er9x development

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19403
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:51 am

trainer setup..
sending:

CH1 - RUD
CH2 - ELE
CH3 - THR
CH4 - AIL

on the output monitor screen and confirmed with a receiver.. THR and ELE are swapped. the other 2 are fine

Yes, the channels are well assigned on the trainer menu..
And verified with the scope that the channels are in the right order coming out from the source..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


Iksbob
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:06 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by Iksbob » Thu Oct 10, 2013 5:47 am

MikeB wrote:I'm not familiar with heli programming, what is the right stick up/down supposed to do?
If you're on mode 2, it would be cyclic pitch (same action as elevator on a fixed-wing). Left/right on the right stick is cyclic roll (same action as ailerons), left/right on the left stick is yaw (tail rotor blade pitch, same as rudder) and up/down on the left stick is collective pitch (fixed wing doesn't do that one... vertical thrust) or throttle in the case of a fixed-pitch heli.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17333
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:10 am

jhsa wrote:Press center button on encoder, it changes from "----" to "INV". Press button again, nothing happens.
I think this is general for all items with just two states. Seems an obscure bug, probably something to do with allowing the encoder button LONG to act like EXIT.

I think I have a fix for the trainer bug, I'll need to set up a test.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

ajghor
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 2:44 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by ajghor » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:23 am

Mike,

It think I have the same problem like João with my HT8 which is connected to er9x thru the trainer/simulator port.
I have set the center beep on throttle but it beeps when the elevator is in center instead of throttle center.

Igor

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19403
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:24 am

Thank you Mike

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17333
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:29 am

shaith: I may have an idea why you have no response to the elevator stick. It's to do with this recent change of the stick mode processing.
I'm working on it!

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17333
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:45 pm

Test version of er9x. I have tweaked eepe as well, but neither is fully tested.

CHANGELOG: 10-Oct-2013 MPB
Correct sink tones sense
Increase RPM blade count to 127
Fix cyclic pitch bug on different stick modes
Fix trainer bug on stick modes
Force store of general setup on auto EEPROM upgrade
Fix beep centre bug

I've done some testing, but haven't had time to set up a trainer input and I can't really check the heli cyclic change.
I've included er9x standard, frsky and 128, and an eepe.exe to be copied over your existing eepe.exe (after saving a copy of course).
er9x-test.zip
10-Oct-2013 11:50
(974.21 KiB) Downloaded 91 times
Please, if you can test the particular problem you have and report back it will be very helpful.

The encoder button problem is very obscure, I can't see what is causing the problem, I'll need to add some debug to find out what is happening. I've still to add a disable of mixes using PPMx when there is no PPM input.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19403
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:07 pm

Some testing on the PPM side following ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19403
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:16 pm

Mike the channels are in the right order now, but found 2 other problems..
If on the thr channel I make a mix like this:

CH3 HALF -100
it even stops receiving the values for CH3. The cal value on the trainer menu shows 0.0 and it doesn't move. strange. Why would a mix affect the PPM input values?
If I leave the normal mix:

CH3 THR 100

then the trainer starts receiving ch 3 again and all works perfectly.. I mean you flick the switch and thr is replaced with PPM channel 3. very odd.

the other issue is that i set extended limits and set them to -/+ 125%
The trainer weight is reduced to 82% (81 as I can't set it to 82) for the reason I explained some time ago, to match the real 125%.
Then send the PPM signal, some channels at 100% and some at 125%.
I noticed that on the output bar menu some of them would reach 100% when receiving 100% values.. that means the complete bar is used..
when receiving the 125% channels, they will reach the end before the channel reaches max value.
I thought the problem was with the 82% calculation so checked the output screen with the numbers.. these worked as thery should.. aprox +/- 122% for the 125% values, and aprox +/- 99% for the channels sent at 100%. That proves that the bars might not be displaying the right amount of travel.

I hope that this report is not too confusing as i don't have much time to be on the forum.. just about to be killed by the wife at this precise moment :o :mrgreen:

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17333
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:49 pm

I think the bars are coded to show -100% to +100%, so with extended limits you won't see the extra 25%. I changed the eepe simulator at some point to show +/- 125% when extended limits is on.

I'll set up a trainer and see what is happening.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19403
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:59 pm

But the numbers screen show the right values..
Maybe you could scale the bars for when extended limits is selected full movement corresponds to 125%. Of course then 100% will show a little less.. when ext. limits are off, full movement will be 100%

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
KAL
Posts: 552
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: er9x development

Post by KAL » Thu Oct 10, 2013 5:10 pm

Hi folks,

I changed the firmware of my TX from Rev. 803 to 804 and found a problem with the Rev. 804 and also the latest test version:
Stick mode 2: if T-Trim is activated, it is not associated with throttle but with elevator (wrong stick).

Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17333
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Thu Oct 10, 2013 5:27 pm

Bother, another problem slipped through in the stick mode changes, I'll check it later tonight.

Bar scaling for extended limits will be in the next revision.

Mike.

