Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

openTx has introduced a range of new features, ideas and bling. It is fast becoming the firmware of choice for many users. openTx will run on ALL current hardware platforms, including the gruvin9x and sky9x boards. Work has already started to support the new FrSky X9D radio!
Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Wed May 23, 2018 7:00 am

Hi when I try to write new firmware to my Taranis x9d se it loads it then I get this message (see photo)
Any way to fix this or is the radio faulty ?
Attachments
20180521_095949.jpg

User avatar
kalle123
Posts: 703
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:59 am
Country: -
Location: Moenchengladbach

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by kalle123 » Wed May 23, 2018 1:02 pm

Please, more information. Can you read data from your Taranis to Companion?

Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Wed May 23, 2018 3:52 pm

If you mean can I bring up the tx menu through companion then yes.......Also the tx shows up on my pc along with the Sd card.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15709
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by MikeB » Wed May 23, 2018 6:02 pm

What file are you trying to flash?

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Wed May 23, 2018 6:46 pm

Just as an example if I have the heli screen loaded so have 13 pages.......So if I load the download screen up again and this time untick the heli box then download to the pc the open tx companion then asks if hi want to flash to the tx which I agree to but as it finishes flashing across to the tx I then get that message.......So I'm left with 13 pages on my tx rather than 12 ( this is just an example but hopefully you understand what I mean)


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9602
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Kilrah » Wed May 23, 2018 7:26 pm

What are the versions of firmware and bootloader you currently have? You might have the FrSky 2.1.6 bootloader which has broken USB functionality. If so update it, possibly using the SD card.

Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Wed May 23, 2018 7:51 pm

Both have been updated to 2.2.1 when I bought the tx brand new last week it had 2.1.6 on both the tx and bootloader so it did let me update it but since then I just get the message if I try to adjust the version I now have.

User avatar
rcdiy
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:13 am
Country: Canada
Contact:

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by rcdiy » Thu May 24, 2018 3:33 am

Try placing the OpenTX firmware file on the sd card
In the folder called FIRMWARE
Power of tx
Pull in horizontal tabs and power on
Select the update firmware option.

The maximum file name length is 32 characters including the dot and extension. If the file name does not display on the screen shorten the length of the file name.
RCdiy.ca
Stay Safe & Have Fun
OpenTX Manual http://rcdiy.ca
Paying it forward by sharing my Lua scripts, documentation and videos.

Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Thu May 24, 2018 8:15 am

Rcdiy I have done that and it does load but like I said as an example I have heli ticked on the settings so have 13 pages in the Taranis if I then untick heli and download the software to the Taranis through companion I get that message at the end and I still have 13 pages.......If I load it through the firmware on the Sd card it seems to load with no message but again I still have 13 pages rather than 12 So effectively it didn't load ?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9602
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Kilrah » Thu May 24, 2018 4:19 pm

If it didn't change then you didn't copy the correct file to the card. Check the filename which lists the options.

User avatar
rcdiy
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:13 am
Country: Canada
Contact:

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by rcdiy » Thu May 24, 2018 4:59 pm

Post the file name here
RCdiy.ca
Stay Safe & Have Fun
OpenTX Manual http://rcdiy.ca
Paying it forward by sharing my Lua scripts, documentation and videos.

Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Sat May 26, 2018 7:15 pm

Ok so I've loaded a few screenshots to explain what I'm doing........Firstly load companion on pc then click settings tick or untick the files i want or don't want then download to pc which also asks then if I want to load to the tx..... to which I say yes it then nearly loads as you watch the progression bar but then at the end I get the error message ?
Attachments
Companion Error.JPG
Companion Download.JPG
Companion Settings.JPG

User avatar
rcdiy
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:13 am
Country: Canada
Contact:

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by rcdiy » Sat May 26, 2018 7:51 pm

I realize you want a solution.
I’m trying to offer a workaround:)
For the workaround does the file name have noheli in it?

Anyone else have ideas on the cause and solution?
Can you read models and settings and then write them back?
Can you backup the radio/firmware from the radio and then write them back?
Backup Radio to File – Saves a copy of the models and transmitter settings to the computer.
Read Firmware from Radio – Saves a copy of the transmitter firmware currently in use to the computer.
RCdiy.ca
Stay Safe & Have Fun
OpenTX Manual http://rcdiy.ca
Paying it forward by sharing my Lua scripts, documentation and videos.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15709
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by MikeB » Sat May 26, 2018 8:51 pm

The settings looks to have "noHeli" ticked, but the filename for flashing doesn't!

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
rcdiy
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:13 am
Country: Canada
Contact:

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by rcdiy » Sun May 27, 2018 5:38 am

Why does his date say 2017-12-17?
RCdiy.ca
Stay Safe & Have Fun
OpenTX Manual http://rcdiy.ca
Paying it forward by sharing my Lua scripts, documentation and videos.

Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Sun May 27, 2018 9:10 am

The date I assume it's the release date of that firmware ?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9602
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Kilrah » Sun May 27, 2018 9:33 am

It's the build date. Builds are cached.

