Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

openTx has introduced a range of new features, ideas and bling. It is fast becoming the firmware of choice for many users. openTx will run on ALL current hardware platforms, including the gruvin9x and sky9x boards. Work has already started to support the new FrSky X9D radio!
Post Reply
wilopaan
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Country: -

Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by wilopaan » Sat May 23, 2020 6:04 pm

Hi all,

sorry for a perhaps dumb question, becuase I stil did not get it right:

where can I supply digital(SBUS) trainer input?

- to the dsc Jack?
- to pin2 of the module bay?
- to one of the TTL serial ports?

What options do I have to select in OpenTX?

Thank you!


wilopaan
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by wilopaan » Sun May 24, 2020 11:38 am

Well, is this a difficult question?
Where / on which interfaces can one supply serial trainer input?

wilopaan
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by wilopaan » Thu May 28, 2020 6:26 pm

Either the question is too simple or just dumb, or it requires a lot of explanation ...

Nobody to give me some clues?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17533
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by MikeB » Thu May 28, 2020 6:51 pm

Or nobody reading this knows!
I don't have a T16S so I don't know (and I use erskyTx anyway).

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

wilopaan
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by wilopaan » Thu May 28, 2020 7:11 pm

MikeB wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 6:51 pm
Or nobody reading this knows!
I don't have a T16S so I don't know (and I use erskyTx anyway).

Mike
My hope was to reach some of the devs here, because in the past I got very valuable and useful information here.


wilopaan
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by wilopaan » Fri Jun 26, 2020 5:47 am

Just want to popup this quetion and add another option: bluetooth. Inside the TX16S there is a place to attach a BT module. Has anyone information an this? Which module type? Can this be trainer input? How to use in general?

User avatar
3djc
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 7:15 am
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by 3djc » Fri Jun 26, 2020 7:17 am

There is no SBUS decoding on colorlcd radio currently. The BT space is for an Horus BT module, but that does n't work great. On TX16S, best option is multi trainer

wilopaan
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by wilopaan » Fri Jun 26, 2020 9:37 am

If I understand you correctly, there is no SBUS input for the TTL serials? A bit strange, because I can select this option.

What do you mean with multi-trainer? Feed SBUS on the module tray pin 2 (usually used for telemetry)?

Do you have any information to LUA-serialRead() ? (see other question I posted already).

Thanks!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17533
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by MikeB » Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:44 pm

Multi-trainer is where you use both an internal and an external multi-protocol module. Set the protocol on the external module to be one of the "receive" protocols, e.g. FrSky_Rx. Bind this to another Tx, then the control data from the other Rx will be the trainer input data for the T16.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

wilopaan
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by wilopaan » Fri Jun 26, 2020 5:03 pm

MikeB wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:44 pm
Multi-trainer is where you use both an internal and an external multi-protocol module. Set the protocol on the external module to be one of the "receive" protocols, e.g. FrSky_Rx. Bind this to another Tx, then the control data from the other Rx will be the trainer input data for the T16.

Mike
Thanks Mike, That I get manged tu use.

I want an external device connect to the TX16s and feed in some channel values and use these values as inputs. The external device is another µC using his Uarts. So the TTL serial interfaces would be best.

The module tray would be another, not so optimal option. In that case I do have to generate SBUS stream for Pin2, right?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10923
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by Kilrah » Fri Jun 26, 2020 5:30 pm

SBUS stream on pin2 is not supported on the color LCD radios, unlike the B/W ones this is not an uart pin.

On the RM it would end up on the exposed UARTs, due to the design you'd need an inverter, and it's untested on the Tx16S. Maybe it works "by magic" because it's similar enough to others, but nobody has looked into it at this point so maybe it doesn't yet.

You'll have to try things for yourself and report.

wilopaan
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by wilopaan » Fri Jun 26, 2020 5:57 pm

Kilrah wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 5:30 pm
SBUS stream on pin2 is not supported on the color LCD radios, unlike the B/W ones this is not an uart pin.
But if it is not supported, how does then multi-trainer work? The module has to feed the data-stream into the TX16S somehow.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17533
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by MikeB » Fri Jun 26, 2020 6:41 pm

The multi-protocol module sends the trainer data using the telemetry signal. When using the "MULTI_TELEMETRY" build option then the data sent includes a header indicating what the following data represents. One option for the type of data is trainer data.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

wilopaan
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by wilopaan » Fri Jun 26, 2020 7:01 pm

MikeB wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 6:41 pm
The multi-protocol module sends the trainer data using the telemetry signal. When using the "MULTI_TELEMETRY" build option then the data sent includes a header indicating what the following data represents. One option for the type of data is trainer data.

