er9x development

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by bertrand35 »

Mike, I didn't check but perhaps the marker for the splash might be optimized out with gcc 4.7. No problem with the swap function?
Bertrand.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

The swap function looked OK, and I modified models OK as well, so that should have tested it.
I'll check the splash marker, I'll try to force it in the correct place.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by bertrand35 »

Also someone reported an issue on all firmwares simulation in companion9x: in the LIMITS menu, max should be in range [-25:limit] and min in range [-limit:+25]. Do you want I commit the fix in ersky9x? I will do in open9x and gruvin9x.
Bertrand.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

They are both -limit to +limit at present I believe. Why is this an issue?

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by bertrand35 »

Because it's impossible because of EEPROM zeros meaning. Example:
- a 0 stored in min limit means -100
- a +127 stored in min limit means +27
- now ?? what ?? means +100?

Bertrand.

PS: on ARM what about having an int8_t there with 0 which means 0 (as we don't need to compress anything there)?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

I understand. The reason for having 0 represent 100/-100 is so that a new model defaults to 100/-100 on all channels, otherwise all the limits would need to be set, or the model default code would need to set them.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by bertrand35 »

Yes, right. The second reason is the zeros compression on EEPROM.
Bertrand.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

I've fixed the limits to 100/25 in er9x and ersky9x, only committed er9x so far though.
Er9x also has a setting of the number of blades for RPM, and a new alarm may be set if you have current being measured on A1 or A2. You can choose an alarm to sound (and what it is) for the battery capacity used reaching a preset level.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
ReSt
Posts: 1581
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by ReSt »

in r757, mAh Alarm setting, for the names of the sound, the 6th character is cut off on the right edge.
Field must be positioned one character to the left to have enough space for the 6th character.

Reinhard
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

Thanks, I'll fix it on the next release. If you are compiling yourself, there is a bug with the PPMSIM switching, in er9x.cpp the call to checkSlaveMode() should read:
if( (checkSlaveMode()) && (!g_eeGeneral.enablePpmsim))
{
PORTG &= ~(1<<OUT_G_SIM_CTL); // 0=ppm out

I switched the external 4066 when I shouln't.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

New update committed, waiting for Erazz to do a build.
Hopefully, I've fixed the splash marker, and PPMSIM in trainer mode (i.e. just plug the cable in, don't switch on).
I've also done some changes towards a custom telemetry screen, nothing user visible yet.
If you select imperial units for the FrSky stuff, the GPS speed is now in mph.
The switch inputs screen now only appears once as you step up and down the main screens, use left and right to get to the other versions.
Saved a bit of flash here and there.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
G550Ted
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:15 pm
Country: -
Location: Savannah, GA, USA

Re: er9x development

Post by G550Ted »

Mike,

I see r759 shows as built on the er9x google site but is not yet recognized by eePe as available (I opt for the basic version). Is that a build for FrSky option only? If so is there a plan to revise the basic option to include the PPMSIM change?

Thanx,

Ted
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

Not built, I've committed the source changes (r759), then, for consistancy, Erazz builds all the hex files. I'll ask him to do the build, the PPMSIM will be in the standard version.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
G550Ted
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:15 pm
Country: -
Location: Savannah, GA, USA

Re: er9x development

Post by G550Ted »

OK, thanx.

Ted
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

I'm doing some telemetry changes, they are the same as I have just released for ersky9x. They are a work in progress, so I'll wait for some feedback from ersky9x users before committing the er9x version.
I'm still working towards a custom telemetry screen, but I'm also adding several telemetry and timer values as inputs to custom switches.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
JEANALTAYR
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:53 pm
Country: -
Location: Gd Toulouse FRANCE

Re: er9x development

Post by JEANALTAYR »

About Telemetry changes
With the FUNJET actually ONLY 4.30min autonomy and timer in R/H corner is a bit small and difficult to read
thanks Mike to help visually impaired
JMI
Attachments
TELEMETRY DISPLAY HOPE.pdf
(76.72 KiB) Downloaded 289 times
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

Everything needs a bit of time to do! I have planned a custom telemetry display, then you can put what you want, where you want it. I have some changes already tested towards this, but I've been busy with the SD card on the ersky9x board. I need to release er9x with the changes I have done so far.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
Crucial
Posts: 581
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:56 pm
Country: -
Location: SE WI, USA

er9x development

Post by Crucial »

