OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

openTx has introduced a range of new features, ideas and bling. It is fast becoming the firmware of choice for many users. openTx will run on ALL current hardware platforms, including the gruvin9x and sky9x boards. Work has already started to support the new FrSky X9D radio!
Bruneaux
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:13 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Bruneaux » Fri Feb 12, 2016 7:20 pm

Kilrah,

When you had posted this original thread I thought I saw a post that gave some 'practical' (do not exceed) numbers about the max number of SPort ID's and and the max number of DataID's.

Do remember that post or those numbers?

Of course the type of telemetry device will have different numbers of DataID's, but I thought there was a guideline somewhere.

Thank

Bruneaux


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10551
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Kilrah » Fri Feb 12, 2016 8:06 pm

There are 28 different hardware IDs. A single piece of hardware (e.g. using one hardware ID) can send any number of different data types.

That answer is as vague as the question though...

Bruneaux
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:13 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Bruneaux » Fri Feb 12, 2016 8:23 pm

Kilrah wrote:There are 28 different hardware IDs. A single piece of hardware (e.g. using one hardware ID) can send any number of different data types.

That answer is as vague as the question though...

Thanks. I have those numbers.

Maybe it was Mike B.

Bruneaux

DenverMark
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:48 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by DenverMark » Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:17 am

I've been reading some of this post, but most of jargon flies above my head. Can anyone point me to a simple explanation of how to get the individual cell values from the FLVSS through my Taranis? A step by step? Thanks

EDIT: is this the answer? From an earlier post.

"Create a sensor, type Calculated, forumla Cells, select your Cell sensor as source, and the index of the cell you want. No IDs to play with."

I do hope there is more explanation than this available, but less than this whole, arcane, thread.
Last edited by DenverMark on Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10551
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Kilrah » Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:20 am

Yep.


DenverMark
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:48 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by DenverMark » Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:21 am

That does not spell out much. You don't need to know any names going into this? That is enough info right there?

DenverMark
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:48 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by DenverMark » Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:27 am

I'm finding it hard to believe that this is the only way to break this code, trying to understand this thread. If anyone happens across a complete instruction, please post it to this thread.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10551
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Kilrah » Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:24 am


DenverMark
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:48 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by DenverMark » Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:28 pm

Thank you for posting this. Page 1331 of that thread does seem very promising. I will try it later today.

DenverMark
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:48 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by DenverMark » Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:31 pm

This was the level of detail I needed. Thank you for your help.

User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Redbrickman » Sun Mar 20, 2016 1:47 pm

Is there a Mac version of Open Tx Companion that will work with OpenTX 2.1?
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10551
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Kilrah » Sun Mar 20, 2016 1:52 pm

Every release has got its mac version... see OpenTX website.

jdawson
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 1:12 am
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by jdawson » Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:02 pm

Yes. Go to www.open-tx.org go to opencast 2.1.7 link below and then select Mac version.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Redbrickman » Sun Mar 27, 2016 12:52 am

Thank you, got it working on my Mac now.
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

manu84
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 4:44 pm
Country: -

OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview : value display and "small" digit

Post by manu84 » Sun Apr 03, 2016 1:29 pm

Hello,

I use OpenTX on a Turnigy 9x with the AR9X custom board.
Well, I would like to talk about the display value, precisely the "small" digit.
I use the telemetry to monitor my battery and capacity use.
The problem is I have 10 000 mah battery and when I pass from 999 to 1000 mah, the last digit become a "small"
This is very confusing when you take a look to the value, because when you look quickly you see only the big digit !!

So I found no way to change this and keep only big digit...
Is there a way without modify the source code?
I am able to modify the code but I realy dont know (and dont find) how to locally compile the firmware.

Hope somebody could help me.

Emmanuel
From France
(sorry fo my bad english)

User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Redbrickman » Wed Apr 06, 2016 5:12 pm

Have been setting up a quadcopter but having some problems with telemetry.

Flip32 Board
D4Rii receiver, jumpered 3-4 to output CPPM

Added green and black wires from receiver to the correct points on the Flip and the added three wire from receiver to Flip board as per pinouts found on internet sites.

Set up soft serial ports and checked telemetry and Soft Serial in Cleanflight software

Taranis running 2.1.7 detected RSSI and A1 + A2 sensors correctly.

With 3S lipo I see A1 at 5V but A2 is also showing 5V

Any ideas where I have gone wrong?
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10551
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Kilrah » Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:59 am

You aren't receiving data from the FC, otherwise you should have more sensors detected. Might be that the board only sends data when armed.

User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Redbrickman » Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:13 am

Thanks for the reply Kilrah.
I have been testing with the board armed so will have to check it over carefully again. I saw some comments on the net that Baseflight sometimes is better for certain setups than the Cleanflight software. The other thing I have not tried it to only use the green data wire to feed the telemtry and remove the ground, mabye a ground loop, but I'm now clutching at straws ;)
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Redbrickman » Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:36 pm

Have reflashed the board and tried various other things but it seems there is nothing being output to the Receiver. I wonder if anyone else in the forum is using 2.1.7, Flip32 and the D4r-ii combo?

UPDATE - Happy to report SUCCESS!

