Asking for completely off-topic assistance

Need some advice? Trying out a new idea? Fancy a beer?
Join us for some general banter and good times.
nollox

Asking for completely off-topic assistance

Post by nollox »

I have recently joined a model flying club that could profit a great deal by having a web site. I'm into computers and programming - though it has always been "close to the hardware" - I have never built a web site before. I've started learning HTML and CSS, and getting some ideas together of what I would like the site to do. One thing I want on the site is a forum, to advertise swaps / trades within the club, and for discussion and exchange of ideas, and I also want a calendar of some sort, where the guys can say when they intend to visit the club field.

I have seen that there is a good deal of open source forum software around. I like the look and feel of the one on this site. Can the site admin please tell me which one it is, and whether it is open source? This is going to cost me a lot of time - I don't want it to cost me money as well.

Any other helpful pointers also welcome.

Kilrah

Re: Asking for completely off-topic assistance

Post by Kilrah »

You can see it right at the bottom of the page.
deaconFlyer

Post by deaconFlyer »

Website building is no longer a black art ... but you have to select your host very carefully. There are many companies out there ... personally, I am partial to Wordpress (http://wordpress.org) for the non-technical user and if you go that way, you select a host that will handle it.

From inside WP you can easily add links to any external BBS source, such as the one that is used here. There are even WP Plugins,but they are no where near as good as stand-alones that are out there.

I have probably set up about 100 websites for people, and after the initial setup, they easily maintain and update their own website. There are numerous others which I am certain many can recommend.