: What no vario request?
Yes of course.. you just did it.. :mrgreen:
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16129
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Er9x128

Post by MikeB » Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:54 pm

I'm making some progress. I have a version of er9x that tacks the extra EEPROM onto the end of the file system. I also have a version of eepe (under windows) that recognises the extra EEPROM on reading it from the radio, and even writes it back. It will save it as a .bin or a .hex. Where I still have some issues is the saving as a eepe file where it uses XML. I think I'm going to need to add an option on reading such a file to select between M64 and M128 to load into.
This would allow a previously saved M64 eepe file to be loaded up into a M128. I'll also need to do a check to prevent writing a M128 sized set of data to a M64.
As soon as I have done that, I'll publish test versions of both and ask for a couple of testers to help check it all out.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:02 pm

You know that I'm in, well, as long as my radio is in a working state after the mod of course..

question, what fuses shoud I set for the m128? Shall I use the -B 100 option to set the fuses? to flash the fw also?
can I set the fuses with eepe?

sorry, so many questions

Joao
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
mbanzi
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 5:53 am
Country: -
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Er9x128

Post by mbanzi » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:08 pm

I used companion9x to set the fuses. Add -B 100 in the "Extra Arguments" field in the AVRDUDE configuration, then just hit the button on the fuses dialog. I assume eepe can do the same? The -B 100 is only needed the first time to set the fuses, then you can remove it to flash the firmware.

Fuses are:

low: 0e
high: 89 (for EEPROM delete) 81 (for EEPROM protect)
ext: FF

For avrdude:

avrdude -c usbasp -p m128 -u -B 100 -U lfuse:w:0x0E:m -U hfuse:w:0x89:m -U efuse:w:0xFF:m
avrdude -c usbasp -p m128 -u -B 100 -U lfuse:w:0x0E:m -U hfuse:w:0x81:m -U efuse:w:0xFF:m

User avatar
Flaps 30
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:04 pm
Country: -
Location: Wokingham Berkshire

Re: Er9x128

Post by Flaps 30 » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:21 pm

FWIW - I used Companion9X to set the fuses (Reset Fuses, EEPROM Delete) putting -B 100 into the extra arguments on AVRDUDE. After that I removed the -B 100 so everything was back to normal, to flash the firmware. When all of that was done. I protected the fuses.

Or in other words - As mbanzi says :)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:47 pm

thanks guys.. can eepe set the fuses? if I select to protect the eeprom will it set the fuses immediately?
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
mbanzi
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 5:53 am
Country: -
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Er9x128

Post by mbanzi » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:35 pm

I checked, eepe uses 0x81 for the high fuse, i.e. EEPROM protect, it doesn't have both options like companion9x. So in short, yes it will work. I always leave my high fuse on 89 though, never tried protecting the EEPROM.

Remember to change the mcu setting to m128 in the AVRDUDE config too.
Last edited by mbanzi on Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Flaps 30
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:04 pm
Country: -
Location: Wokingham Berkshire

Re: Er9x128

Post by Flaps 30 » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:36 pm

I cannot remember how I set things up on ER9x regarding the fuses. If you are looking at using the M128 with the present Er9x setup.

Take note of what went on here ---> Er9X & Eepe With Atmega 128

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:50 pm

I could use avrstudio 4.. but how do I slow it down??
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
mbanzi
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 5:53 am
Country: -
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Er9x128

Post by mbanzi » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:09 am

Just use avrdude directly if you're hesitant about using eepe. It should be in the eepe directory somewhere if you don't have a copy. Copy the command lines from my earlier post.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:22 am

could i just run a batch file? Do i just have to create one with one me the lines you posted above? Thanks for your help.
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Flaps 30
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:04 pm
Country: -
Location: Wokingham Berkshire

Re: Er9x128

Post by Flaps 30 » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:27 am

You could wait to see if Mike can help you on this.. Or... Load up a copy of Companion9x :)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:39 am

Hmmm, I have companion. but never used it to flash.. i think I will have to give it a try then.. I'm just soldering the programmer wires at the moment. I hope I didn't toast the m128 :o
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Flaps 30
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:04 pm
Country: -
Location: Wokingham Berkshire

Re: Er9x128

Post by Flaps 30 » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:44 am

Awaiting the result.. After you have set the fuses. Don't forget what was mentioned on the thread that I linked to earlier if you are using the TX with Er9x

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:10 am

So, then after I did the fuses, I can use eepe set to m64, with -F on the extra arguments, and flash the er9x_frsky fw? it that correct?
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Flaps 30
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:04 pm
Country: -
Location: Wokingham Berkshire

Re: Er9x128

Post by Flaps 30 » Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:24 am

As per the other thread.. Yes.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:51 am

just copied the settings for my programmer from eepe to companion, tried to set the fuses but it gave me a timeout error
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 17, 2013 2:01 am

This is the error

avrdude.exe: stk500_2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_program_enable(): bad STK600 connection status: Unknown (0x64)
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


avrdude.exe done. Thank you.


