Bind dual FS-IA6B

openTx has introduced a range of new features, ideas and bling. It is fast becoming the firmware of choice for many users. openTx will run on ALL current hardware platforms, including the gruvin9x and sky9x boards. Work has already started to support the new FrSky X9D radio!
Post Reply
Chappie66
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:23 pm
Country: -

Bind dual FS-IA6B

Post by Chappie66 » Tue Aug 28, 2018 2:26 am

Hey all,

I am trying to bind two FlySky FS-IA6B receivers to a single model on my X9D+. I am using the Irange IRX4 Plus external module and the latest OPenTx Multimodule firmware, V2.2.2.

So far no joy trying simultaneous binding.

Individual binding did not work, would lose bind with first RX.

Tried changing RX number when binding second receiver, but that resulted in losing binding to first RX.

Tried binding one RX while using Ch 1-16 and second Ch 17-32, lose bind with first RX.

Not sure if this is even possible?

A push in the right direction would be awesome, if this is even possible...

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9666
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Bind dual FS-IA6B

Post by Kilrah » Tue Aug 28, 2018 7:07 am

Unfortunately that isn't possible with the AFHDS2A system.

Chappie66
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:23 pm
Country: -

Re: Bind dual FS-IA6B

Post by Chappie66 » Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:51 am

Kilrah wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 7:07 am
Unfortunately that isn't possible with the AFHDS2A system.
Thanks Kilrah.

Maybe FrSky or Spektrum?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9666
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Bind dual FS-IA6B

Post by Kilrah » Tue Aug 28, 2018 12:00 pm

Maybe describe your use case a bit more, then you can get recommendations.

Chappie66
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:23 pm
Country: -

Re: Bind dual FS-IA6B

Post by Chappie66 » Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:37 pm

Biplane:

Wing has 6 servos, 2 for each elevator and one each for flaps. Want to use a separate RX here so no real long wires back to main fuselage radio compartment being routed external.

Main fuse, 4 servos, 2 elevator, 2 rudder, then landing gear and throttle.

So my plan was to uses 2 separate receivers with separate battery packs.


User avatar
3djc
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 7:15 am
Country: -

Re: Bind dual FS-IA6B

Post by 3djc » Fri Aug 31, 2018 4:06 pm

That can be done with FrSky receivers, just make sure only ONE has telemetry enabled

3djc

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1901
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Bind dual FS-IA6B

Post by bob195558 » Fri Aug 31, 2018 5:08 pm

Hi, you can also purchase some "Y harness 6 inch/Reverser Heavy-Duty" (ERXA325).
Horizon hobby (EXPERT Electronics) is where I got them several years ago.
This allows you to use one receiver channel for two servos as it reverses one of the servos.

Here is some old info that may be helpful: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic ... 150#p94906).
I used erSky9x on Taranis, so some of the programming may be different.

ErSky9x firmware can use an Internal and External modules at the same time allowing you to use two different Receivers at the same time.
You can choose which module you want to use for the Telemetry too (Note: opentx can not do this feature):
(http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic ... 150#p94519).

I use the External FrSky module (COM2) with Telemetry and a D-Series receiver
and use the internal XJT FrSky module with the 8XR receiver (no telemetry) giving me 16 channels.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme, Er9x on 9x with Smartieparts Programmer with TelemetrEZ Board
3D Printing: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85)

User avatar
3djc
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 7:15 am
Country: -

Re: Bind dual FS-IA6B

Post by 3djc » Mon Sep 03, 2018 7:00 am

You do not need two modules to have 16 chans on X series. Just bind one receiver on 1-8 and another one on 9-16 (just make sure one of the receiver only is bound with telemetry)

3djc

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1901
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Bind dual FS-IA6B

Post by bob195558 » Mon Sep 03, 2018 11:39 am

3djc wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 7:00 am
You do not need two modules to have 16 chans on X series.
Just bind one receiver on 1-8 and another one on 9-16
(just make sure one of the receiver only is bound with telemetry)
3djc
That is correct !

ErSky9x allows you to have more options to choose from.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme, Er9x on 9x with Smartieparts Programmer with TelemetrEZ Board
3D Printing: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85)

User avatar
3djc
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 7:15 am
Country: -

Re: Bind dual FS-IA6B

Post by 3djc » Mon Sep 03, 2018 3:26 pm

i was talking with OpenTx

Chappie66
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:23 pm
Country: -

Re: Bind dual FS-IA6B

Post by Chappie66 » Tue Sep 04, 2018 5:04 pm

Thanks for all the info. I am running openTX and I should look at binding dual FRSKY receivers as the option, maybe Spektrum?

The main reason for separate RXs is not primarily the number of channels, it is for the length of cables and having to run cables external from wings into main fuse.

Seems like FlySky receives, which I have a number of, are a no go

Post Reply

Return to “openTx”