Futaba FASST Module in Taranis - Help-No Bind

Choosing an RF Module? What modules work? What is compatible with the 9x?
Post Reply
Doctorbatman
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:05 am
Country: -

Futaba FASST Module in Taranis - Help-No Bind

Post by Doctorbatman » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:16 am

If someone could help, would be great.

I have a Futaba TM-10 FASST module, bought the Flytron adapter (http://www.flytron.com/openlrs-accessor ... apter.html) for the JR style connection and plugged it into my Taranis Plus. Set radio to External Module, PPM.

BUT no bind to my FASST RX (which worked on that module when plugged into my Futaba 10C).
I don't know how to tell if the module is transmitting anything or if Taranis even knows it's plugged in it's back.

I've had the Taranis for 3 months and still can't get it to work. It's probably the best radio I'll never be able to fly with.

Anyone know how to get the radio to use the Futaba module?

Thanks,

Doc
Last edited by Doctorbatman on Mon Feb 16, 2015 3:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9671
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Futaba FASST Module in Taranis - Help-No Bind

Post by Kilrah » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:38 am

The LEDs on the module should tell you if it's powered and happy or not.
The Taranis doesn't care whether a module is plugged or not, you however need to configure it to turn it on and with the correct signal parameters.

Doctorbatman
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:05 am
Country: -

Re: Futaba FASST Module in Taranis - Help-No Bind

Post by Doctorbatman » Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:50 am

Hi Kilrah,
Thanks for your reply.
The Futaba module does not have any LEDs on it.
The Flytron board plugs into the module slot in the Taranis then the Futaba module plugs into the Flyton board.
I set the Taranis External module programming to PPM.
I tried setting the PPM frame to either - or +.
I tried PPM frame 22.5-300 and 22.5 to 400.

Still no bind to Futaba receiver.

I don't know how to determine any other parameters.

Any more suggestions are appreciated,

Doc

Doctorbatman
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:05 am
Country: -

Re: Futaba FASST Module in Taranis - Help-No Bind

Post by Doctorbatman » Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:59 am

Success!!! :D
I purchased a Futaba TM-7 module, plugged it into the Flytron adapter board and used these settings (22.5ms, 350u +) and my Futaba Rx bound as normal.

I must give credit to PilotPete2 from RC Groups who told me why the TM-10 module WON'T bind but why the TM-7, and TM-8 modules WILL bind. http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthre ... st30675177

Scott Page also has a page on RC Groups showing his settings.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost ... ount=31614. He did not happen to mention that the TM-10 module will NOT bind.

Wahoo!
Doc

Post Reply

Return to “RF MODULES”