Mike
You mean Type 0x0d ?

From multiprotocol.h:

Type 0x0D RX channels forwarding

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17533
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by MikeB » Fri Jun 26, 2020 9:02 pm

Yes!

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

wilopaan
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by wilopaan » Sat Jun 27, 2020 5:03 am

MikeB wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 9:02 pm
Yes!

Mike
Ok, thanks Mike.

Looking at the other options. I checked the source code for the auxSerialInit(). and aux2SerialInit().

Here I see the menu options: "telemetry mirror", "telemetr input", and "LUA". But I don't see the "SBUS-Input" option, that is present in the menu, but not here. So, now it is clear, that this doesn't.

The option "telemetry input" is only activated if the telemety protocol is PROTOCOL_TELEMETRY_FRSKY_D_SECONDARY. But I am looking for an independant possibility, so this doesn't work either. Is this correct?

The last option is "LUA". looks like this should work with 115,2kBd. So I can use this in a mixer script, correct?

Are there any ongoing activities to implement the "SBUS-inout" option here complete? Any obstacles?

Thanks.

wilopaan
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by wilopaan » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:15 pm

The LUA option works: a mixer script can pickup the values from the serial interface. So far, so good.

Are there any activities ongoing towards the "SBUS-Input" option? (see also aboce post).

Thanks!

wilopaan
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by wilopaan » Fri Jul 03, 2020 4:03 am

I saw a new branch called "tx16s-sbus-in". Looks like the right thing. Is it already worth trying?

Hoffmonkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2021 3:22 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by Hoffmonkey » Tue Jul 20, 2021 3:24 pm

3djc wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 7:17 am
There is no SBUS decoding on colorlcd radio currently. The BT space is for an Horus BT module, but that does n't work great. On TX16S, best option is multi trainer

Hi, is there likely to be any progress on adding this to the TX16S? I was hoping to use a micro SBUS receiver attached to the appropriate pinouts on the multi bay.

Or is the MASTER/SBUS or MASTER/PPM option never going to materalise?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10923
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by Kilrah » Tue Jul 20, 2021 4:53 pm

You can now provide SBUS to the bottom user ports, but a hardware inverter is needed.

Hoffmonkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2021 3:22 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by Hoffmonkey » Tue Jul 20, 2021 6:12 pm

Kilrah wrote:
Tue Jul 20, 2021 4:53 pm
You can now provide SBUS to the bottom user ports, but a hardware inverter is needed.
Thank you for responding, could you tell me how I could identify the appropriate pins, and if I can get an off the shelf hardware inverter? I'm a complete luddite, electronically speaking!!

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10923
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by Kilrah » Tue Jul 20, 2021 9:10 pm

GND and RX on either port.

Image

Don't know about off the shelf inverters.

Hoffmonkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2021 3:22 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by Hoffmonkey » Tue Jul 20, 2021 9:31 pm

Thank you! I'm thinking I should start learning all about electronics but don't know where to start. I would love to understand more than just computer programming as being able to _do stuff_ with hardware is so cool.

Hoffmonkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2021 3:22 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by Hoffmonkey » Tue Jul 20, 2021 10:04 pm

Kilrah wrote:
Tue Jul 20, 2021 4:53 pm
You can now provide SBUS to the bottom user ports, but a hardware inverter is needed.
So is it that the TX16S expects an inverted SBUS signal through those UART ports? So any Rx that chucks out an inverted SBUS signal would be fine?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10923
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by Kilrah » Tue Jul 20, 2021 10:15 pm

Yes

Hoffmonkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2021 3:22 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by Hoffmonkey » Tue Jul 20, 2021 10:23 pm

Also is it all a bit moot given that the Trainer only allowed Jack/Multi on TX16S?

Hoffmonkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2021 3:22 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by Hoffmonkey » Wed Jul 21, 2021 8:17 pm

I found how to switch on the SBUS Trainer mode for user ports. Puts my Tx into emergency mode immediately if I select MASTER/SERIAL though - guess that's because nothing is connected.

Hoffmonkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2021 3:22 pm
Country: -

Re: Help with Trainer-Input (Radiomaster TX16s, but not only)

Post by Hoffmonkey » Fri Jul 23, 2021 12:06 pm

It's stopped doing that for now, maybe a dirty ribbon connection like I've seen on other youtube reports of emergency mode.


Post Reply

Return to “openTx”