OpenTx 2.0.5 Instant Trim not working properly

openTx has introduced a range of new features, ideas and bling. It is fast becoming the firmware of choice for many users. openTx will run on ALL current hardware platforms, including the gruvin9x and sky9x boards. Work has already started to support the new FrSky X9D radio!
Post Reply
User avatar
Mutchy
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:26 am
Country: -
Location: Wollongong, Australia

OpenTx 2.0.5 Instant Trim not working properly

Post by Mutchy » Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:26 am

OpenTX 2.0.5 of 27th Jun 2014 installed on Taranis: mode 1.

Instant Trim on one side of neutral subtracts the stick offset to the stick trim position instead of adding. On the other side of neutral the stick position is added to the trim position i.e. moves the trim position to reduce the out of trim of the control surfaces as normal. The value added or subtracted appears to be slightly less than what is needed.

For example with right aileron stick needed to fly the model level, Instant Trim adds this stick position to the trim setting when the Instant Trim switch is activated so that when the stick is returned to neutral there is approximately twice as much aileron offset instead of none. For left aileron the stick position is deducted from the trim setting and when the stick is returned to neutral there is almost no left stick needed. In this case the ailerons appear not to fully return to the neutral position.

You can see the problem on the home page where the graphs for control surface movements are shown; Channel Monitor. The problem is evident for all sticks.

I found this in flight. I have not had 2.mins 38 seconds of 'excitement' like this for a long time.

Steve


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18968
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: OpenTx 2.0.5 Instant Trim not working properly

Post by jhsa » Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:35 am

that was a short flight :o :D
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Mutchy
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:26 am
Country: -
Location: Wollongong, Australia

Re: OpenTx 2.0.5 Instant Trim not working properly

Post by Mutchy » Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:56 am

It felt like ages :)

bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTx 2.0.5 Instant Trim not working properly

Post by bertrand35 » Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:06 am

Which is the weight on your input? Negative?

bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTx 2.0.5 Instant Trim not working properly

Post by bertrand35 » Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:26 am



User avatar
Mutchy
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:26 am
Country: -
Location: Wollongong, Australia

Re: OpenTx 2.0.5 Instant Trim not working properly

Post by Mutchy » Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:52 am

Thanks Bertrand.
You are awesomely quick.
Where can I download OpenTx version 2.0.6 please?
Steve

davx
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 7:01 am
Country: -

Re: OpenTx 2.0.5 Instant Trim not working properly

Post by davx » Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:26 am

You will have to compile yourself for the moment ;)

bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTx 2.0.5 Instant Trim not working properly

Post by bertrand35 » Wed Jul 02, 2014 4:54 pm

I will release soon 2.0.6

hageha
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:25 pm
Country: -
Location: Hildesheim

Re: OpenTx 2.0.5 Instant Trim not working properly

Post by hageha » Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:03 pm

I measure a 3 cell Lipo with a voltage divider
at "A2" of a "D8R-II plus" receiver.
Why I have to set, in the telemetry settings (10/10) from my Taranis (OpenTx 2.05 and before)
"FrSky S.PORT" to be able to read the values​​?
And not "FrSky D"


Post Reply

Return to “openTx”