er9x development

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
User avatar
HC1969
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:47 am
Country: Hungary
Location: Istvan Magi
Contact:

Re: er9x error!

Post by HC1969 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:39 pm

I found a big mistake in the last few versions!
Can not the burning plain er9x.hex file! The FrSky versions are okay!
This is error:
Image
Image

This is true for many versions backward!
http://rc.emiter.hu/ (MegaSound 9X, GCL-2, FrSky-RSSI-DAC, etc.) Keress fel!


User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by Rob Thomson » Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:59 pm

Is this after compiling your own source?

I have just downloaded a full svn tree and the files are all the correct size and work?

Rob
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
HC1969
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:47 am
Country: Hungary
Location: Istvan Magi
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by HC1969 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:11 pm

I not build firmware. I use downlodaded version!
http://rc.emiter.hu/ (MegaSound 9X, GCL-2, FrSky-RSSI-DAC, etc.) Keress fel!

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by Rob Thomson » Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:37 pm

Try these...

Not sure why yours are downloading the wrong size. Where are you downloading from?

Rob
Attachments
er9x-frsky.hex
(166.17 KiB) Downloaded 216 times
er9x-frsky-noht.hex
(162.89 KiB) Downloaded 192 times
er9x.hex
(148.22 KiB) Downloaded 218 times
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
HC1969
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:47 am
Country: Hungary
Location: Istvan Magi
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by HC1969 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:41 pm

This is good size, thanks!!!!
The original site do not know why the wrong size for me? :shock:
http://rc.emiter.hu/ (MegaSound 9X, GCL-2, FrSky-RSSI-DAC, etc.) Keress fel!


User avatar
HC1969
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:47 am
Country: Hungary
Location: Istvan Magi
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by HC1969 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:26 pm

rob.thomson wrote:Try these...

Not sure why yours are downloading the wrong size. Where are you downloading from?

Rob
I see new logo! :)
http://rc.emiter.hu/ (MegaSound 9X, GCL-2, FrSky-RSSI-DAC, etc.) Keress fel!

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

er9x development

Post by Rob Thomson » Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:28 pm

HC1969 wrote:
rob.thomson wrote:Try these...

Not sure why yours are downloading the wrong size. Where are you downloading from?

Rob
I see new logo! :)

That's because it was a non official dev version I was playing with :)

You will no doubt also see some extra menu options that have no function on the model setting page!

Rob


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
HC1969
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:47 am
Country: Hungary
Location: Istvan Magi
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by HC1969 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:04 pm

I found a bug! Had to delete the browser (firefox) cache is well known up and then downloaded the firmware! :shock:

But I also found the Throtle Not idle bug (ER9x).
This message is not the Er9x-Frsky version (r648)!
http://rc.emiter.hu/ (MegaSound 9X, GCL-2, FrSky-RSSI-DAC, etc.) Keress fel!

User avatar
cre8tiveleo
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Country: -
Location: Ontario,(GTA North)
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by cre8tiveleo » Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:48 pm

Nevermind, found your eureka in another thread. :)

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16560
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:22 pm

Just looked at Rafit's description of his mixing. Now er9x has something along these lines, you can use CH09 through CH16 to hold intermediate values, then use them as inputs to generate the actual outputs. However, there is a latency effect, these channels are calculated AFTER CH01-CH08.
It has been suggested we could analyse the dependencies and calculate certain mixes first, this could add a lot of code.
What about
Assign a 'PRIORITY' to each mix (or possibly channel), and calculate the 'high priority' mixes first. There is a spare bit available in the mix structure that could be used to store this priority option.
Execution would hardly suffer, just go round the mix array twice, but, on the first time round only calculate 'high priority' mixes and on the second time around only calculate 'low priority' mixes.
This would be relatively easy to add, there may be other options.
Any other ideas? Just keep the implementation simple, all sorts could be considered, but we are using up the flash. We may get to a point where, say, if you want FrSky you have to drop the templates because it won't all fit.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by bertrand35 » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:29 pm

HC1969 wrote:I found a bug! Had to delete the browser (firefox) cache is well known up and then downloaded the firmware! :shock:

But I also found the Throtle Not idle bug (ER9x).
This message is not the Er9x-Frsky version (r648)!
Hi,

We have solved this bug in companion9x
Eraz, here is the trick: you have to disable all caching mechanism between the client and the server:

QNetworkRequest request(QUrl(firmware.stamp));
request.setAttribute(QNetworkRequest::CacheLoadControlAttribute, QNetworkRequest::AlwaysNetwork);
manager1->get(request);

Bertrand.