Edit: Is it just the display that is wrong but the actual T-TRIM action is OK? I just looked and that is what I think I'm seeing.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19403
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:45 pm

Don't know if this is relevant or not but after I flashed the latest test version my models have the ELE and THR trim values swapped. So I have to bring the THR trim to zero and set the other (ELE) with the same value that was on Throttle..
Minor problem I think..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17333
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:33 pm

jhsa wrote:Press center button on encoder, it changes from "----" to "INV". Press button again, nothing happens.. need to press menu to chantge from "INV" to normal.
I think I've fixed this. Very obscure, to do with values pausing when they become zero, it effectively changed the value twice. I was confused because you did get a beep when you used the encoder button, but the value didn't change yet the beep only happens because the vaue did change!

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19403
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:44 pm

I didn't get any beep because I blew the speaker up some time ago :mrgreen:
Need to replace it :roll:
João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17333
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:49 pm

I've updated the test versions in the post above with some fixes.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19403
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:35 pm

servo reverse with the encoder is working..

Don't know if you atemped to fixed this, but the trainer port not receiving the thr channel when I have a mix of HALF -100, is still not working..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17333
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:35 am

Just tried the trainer problem you describe, my trainer inputs are working fine, even with:
CH3 -100% HALF (the only mix on channel 3) no switch etc.

The bars should be OK with extended limits now.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
KAL
Posts: 552
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: er9x development

Post by KAL » Fri Oct 11, 2013 11:23 am

Hi,

found another issue with T-Trim in Rev. 805:
If T-Trim is activated, it seems like the elevator is mixed to throttle by ca. 12%.
Not only on display, but also seen by RX.

Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17333
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:19 pm

OK, I see it, actually depends on the amount of throttle trim how much elevator gets mixed in. Investigating!

Mike.

Edit: Understand the problem, just looking for a fix.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19403
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:28 pm

MikeB wrote:Just tried the trainer problem you describe, my trainer inputs are working fine, even with:
CH3 -100% HALF (the only mix on channel 3) no switch etc.

The bars should be OK with extended limits now.

Mike.
well with me it doesn't work.. will try to make a video later..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17333
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Fri Oct 11, 2013 2:41 pm

KAL wrote:If T-Trim is activated, it seems like the elevator is mixed to throttle by ca. 12%.
OK, got the fix for this, and also fixed a similar problem relating to applying expo.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19403
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:56 pm

MikeB wrote:Just tried the trainer problem you describe, my trainer inputs are working fine, even with:
CH3 -100% HALF (the only mix on channel 3) no switch etc.

The bars should be OK with extended limits now.

Mike.
I've been trying again. and if I have a mix CH3 HALF -100 the throttle channel is not replaced with the throttle input and stays always at -100 even after I tured the trainer on..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17333
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Fri Oct 11, 2013 4:49 pm

Yes! It is the throttle stick value that is replaced by the trainer input. The mixes don't know which is your throttle channel. That's defined by you by putting the throttle control inputs onto a channel. A mix on channel 3 of HALF -100 is just that, it knows nothing about being channel 3.
The channel number in the trainer menu is the INPUT channel number of the incoming PPM data to map to the throttle stick when you turn the relevant switch ON, not the output channel number.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19403
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Fri Oct 11, 2013 5:34 pm

ahhh, That explains it.. will try to do the same with PPMx replace mixing.. so the best is to discard the trainer menu in this case and use PPMx in the mixers.. will try that in a while. I have a forum member and very good friend of mine visiting me this weekend, it's going to be fun to sort this out together ;) :D

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10795
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: er9x development

Post by Kilrah » Fri Oct 11, 2013 6:42 pm

No, because the whole point of the trainer menu is to use the master radio's entire settings.
The trainer inputs replace the stick values, so that they go through the exact same path (D/R, mixes etc) as the radio's own sticks.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19403
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:40 pm

I'm not using a conventional trainer setup ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

shaith
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:57 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by shaith » Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:18 pm

Mike -

So far, the only thing I noticed was after pushing the test firmware and then the backup model copy over to the radio a couple of the switch values for the radio setup itself (no models) were changed from what they'd been previously. as I recall, throttle reverse flipped from OFF to ON, and Light switch went from ON to SWD, everything else seems to have imported without issue.

The stick movements are now all correct for the flybar heli - I imagine the reason nobody else had noticed can be attributed to their likely use of a FBL setup which runs single servo rather than having the radio mix the 3 cyclic servos. I've also tested my quads with this build and have not run into any issues aside from having to change my expo settings downwards some to get the same response I got previously - but I can't pin that on the firmware change as it's been rather gusty here during my testing and that will definitely affect smaller quads :D

I'll keep poking around to see if I find anything else at issue, though I won't be able to do much until Sunday as far as heavy testing of editing functionality in EEPE etc.

Thanks for the work so far!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17333
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Fri Oct 11, 2013 11:23 pm

The change for the '128/'2561 version adding more custom switches will cause any switch set to ON to change into SWD.
I can't think why throttle reverse should change.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


Post Reply

Return to “er9x”