Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Choosing an RF Module? What modules work? What is compatible with the 9x?
Post Reply
User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Post by Redbrickman » Wed Dec 05, 2012 1:39 pm

OK I will probably end uo in the corner with a hat labelled with a big D on it but here goes...

I have the FRSKY DJT and DBRII receiver and understand the concept for telemetry but don't see anything that describes how the data gets back from the receiver?

Is there a low power Tx inside the receiver to send back the data?

Told you it was a dumb Q :D
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!


User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Post by ShowMaster » Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:37 pm

Yes, same power both ways, same chip I believe. Just guessing, but it is 2 way TX and RX.
SM


ShowMaster
Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Post by gohsthb » Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:42 pm

They are transceiver chips, so both transmitter and receiver at the same time. What they actually do is divide up the time between transmitting and receiving. So one transmits and then listens for a short while while the other transmits. But we really don't need to know how that works, just that it does.
-Gohst

User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Post by Redbrickman » Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:30 pm

Thanks for the replies. I guessing maybe the receiver power output would be less as you don't need so much power on a non critical downlink. The DBRII receiver draws just 100 ma for instance.

As Gohst say we don't need to known but curious minds often need stimulation :)
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10805
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Post by Kilrah » Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:49 pm

The TX module doesn't draw more power ;)

Both the module and receiver have just the same components apart from the inputs/outputs.


User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Post by Redbrickman » Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:28 am

Actually the Tx module draws 50ma and the receiver 100 ma!
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: United States
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Post by Scott Page » Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:38 am

Ok -- while were at it.. could I use a receiver antenna on a transmitter module?

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Post by ShowMaster » Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:15 am

Redbrickman wrote:Actually the Tx module draws 50ma and the receiver 100 ma!
Correct, but the 4ch only draws 60ma and the 8ch draws 100 ma so is it the rf IC drawing different currents or the decoding ic's?
SM


ShowMaster
Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Post by ShowMaster » Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:21 am

Scott Page wrote:Ok -- while were at it.. could I use a receiver antenna on a transmitter module?
Yes, but...
I've not taken a Frsky 2dbm TX antenna apart to see if a counterpoise or decoupling sleeve has been added to the coax to add some gain. Being that it's labeled as a gain antenna it's got to be more gain then the RX antenna I think.
So yes the RX antenna will work but should be less gain.



ShowMaster
Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10805
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Post by Kilrah » Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:45 am

ShowMaster wrote:
Redbrickman wrote:Actually the Tx module draws 50ma and the receiver 100 ma!
Correct, but the 4ch only draws 60ma and the 8ch draws 100 ma
Did you measure them for real or just used the specs?

There will be a difference for sure because the RXs use a linear voltage regulator, while the TX modules use a switching one. So the current consumption of the TX module will vary (the higher the supply voltage the lower the current) while the RX's current consumption will be constant whatever the voltage.

User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Post by Redbrickman » Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:38 am

I just looked at the specs as I have no means of measuring.
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Dumb question abt FRSKY telemetry

Post by ShowMaster » Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:30 am

Just used the posted specs but I'll measure them next "lab time"
SM


ShowMaster
Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk


Post Reply

Return to “RF MODULES”