I only wish there were more I could do to help. Thanks for your hard work.
User avatar
JEANALTAYR
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:53 pm
Country: -
Location: Gd Toulouse FRANCE

Re: er9x development

Post by JEANALTAYR »

Just a suggestion I understand that nothing is done by snapping your fingers and work here when it's not always as desired
thank you very much JMI
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

I've got a new version of er9x, still a work in progress, but lots of changes to telemetry. These are the changes:

New method of processing and storing Hub data
New method of averaging analog (A1,A2,RSSI,TSSI) data
Fix a bug or two with Current measurement offset and zeroing
If no telemetry data, force TxRSSI to zero
Change alarm checking scheduling
Changes towards better operation in Companion9x
New telemetry inputs to custom switches
Changes towards a custom telemetry display
Unused safety switches may now be used to trigger alarms
Some changes to save some flash space (I've used up some for these changes)
Change the timer code to allow timers as custom switch inputs
Fix position of model name on main screen
The model structure in the eeprom has changed slightly, but should be compatible
The length of a LONG key press is a bit longer

As you can see, there are rather a lot of them. Many you won't see directly, there are just in the way data is processed and stored. Because there are so many changes, and most apply only to the FrSky version, before I commit them I'm posting the FrSky hex file here. Anyone who can download it and give it some more testing would be very helpful. Just in case there are any serious problems, PLEASE back up your eeprom before flashing this version. The revised eeprom is basically compatible, but there might be one or two minor problems if you revert to a previous version of the program. If you have the eeprom backup you will, of course, be able to revert to the previous version properly.

Mike.
er9x-frsky-r761.hex
(174.84 KiB) Downloaded 249 times
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: er9x development

Post by gohsthb »

Just a thought on future frsky versions. When the telemetry signal is lost, the entire screen goes blank and it says"no data"on the middle. Could you change it to keep the min and max values visible? This way if the plane crashed and receiver power was lost you could still see if the voltage, or the range was low.
Thanks,
-gohst
-will test the new version in the morning.

Sent from my LG-P999 using Tapatalk 2
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

I agree, But it should still display "No Data" somewhere in case we lost the link but didn't crash...yet. :) I think open9x does exactly this. I've read a discussion about this a couple months ago..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
Camboui
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:01 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by Camboui »

MikeB wrote:Some diagrams to show what PPMSIM actually does.

Image

Mike.
Are the switches on the diagram the CMOS4066 you were talking in the other thread ?

Why the fourth drawing shows no power on the module ?
How is power controlled on the module ?

Thanks
User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 11109
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: er9x development

Post by Kilrah »

Camboui wrote:How is power controlled on the module ?
By the radio's power switch.
When you're in any "trainee" mode, the radio is powered on by the jack insertion detection contact, but you keep the power switch off, which doesn't power the module (and beeper, which is kinda stupid, I might do a mod for that).
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

I'm working on the NO DATA bit. You might see the GPS screen does still show values, but flashing. I'm thinking of making this the 'standard' way of handling NO DATA.

Cam: Yes the switches are the '4066.
When you switch the tx on, the module is powered. When you just plug into the trainer socket, the module is NOT powered.

Having added the telemetry inputs to the custom switches, and the alarms on the safety switches, the 'hard coded' alarms for mAh, altitude and cell voltage should no longer be needed. At msome point, if the 'custom' alarms are OK, I intend to remove them to save flash space. The 'custom' altitude alarm is currently settable from 0 to 1020 (3346 ft) metres in steps of 4 metres (13ft). Is this actually too high for an alarm? Would 0-255 m (0-835 ft), in steps of 1 m (3ft) be better?

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

I don't understand.. why is it stupid not powering the module when in trainee mode?? If you're a sudent you don't need the module on.. I find it logical this way..
Or did you mean it's stupid not having the beeper??

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 11109
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: er9x development

Post by Kilrah »

jhsa wrote:Or did you mean it's stupid not having the beeper??
This :)
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

I do apologise.. Why can't we just have 1 language on this planet?? it's just a small rock.. :D :mrgreen:
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
User avatar
cre8tiveleo
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Country: -
Location: Ontario,(GTA North)
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by cre8tiveleo »

But you wouldn't want to paint it.

Here are some words that are universal...

BEER
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

Beer, Cerveja, Cerveza, Bier, בירה , 啤酒

Still too many.. :mrgreen:
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “er9x”