=================================================================================
AVRDUDE done - exit code 1
=================================================================================
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 17, 2013 2:03 am

=================================================================================
Started AVRDUDE
C:/Program Files/companion9x/avrdude.exe -c stk500 -p m128 -P com9 -B 100 -u -U lfuse:w:0x0E:m -U hfuse:w:0x89:m -U efuse:w:0xFF:m
=================================================================================

avrdude.exe: stk500v2_command(): command failed
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 17, 2013 3:01 am

Can you guys see anything wrong here?
Checked all the connections. seem to be ok. There is power on the chip..
I don't think I overheated it.. never had the iron on the chip for more than a couple seconds and always had a lot of flux..
Did short some pins and used the solder wick.. but didn't take long with it also..
Attachments
170120132260.jpg
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
mbanzi
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 5:53 am
Country: -
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Er9x128

Post by mbanzi » Thu Jan 17, 2013 3:51 am

Joao, I'm not familiar with the way you wired your programmer, so I can't comment on that. I used a USBASP and did have to update the firmware to get rid of the SCK error, but after that it worked first time on both transmitters.

Try adding -v to debug the output, if that doesn't help add more & more -v (e.g. -v -v -v -v) to get even more debug output.

Try reading the current fuses with:

avrdude.exe -c stk500 -p m128 -P com9 -B 100 -U lfuse:r:-:i -U hfuse:r:-:i -U efuse:r:-:i

Maybe you could try slowing it down even more with -B 1000, but I'm just guessing??

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16129
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Er9x128

Post by MikeB » Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:38 am

Nothing obvious, but use a meter and check every pair of pins are not shorted.
Also, use a pin or a needle and "ping" every pin, you will hear a very different sound if a pin is not soldered.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:40 am

i did check for shorts and did measure from the top of the pins to pads or resistors. But will do again. If i power the programmer, do i also have to connect the back of the radio? Thanks for your help guys, I hope i can fix this...
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18493
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Er9x128

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:28 am

This is the output when I add -v to the extra arguments.. -B 1000 doesn't work as well..
Note - I have the programmer supplying 5V to the radio but the back is not connected.. I guess it should work?

Code: Select all

=================================================================================
Started AVRDUDE
C:/Program Files/companion9x/avrdude.exe -c stk500 -p m128 -P com9 -B 100 -v -U lfuse:r:-:i -U hfuse:r:-:i -U efuse:r:-:i
=================================================================================

avrdude.exe: Version 5.10, compiled on Jan 19 2010 at 10:45:23
             Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
             Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

             System wide configuration file is "C:\Program Files\companion9x\avrdude.conf"

             Using Port                    : com9
             Using Programmer              : stk500
             Setting bit clk period        : 100.0
             AVR Part                      : ATMEGA128
             Chip Erase delay              : 9000 us
             PAGEL                         : PD7
             BS2                           : PA0
             RESET disposition             : dedicated
             RETRY pulse                   : SCK
             serial program mode           : yes
             parallel program mode         : yes
             Timeout                       : 200
             StabDelay                     : 100
             CmdexeDelay                   : 25
             SyncLoops                     : 32
             ByteDelay                     : 0
             PollIndex                     : 3
             PollValue                     : 0x53
             Memory Detail                 :

                                      Block Poll               Page                       Polled
               Memory Type Mode Delay Size  Indx Paged  Size   Size #Pages MinW  MaxW   ReadBack
               ----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ----- ---------
               eeprom         4    12    64    0 no       4096    8      0  9000  9000 0xff 0xff
               flash         33     6   128    0 yes    131072  256    512  4500  4500 0xff 0xff
               lfuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  9000  9000 0x00 0x00
               hfuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  9000  9000 0x00 0x00
               efuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  9000  9000 0x00 0x00
               lock           0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  9000  9000 0x00 0x00
               calibration    0     0     0    0 no          4    0      0     0     0 0x00 0x00
               signature      0     0     0    0 no          3    0      0     0     0 0x00 0x00

             Programmer Type : STK500V2
             Description     : Atmel STK500
             Programmer Model: STK500
             Hardware Version: 3
             Firmware Version Master : 2.10
             Topcard         : Unknown
             Vtarget         : 0.0 V
             SCK period      : 3.3 us
             Varef           : 0.0 V
             Oscillator      : Off

avrdude.exe: stk500v2_command(): command failed
avrdude.exe: stk500_2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_program_enable(): bad STK600 connection status: Unknown (0x64)
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
             Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
             this check.


avrdude.exe done.  Thank you.
=================================================================================
AVRDUDE done - exit code 1
=================================================================================
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


Post Reply

Return to “er9x”