Part of the set up on the Naze/Flip 32 requires a CLI command to invert the telemetry data to suit the FRSKY receiver. I had entered that command but it appears it did not take the first time. After entereign and saving it I now have all the sensors flasing in my telmetry screen ;)

Now back to switch programming ;)
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

spoke2570
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:01 am
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by spoke2570 » Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:26 am

Using Taranis/OpenTX 2.1.8
Is there some list of hardware id numbers so that normal telemetry logging can show things like flight mode, or stick position separate from ppm output, or logical switch values..?
For example DLG zoom mode has some timed elevator motion which gets tidied up by live stick input, I't be nice to get that on my normal log files as when zoom is kicked, and what the ele is doing, what the stick is doing, and how those relate to VSPD and ALT?
Do I gotta suck it up and write that model script? If I write that model script will it be able to append the log at at least the 0.1 sec rate possible via normal telemetry logging?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10551
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Kilrah » Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:24 am

Don't understand what you're after, but the state of the radio's hardware controls is already logged by default.

spoke2570
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:01 am
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by spoke2570 » Sat Apr 16, 2016 4:23 pm

Thanks for the reply..
So: The Tx hardware state is recorded in terms of stick, switch, pot positions, and sensors that are checked in the telemetry screen. Beauty!

The thing is that if one wants to view logs in terms of flight mode or channel "X" output this is not apparently list selectable. For example: I use channel 9 to sum up the inputs that produce chamber position for multi-servo wings and then use channel 9 as input on all the wing servos. Sweet mixer page simplified. In use I enter FM4 (full flaps). Switch "A" is the primary trigger for this, so I can figure out on the logs where I pulled the switch, but there are a couple of safety interlocks so I don't pull the flaps at some stupid time like at full throttle or in a super steep dive. There is also timing for elevator compensation and flap deployment to smooth the flight transition. The flight log does not seem to have any way to view those timed control surface deployments or the reality of whether switch "A" toggled the flight mode.

I know that these sort of particulars can be custom-logged using scripts, but it would be so nice to just get this with the canned logging system (ya trying to be lazy here). If there were a list of sensor instance #s that included the hardware positions that were already logged by default, a calculated sensor could at least reproduce flight mode changes. If there were one that included channel outputs, too, then one could watch the control surface deployments, relative to mode change, and compare with altimetry. This would make the canned logs so much more useful for me.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10551
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Kilrah » Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:07 pm

As of now telemetry is pretty much separate from control, so making a way to access controls in telemetry would be both complicated and dirty.
There could be some level of choice of what we want logged from the control side though, and a "flight mode" item with just a number could be added.

spoke2570
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:01 am
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by spoke2570 » Sat Apr 16, 2016 9:21 pm

Thanks. Off to sort out the fresh io library

Carbo
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 6:55 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Freinsheim RP

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview: scale in inputs

Post by Carbo » Mon May 09, 2016 1:20 pm

When you select a telemetry field as source in "Inputs" a scale field appears.It accepts numbers from -3000 to +3000. How does it calculate?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10551
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Kilrah » Mon May 09, 2016 5:09 pm

How much of the telemetry value should map to +100% in the control domain.

janlebelg
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 4:33 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by janlebelg » Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:40 am

hi
i just resterted whit the log fils
when i was in 2.0 i have this in the log file
Date,Time,SWR,RSSI,A1,A2,A3,A4,GPS Date,GPS Time,Long,Lat,Course,GPS Speed(kts),GPS Alt,Baro Alt(m),Vertical Speed,Air Speed(kts),Temp1,Temp2,RPM,Fuel,Cell volts,Cell 1,Cell 2,Cell 3,Cell 4,Cell 5,Cell 6,Cell 7,Cell 8,Cell 9,Cell 10,Cell 11,Cell 12,Current,Consumption,Vfas,AccelX,AccelY,AccelZ,Rud,Ele,Thr,Ail,S1,S2,S3,LS,RS,SA,SB,SC,SD,SE,SF,SG,SH

and today whit vertion 2.1.8 a have this for the same model
Date,Time,RSSI(dB),Dir,Prf,Gaz,Ail,S1,S2,S3,LS,RS,SA,SB,SC,SD,SE,SF,SG,SH

il al my models on screen and lua works but in the log there a no senseros what dit i wrong

regards

edit

i found it i dit not put the x on all sensors :oops: :oops: :oops:

gke
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2016 4:36 am
Country: Australia
Contact:

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by gke » Wed Oct 05, 2016 4:48 am

I use the same instrumentation package in all of my models.

Is there a way of copying all of the telemetry specification for one model to another existing model without doing it sensor by sensor. I guess what I am asking for is importable/saveable telemetry templates. I know that for a new model I can simply clone an existing model and make the changes to the model part.

Thanks

User avatar
rcdiy
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:13 am
Country: Canada
Contact:

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by rcdiy » Wed Oct 05, 2016 11:59 am

(Deleted)
Last edited by rcdiy on Wed Oct 05, 2016 7:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RCdiy.ca
Stay Safe & Have Fun
OpenTX Manual http://rcdiy.ca
Paying it forward by sharing my Lua scripts, documentation and videos.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10551
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 telemetry system preview

Post by Kilrah » Wed Oct 05, 2016 5:47 pm

No, there is no such possibility at the time.


Post Reply

Return to “openTx”