User avatar
HC1969
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:47 am
Country: Hungary
Location: Istvan Magi
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by HC1969 » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:07 pm

It would be nice to achieve! Mix as input sources to be used for telemetry data and to output an alarm appears also to be selected (audio + subtitle would be good).
Thus defined, calculated free measurements can be developed (eg two telemetry data and timer making battery output capacity [mAh] of this and alert)!
It would be very good ...
http://rc.emiter.hu/ (MegaSound 9X, GCL-2, FrSky-RSSI-DAC, etc.) Keress fel!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16560
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:17 pm

Battery capacity is in er9x, if you set one of the A1 or A2 inputs to A (instead of v, - or V). This assumes you have a current sensor driving the A1 or A2 input. Then, on the telemetry screen with the min and max figures, the min figure is replaced by the mAh used figure.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
HC1969
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:47 am
Country: Hungary
Location: Istvan Magi
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by HC1969 » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:24 pm

MikeB wrote:Battery capacity is in er9x, if you set one of the A1 or A2 inputs to A (instead of v, - or V). This assumes you have a current sensor driving the A1 or A2 input. Then, on the telemetry screen with the min and max figures, the min figure is replaced by the mAh used figure.

Mike.
This is great, only one alarm can be set to be even considered.
But if they were part of the mix, then they can be freely used as control as well. So it would be even greater freedom.
He did not know that withstand even the MCU?
http://rc.emiter.hu/ (MegaSound 9X, GCL-2, FrSky-RSSI-DAC, etc.) Keress fel!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16560
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:18 pm

I'm just having an odd thought regarding the PPM on er9x. I probably shouldn't say this because someone might think it is a good idea and want it programmed in, and I have enough going on at the moment however. . . .
Assuming you have not modified the PPM jack for the trainer, we have two pins on the 'mega64 that can connect to the jack plug, One is the standard PPM_OUT signal that goes to the Tx module, the other is the PPM_IN signal that is used when in master trainer mode to get the PPM stream for the trainee tx. These are switched using analog switches, which means the signal can go either way. So, we could program the PPM_IN pin of the 'mega64 to be an output, and switch it so it goes to the jack socket.
Now, if we created a second PPM data stream on this pin, we have two separate PPM streams, or a PPM stream and a DSM stream or . . . .
The second PPM stream could be channels 09 to 16, send to a second transmitter, two receivers, see where I'm going?
There are several possibilities, but you might lose the trainer function in certain configurations.
Whether the 'mega64 is up to this remains to be seen. (and it may be a while before it is implemented).

Mike.

Do I hear a few ooooohs and aaaahs?

Edit: This might also solve the problem of using the Tx on a SIM, use this alternative PPM to go to the jack plug, then it is not connected to the Tx module.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
cre8tiveleo
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Country: -
Location: Ontario,(GTA North)
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by cre8tiveleo » Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:35 pm

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

:D

Do it! NOW! 8-)

That's a very kewl feature, second rx, 09-16.... hmmm... what a work horse of a Radio!

Would you lose just the Master function? or Both Slave and Master? If you just loose Master trainer, and keep SLave, I don't think it would be so bad. You could always use it as the slave box to antoher master box? yes/no?

Yeah, that would be sweet. For the current dsm tx modules, you could do ch 7 - 12 on another rx then.. hmmmm... I could use it for my Bomber... hmmmm... da possibilities...

It would be a neat enhancement for the new year.

User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by GrootWitbaas » Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:48 pm

Did someone some where mention if pressure is applied for a feature it does happen fairly fast ?

Ready to test this when you have the code mike :) Have two Tx Modules and ample Rx's to test a full 16ch setup on My A109 scale.

Groot
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by Rob Thomson » Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:04 pm

This is a great idea!

In my case I would use the second PPM for my DSM module in the radio.

