er9x development

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10116
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: er9x development

Post by Kilrah » Sat Dec 08, 2012 1:36 pm

Xtm: The trims for the 4 channels

REN: Rotary encoder


User avatar
HC1969
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:47 am
Country: Hungary
Location: Istvan Magi
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by HC1969 » Sat Dec 08, 2012 1:44 pm

Kilrah wrote:Xtm: The trims for the 4 channels

REN: Rotary encoder
Thanks!!!
http://rc.emiter.hu/ (MegaSound 9X, GCL-2, FrSky-RSSI-DAC, etc.) Keress fel!

User avatar
HC1969
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:47 am
Country: Hungary
Location: Istvan Magi
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by HC1969 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:14 am

I do not understand!
Why are not available everywhere in the Global Variables (eg: Safety Switch, Custom Switches)?
http://rc.emiter.hu/ (MegaSound 9X, GCL-2, FrSky-RSSI-DAC, etc.) Keress fel!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:46 am

Time! Every item that could be a GVAR needs the menu editing code changed to allow A GVAR to be selected, and then every use of it to be changed to check for a normal value or a GVAR value. I have too many other things I'm looking at as well so I have only partly got GVARS working. Also, they used up quite a bit of flash, so I'm also trying to save some more flash as well.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
HC1969
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:47 am
Country: Hungary
Location: Istvan Magi
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by HC1969 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:19 am

MikeB wrote:Time! Every item that could be a GVAR needs the menu editing code changed to allow A GVAR to be selected, and then every use of it to be changed to check for a normal value or a GVAR value. I have too many other things I'm looking at as well so I have only partly got GVARS working. Also, they used up quite a bit of flash, so I'm also trying to save some more flash as well.

Mike.
Understand!!! Thanks Mike!
It's not so much the absolute need.
I think the write ability of MegaSound Module to SD is more interesting! ;)
http://rc.emiter.hu/ (MegaSound 9X, GCL-2, FrSky-RSSI-DAC, etc.) Keress fel!


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18877
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:28 pm

Amen to that, brother... :D
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: er9x development

Post by kaos » Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:34 pm

'MegaSound Module", what is that?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10116
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: er9x development

Post by Kilrah » Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:36 pm

The latest developments of the homemade sound module for stock board: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=948&start=2490

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: er9x development

Post by kaos » Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:53 pm

Gee, I have been reading that thread, but don't recall any where it mentioned 'MegaSound board'. Is that the version Mike's working on or Oliver's working on, or hega's working on,..............? ;)
I must have missed something.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10116
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: er9x development

Post by Kilrah » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:00 pm

It's the first time I heard that name too, but it was pretty easy to understand what it related to... I don't think it really has an official name yet anyway.

User avatar
man-bis
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:10 pm
Country: -
Location: Russia

Re: er9x development

Post by man-bis » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:17 pm

"Megasound" or "MegaVoice" I think this is the correct name. Need to distinguish between the two as it is of the "first" on the module WTV020-SD and the "second" on the microcontroller Atmega328

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: er9x development

Post by kaos » Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:40 am

Ah, THAT '(At) Mega Mess' module. :lol:

ps: this is in absolutely joking sense, not criticizing in any way. ;)
I think the write ability of MegaSound Module to SD is more interesting! ;)
Absolutely, data logging, ultimately write model setting to SD and retrieve model setting from SD for all 9X variants. :mrgreen:

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18877
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:51 am

Hey, You know what?? I like the name..
MegaSound9X
What do you guys think?? Oliver, I guess we have a killer name for it.. ;) :mrgreen:
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

voltzmd
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:56 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by voltzmd » Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:19 am

hi everyone. i'm new to er9x and not that adept with electronics. i installed er9x ver780 on my turnigy. i'm using a FrSky DJT module and Frsky D8R II plus receivers, FLD02, sensor hub. i had them before changing to er9x. question is can i change the owner name with ver780? i tried to but i can't seem to change it using the transmitter only. can anyone help with an instruction? not sure if this is the forum to post this but this is where i saw r780 being posted. thanks in advance

User avatar
HC1969
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:47 am
Country: Hungary
Location: Istvan Magi
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by HC1969 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 6:39 am

jhsa wrote:Hey, You know what?? I like the name..
MegaSound9X
What do you guys think?? Oliver, I guess we have a killer name for it.. ;) :mrgreen:
GOOD! :D
http://rc.emiter.hu/ (MegaSound 9X, GCL-2, FrSky-RSSI-DAC, etc.) Keress fel!