Seems you're indeed not taking the right file, or not redownloading after changing the options.

Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Sun May 27, 2018 7:56 pm

Kilrah can you explain how to download new settings then if they are different to the way I've mentioned above ?

User avatar
rcdiy
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:13 am
Country: Canada
Contact:

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by rcdiy » Mon May 28, 2018 1:42 am

On write to tx Screen select load and see if you can locate the file with noheli (plus other options selected) in the name.
RCdiy.ca
Stay Safe & Have Fun
OpenTX Manual http://rcdiy.ca
Paying it forward by sharing my Lua scripts, documentation and videos.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9602
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Kilrah » Mon May 28, 2018 6:42 am

File-Download->Download firmware?

Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Mon May 28, 2018 11:47 am

The file is downloaded to pc when it's selected to write to TX it starts to load then at the end the error message appears as the screen shots above ?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9602
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Kilrah » Mon May 28, 2018 4:06 pm

We told you to use the SD card method instead, but then you had issues with that too and that's what we're trying to advise about.

Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Mon May 28, 2018 8:05 pm

Yes either downloading to sd card then writing that to the tx although it shows it loading still shows the thirteen pages when worth no heli it should be twelve.

User avatar
rcdiy
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:13 am
Country: Canada
Contact:

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by rcdiy » Mon May 28, 2018 8:30 pm

Can you post a screenshot using file explorer the file name of the file you transfered to the sd card and then used the bootloader menu to write firmware?

Using windows file explorer locate the file in the firmware folder and take a screenshot.
RCdiy.ca
Stay Safe & Have Fun
OpenTX Manual http://rcdiy.ca
Paying it forward by sharing my Lua scripts, documentation and videos.

Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Tue May 29, 2018 12:58 pm

So I'll run through this again with screenshots
1.open companion 2.2.1
2.click on settings tick 'noheli' which should then only give me 12 pages on the tx menu
3.click on download on companion......it downloads to a folder in pc......then asks if you want to download to tx to which I say yes then the progression bar shows loading but right at the end I get the error message ?
I have tried loading the downloaded settings on the pc direct to the tx firmware file after renaming it to under 8 letters but when I go into the firmware file on the tx and load it to the tx again the tx shows the progression bar loads to the end (no error code shows up) however rebooting the tx still shows 13 pages (ie the heli page is still there) rather than no heli page and only 12 pages ?
Attachments
Companion Settings.JPG
Companion Download.JPG
Companion To Pc.JPG
Companion Firmware.JPG
Companion Flashing.JPG
Companion To Tx.JPG
Companion Error.JPG

User avatar
rcdiy
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:13 am
Country: Canada
Contact:

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by rcdiy » Tue May 29, 2018 3:25 pm

Why are you not doing what I ask? Showing me the same screen shots again is not helpful.
I am trying to help you.
If you would like me to stop let me know. That's okay:)
RCdiy.ca
Stay Safe & Have Fun
OpenTX Manual http://rcdiy.ca
Paying it forward by sharing my Lua scripts, documentation and videos.

Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Tue May 29, 2018 6:07 pm

Everything you see is what I see the file name is showing screenshot 2,3,4 and 5......
Attachments
Screenshot_20180529-190555_Samsung Internet Beta.jpg

User avatar
rcdiy
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:13 am
Country: Canada
Contact:

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by rcdiy » Tue May 29, 2018 6:35 pm

I’m trying to get you to stop using Companion temporary.
Put the firmware file on the sd card.
Write the firmware using bootloader.

Once we know this works then radio is okay.

Try placing the OpenTX firmware file on the sd card
In the folder called FIRMWARE
Power of tx
Pull in horizontal tabs and power on
Select the update firmware option.

The maximum file name length is 32 characters including the dot and extension. If the file name does not display on the screen shorten the length of the file name.
RCdiy.ca
Stay Safe & Have Fun
OpenTX Manual http://rcdiy.ca
Paying it forward by sharing my Lua scripts, documentation and videos.

Aburn09
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:24 am
Country: -

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by Aburn09 » Tue May 29, 2018 7:12 pm

I have sent the settings directly to the Sd card firmware file as mentioned before (and shortened the file to under 8 letters) it doesn't change the page from 13 to 12 as it should ?

User avatar
rcdiy
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:13 am
Country: Canada
Contact:

Re: Firmware not loading to Taranis ?

Post by rcdiy » Tue May 29, 2018 7:22 pm

Are you sure the original file name had noheli? Please try again by doing a fresh download.

Also the number of pages depends on two options.
Noheli will reduce by one page.
Lua will increase by one page.
If you select both you still end up with the same number of pages.
Lua option is not needed to run lua scripts. It is needed to configure a lua mixer script which are rare.
RCdiy.ca
Stay Safe & Have Fun
OpenTX Manual http://rcdiy.ca
Paying it forward by sharing my Lua scripts, documentation and videos.

Post Reply

Return to “openTx”