Is there room for the option to select PPM output on a per model basis?
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16560
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:12 pm

GrootWitbaas wrote:Did someone some where mention if pressure is applied for a feature it does happen fairly fast ?
That was Erezz, not me :)
Bother, I knew I should have kept the idea to myself for a bit :mrgreen:
There's no guarantee how well it will work, the hardware does not let us use hardware processor output signal for either PPM stream, there may be some jitter if they collide. Why the original design used PB0 for the PPM output, then used PB5 and PB6 as inputs, and left PB7 unused I don't know, all three are timer controlled hardware outputs. Still, let us see if software outputs do work.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16560
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:45 pm

These are some of the possible configurations, have I missed something?

Mike.
Attachments
Options.png
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18916
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 12, 2012 12:39 am

CHs 9 - 16 would be understood by the module as 1 - 8, right?
Could we turn this on and off? Would this be a per model option? some people might want to let their kids learn to fly with their models ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16560
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:19 am

I think we can add a new protocol, PPM16 say, that sends 8 channels out normally, and the other 8 out to the trainer jack. Then it is model selectable. We might even use the 'number of channels' entry in some way, e.g. set it to 14 and we send 8 normally, and then six more.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

er9x development

Post by Rob Thomson » Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:43 am

Interesting.... But what do we do if we use the dsm module on the trainer jack. That would not work?

Maybe it needs a dsm2alt protocol or similar?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by bertrand35 » Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:44 am

Thanks Mike for the correction!
Now perhaps for Rob: the function FRSKY_alarmPlay raises a warning in companion9x, because it returns nothing when it's declared as bool.
Thanks!
Bertrand.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16560
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:00 am

I'm adding in the code to turn the FrSky alarms off when we use internal alarms. I noticed this problem and have corrected it, just not committed the changes yet. Need to find time to set up a test to make sure all is working.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by Rob Thomson » Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:45 am

Thanks Mike & Betrand

Must make note. do not copy paste all the time. That should have been a 'void'

:oops:
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16560
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:15 pm

16 channel PPM is beginning to look possible. I've created a new protocol "PPM16" and added the low level interrupt routines to drive 8 PPM channels out on the PPM-IN signal. I have set the pulses to from channels 9 to 16. In normal operation, this causes the jack output to have these 8 channels coming out, as though the tx is a trainee. So we should be able to have a second tx set to pass it's PPM-IN data straight out to a second tx module. Currently I'm testing these changes on my STK500 dev system, I'll migrate them to the real er9x soon.
For those interested I have one interrupt routine just pumping out the pulses, and a second that handles the setting up of the pulse widths, very similar to the DSM method. I calculate the width of the sync pulse, and set a second compare register to 500uS before the end of it. If this works OK, it would be possible to make the main PPM output work in the same way. Timer3 is normally used for the PPM-IN capture, but if we are send extra PPM ot, then I have changed its use to this function, controlled by selecting PPM16 as opposed to any other protocol. Select PPM protocol and the PPM-IN works as before.

To avoid any significant changes to the EEPROM, I need to decide how many channels to output.
I'm thinking of saying if you select PPM16, then 8 channels are output as normal. Then the number of channels sent out the jack is the set number-8.
Alternatively, we could set the number of channels to (say) 6. So we send channels 1-6 out normally, and 7-14 out the jack. The tx at the other end could then pick up whichever of these channels are required a send them. This could be quite flexible.

I need to check one or two things to make sure there are no conflicts with trainer mode, e.g. if you plug the trainer cable in without turning the power on.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

er9x development

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:29 pm

I love the idea of this :)

One frsky module in the back of the tx.

And one DIY module inside the tx!

Very nice!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

er9x development

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:40 pm

Now... What if we had two frsky units in there. I don't suppose we could make it give you 4 telemetry channels?

Doubt it :)

Also..

How does this all impact in the frsky serial protocol?

Rob


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16560
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Fri Jan 13, 2012 6:28 pm

We only have the one serial port, so only one telemetry channel (per tx). If you cable the trainer socket to another tx, it can have the second set of telemetry. Or you get the FrSky display for the second telemetry info.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


Post Reply

Return to “er9x”