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: er9x development

Post by kaos » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:02 am

Good, now we know 'exactly' what we are talking about. and what is that again? :lol:

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:01 am

voltzmd wrote: question is can i change the owner name with ver780? i tried to but i can't seem to change it using the transmitter only. can anyone help with an instruction?
I'll have a look, I may have caused a problem with that editing, it is very specific code. I've been changing things to allow for a rotary encoder.
You should be able to change the name using eepe.

Mike.

Edit, OK, will be fixed in next revision. Currently, editing mode for the owner name may be entered using the rotary encoder button only!
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

voltzmd
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:56 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by voltzmd » Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:41 pm

MikeB wrote:
voltzmd wrote: question is can i change the owner name with ver780? i tried to but i can't seem to change it using the transmitter only. can anyone help with an instruction?
I'll have a look, I may have caused a problem with that editing, it is very specific code. I've been changing things to allow for a rotary encoder.
You should be able to change the name using eepe.

Mike.

Edit, OK, will be fixed in next revision. Currently, editing mode for the owner name may be entered using the rotary encoder button only!
thank you for the quick reply mike. how do i do that? sorry i'm not electronically inclined. got into er9x by watching videos and reading how too's. can you point the way on how to do it?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:55 pm

You need to do the rotary encoder mod to have a rotary encoder. Have a look at viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1525&hilit=rotary+encoder.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Romushock
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:35 am
Country: -
Location: North Italy

Re: er9x development

Post by Romushock » Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:17 am

Dear Developers,
I would like to know yours opinion about replacement stick's pots to rotary encoders. Does it have a sense? It's possible?
Thks

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Sat Dec 15, 2012 2:14 pm

I don't think you will get a rotary encoder that will provide anything like enough resolution, and you would also need a method to locate the stick centre position.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Romolo
9x Developer
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 12:11 am
Country: -
Location: Massa (MS), Tuscany, Italy

Re: er9x development

Post by Romolo » Sat Dec 15, 2012 3:14 pm

You can change with magnetic encoders like AMS ones that are able to provide both digital and analog (programmable range) output, but there is no 1:1 mechanical replacement so a lot of work should be done at home.

Romushock
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:35 am
Country: -
Location: North Italy

Re: er9x development

Post by Romushock » Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:52 pm

I mean something like this one http://www.avagotech.com/pages/en/motio ... -6600-t16/ . Promised resolution of 0.00549º, not bad, eh?
Or http://www.ams.com/eng/Products/Magneti ... rs/AS5048A grazie Romolo ;)

minbari
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 7:53 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by minbari » Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:47 pm

maybe I am missing something here, but I cant see how to use the GVARs. I can scroll through all the GVAR variables, but they dont allow you to set anything, they just mirror whatever that input is doing.

EX: If I set it to AIL, then I can see the value that the AIL channel is sending while I move the stick.

how does this help me make a set variable that can be used globally? if I want to set a value of gv1 = 80%, as an example.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:53 pm

How many people actually use POT SCROLLING?
The three pots are available for moving left-right, up-down, and adjusting values, but are they used much?
With the addition of a rotary encoder in particular, I feel they are using up valuable flash memory that could be put to better use.

I am proposing to REMOVE POT SCROLLING, at least from the FRSKY version of the code, which is the one most in need of extra space.
With the possibility of adding a rotary encoder by direct wiring, or by fitting a TelemetrEZ board when that is tested to provide the connections, POT SCROLLING is not required.
I hope to be testing using a rotary encoder connected to the TelemetrEZ board soon.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB » Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:59 pm

Minbari: If you set the GVAR input to ----, then you can set the value to a constant e.g. 80% in you example.
I'm still working on the full implementation of GVARS, there are currently limited places where they may be used. EXPO, Dual rates and mixer weight and offset are currently implemented.
In addition, a GVAR may be used as the source of a mixer.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

minbari
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 7:53 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by minbari » Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:03 pm

thanks, I didnt even think to try to set a static variable with the --- showing, lol.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18877
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa » Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:34 pm

MikeB wrote:
I am proposing to REMOVE POT SCROLLING, at least from the FRSKY version of the code, which is the one most in need of extra space.
As far as I'm concerned go ahead :) I'm installing the rotary encoder in both my radios.. I wonder if many people use it anyway.. I know that many complained about it :D

I do feel a bit sad as pot scrolling was one of the few ideas I had that was implemented.. :cry:
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Flaps 30
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:04 pm
Country: -
Location: Wokingham Berkshire

Re: er9x development

Post by Flaps 30 » Mon Dec 17, 2012 8:14 pm

I tried pot scrolling for a while then reverted back to normal, as I found it a little clumsy to use. My vote would be to remove it.

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by Rob Thomson » Mon Dec 17, 2012 8:40 pm

Not that I use er9x, but I never use it. Just gets on the way :-)

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!


Post Reply

Return to “er9x”