Turnigy 9x with 2 modules

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
Post Reply
User avatar
amxcs
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:02 am
Country: -

Turnigy 9x with 2 modules

Post by amxcs » Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:09 am

I have several receivers at 72mhz and I want to use it with one transmitter.
I tested with the FM module and everything is fine.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0huUQ1nFEfg&feature=youtu.be

The original antenna will not be used. The multiprotocol module has an antenna. I can put the telescopic antenna from Hitec.


1. Can I insert the FM module into the transmitter if I find a place and switch between two modules? Switch only ppm and V+?

Image

2. 350uS and PPM FrLen 22.5mSec do they need to change?

Thanks!


User avatar
amxcs
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:02 am
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9x with 2 modules

Post by amxcs » Sat Aug 15, 2020 11:38 pm

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
amxcs
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:02 am
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9x with 2 modules

Post by amxcs » Sat Aug 22, 2020 8:54 pm

Today I wanted to test the transmitter before a flight.
At 72MHz, when I press the trim several times quickly, the transmitter stops working - voltage anomalies and nothing works. After a restart, everything is fine until I press the trim again.

Image
Image

Thus the transmitter is unusable. If I do not find the problem I will have to remove the module. :(

EDIT: Do I need a PPM inverter like this adapter? And what does it do?
Image

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17275
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Turnigy 9x with 2 modules

Post by MikeB » Sat Aug 22, 2020 9:53 pm

I think your problem with the trim switches is the one discussed here: https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopi ... =95&t=3594.
Basically, there is a design flaw in the 9X for the horizontal trim switches, which means some radios suffer a problem when using the horizontal trim switches.
If you don't have the problem when using the vertical trim switches, but the horizontal trim switches cause the problem,then you need to modify the horizontal trim switch wiring.

The adapter in your edit is to allow a futaba/hitec module to fit in a JR style module bay.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2252
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Turnigy 9x with 2 modules

Post by bob195558 » Sun Aug 23, 2020 12:05 am

Also see here about "9x Radio Rebooting Problem Horizontal Trims Digital Ground Fix"
https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopi ... 120#p69475
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.
3D-Printing: (https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=129).


User avatar
amxcs
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:02 am
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9x with 2 modules

Post by amxcs » Sun Aug 23, 2020 8:49 pm

Done, tested and works well on 72Mhz and 2.4Ghz

Image
MikeB wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 9:53 pm
The adapter in your edit is to allow a futaba/hitec module to fit in a JR style module bay.
Yes, but what is the inverter for? I have connected the PPM signal directly.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17275
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Turnigy 9x with 2 modules

Post by MikeB » Sun Aug 23, 2020 9:03 pm

It inverts the CPPM signal from the radio to the module. Since er9x may output the signal with either polarity it is totally unnecessary!

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
amxcs
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:02 am
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9x with 2 modules

Post by amxcs » Mon Aug 24, 2020 9:11 am

Thanks!

I have 1 more problem.
With the FM module it shows the wrong battery voltage by 1V more than with the original module. It is measured with a multimeter.
The voltage is calibrated with the original module.
Can I do a voltage calibration on a new model or is it for all models.

User avatar
amxcs
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:02 am
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9x with 2 modules

Post by amxcs » Tue Sep 01, 2020 8:55 am

Unfortunately, the calibration is for all models.
I don't know why with different modules it shows different voltage. The difference is not 0.1-0.2V to ignore it, but 1 volt. :(

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10739
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Turnigy 9x with 2 modules

Post by Kilrah » Tue Sep 01, 2020 9:29 am

Most likely the 72MHz RF screwing up the measurement.


Post Reply

Return to “er9x”