WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Have something to say about 9xForums? Whether it be good or bad, about our products, site or service, tell us about it here.
Post Reply
s_mack
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by s_mack » Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:31 pm

Page jumping while in the middle of typing?

Its happened to me twice now. Both times while I was in the middle of typing a long post, suddenly the page jumps like i hit the back button a few times or clicked a random link. I can't even really describe what happened. Just suddenly I'm on a page I wasn't on!!

Extremely irritating. The first time I bothered to re-type it assuming I accidentally hit something on my keyboard. It just happened to me 30 seconds ago while I was responding to your advertising question.

It *may* be because you were working on the database at that moment? I'm not sure.

- Steven


User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Rob Thomson » Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:42 pm

Any chance it was caused by me sending you a message on the chat? Might have grabbed focus?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

s_mack
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by s_mack » Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:59 pm

I suppose... I never saw a chat. But if that's the case, then it not only grabbed focus, but also took me somewhere I was at rather than where I was at the moment!

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Rob Thomson » Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:09 pm

s_mack wrote:I suppose... I never saw a chat. But if that's the case, then it not only grabbed focus, but also took me somewhere I was at rather than where I was at the moment!
On the footer of the forum page is a chat bar.

Not sure why it did not work for you.

Rob


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
wheelspinner20
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Michigan, U.S.

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by wheelspinner20 » Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:30 am

That has happened to me, but I thought it was something wierd on the laptop that I hit accidently.
no more quippy little latin phrases.! Its old


User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Dec 30, 2011 7:36 am

What browser are you both using!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by GrootWitbaas » Fri Dec 30, 2011 12:30 pm

wheelspinner20 wrote:That has happened to me, but I thought it was something wierd on the laptop that I hit accidently.
Probably because I wanted to chat with you :)
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev

User avatar
wheelspinner20
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Michigan, U.S.

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by wheelspinner20 » Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:30 pm

Oh ok, was not aware. That sounds like fun.

I will add you to my friends list. I believe that is what is required first so that invites to chat rooms can happen.
no more quippy little latin phrases.! Its old

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19404
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by jhsa » Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:32 pm

wheelspinner20 wrote:Oh ok, was not aware. That sounds like fun.

I will add you to my friends list. I believe that is what is required first so that invites to chat rooms can happen.
How can we do that??

Thanks
João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
wheelspinner20
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Michigan, U.S.

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by wheelspinner20 » Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:22 pm

How can we do that??
Sorry J. you are not allowed. HA lol
Near the top, 3 lines down click on user control panel. Then select "friends and foes" tab. Then carefully enter the username in the add box, then click submit.

Then when a chatroom is created, you can then select from that friends list to invite them to a conversation. This last part I have not done successfully yet because my 2 friends are not online! :cry:
no more quippy little latin phrases.! Its old

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:28 pm

wheelspinner20 wrote:
How can we do that??
Sorry J. you are not allowed. HA lol
Near the top, 3 lines down click on user control panel. Then select "friends and foes" tab. Then carefully enter the username in the add box, then click submit.

Then when a chatroom is created, you can then select from that friends list to invite them to a conversation. This last part I have not done successfully yet because my 2 friends are not online! :cry:

You can also initiate single chats and play games :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19404
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by jhsa » Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:36 pm

wheelspinner20 wrote:
How can we do that??
Sorry J. you are not allowed. HA lol
Near the top, 3 lines down click on user control panel. Then select "friends and foes" tab. Then carefully enter the username in the add box, then click submit.

Then when a chatroom is created, you can then select from that friends list to invite them to a conversation. This last part I have not done successfully yet because my 2 friends are not online! :cry:
Ok, done. added you to the foe list.. :mrgreen:

Joking. added you as a friend.. Now how to find out how to do the rest.. Thanks for your help
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: United States
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Scott Page » Fri Dec 30, 2011 5:11 pm

I thought that occurrence was just me. It happened at least twice using Chrome in WIN7.

s_mack
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by s_mack » Fri Dec 30, 2011 5:18 pm

I'm thinking that chat function - while cool - is far too problematic to bother with if its kicking people off the page they're on. I mean SERIOUSLY annoying when you've spent half an hour typing and suddenly you lose it forever.

Its happened to me on both Chrome and IE. I hate FF so please don't consider that a "solution".

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Dec 30, 2011 6:12 pm

s_mack wrote:I'm thinking that chat function - while cool - is far too problematic to bother with if its kicking people off the page they're on. I mean SERIOUSLY annoying when you've spent half an hour typing and suddenly you lose it forever.

Its happened to me on both Chrome and IE. I hate FF so please don't consider that a "solution".

I can disable for a while - to check if it is the source. At the moment we are assuming it is - but that is only a guess.

I use chrome - and have never had an issue so not 100% sure it is the source.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Dec 30, 2011 7:38 pm

Steve, Can you confirm. Do you even see the chat bar at the page footer?

If you can.. Can you mark yourself as 'offline'.

Just want to do some basic debugging before we take a knee jerk reaction to the problem :)

Rob


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

s_mack
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by s_mack » Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:37 pm

Yes, I can see it. Probably always could - just didn't notice it or know to look for it. I've now set myself as offline.

User avatar
Crucial
Posts: 581
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:56 pm
Country: -
Location: SE WI, USA

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Crucial » Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:40 pm

wheelspinner20 wrote:
How can we do that??
Sorry J. you are not allowed. HA lol
Near the top, 3 lines down click on user control panel. Then select "friends and foes" tab. Then carefully enter the username in the add box, then click submit.

Then when a chatroom is created, you can then select from that friends list to invite them to a conversation. This last part I have not done successfully yet because my 2 friends are not online! :cry:
You can also click that persons name on the left side of one of their posts and then click friend or foe towards the top center.

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:44 pm

I have made some adjustments to the chat system - essentially making it more 'light weight'.

Lets keep monitoring it :D
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

fireball
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:49 am
Country: -

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by fireball » Sat Dec 31, 2011 12:04 am

That complete chat system is as expensive as useless, sorry. I really regret that I can't say anything positve on that - your money has been wasted.

s_mack
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by s_mack » Sat Dec 31, 2011 12:29 am

Now I don't see it at all.

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Rob Thomson » Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:13 am

s_mack wrote:Now I don't see it at all.
The bar is now MUCH SMALLER.

It is located at the bottom right of the screen - and only allows you to do PM messaging.

Rob
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

s_mack
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by s_mack » Sat Dec 31, 2011 5:46 pm

Nothing bottom right at all

User avatar
wheelspinner20
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Michigan, U.S.

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by wheelspinner20 » Sat Dec 31, 2011 5:49 pm

If you guys are still talking about the chat function, its wierd because mine never changed. It's still bottom left and still works I think. Not that I mind, probly wont have time to use it anyway.
no more quippy little latin phrases.! Its old

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Rob Thomson » Sat Dec 31, 2011 8:25 pm

s_mack wrote:Nothing bottom right at all
Strange. Are you on a pc/mac?

I have enabled an option to disable it on buggy browsers - so may be something to do with that.

I can see it fine on ie, firefox and chrome!

Rob


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by GrootWitbaas » Sun Jan 01, 2012 12:06 am

I can say on Mac it works fine in Chrome and shows the full with of the window, works in Safari and Firefox, but there only shows on the right hand side.
Hope this information helps
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev

User avatar
wheelspinner20
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Michigan, U.S.

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by wheelspinner20 » Sun Jan 01, 2012 7:10 pm

Ok chat update from me. Win 7 now chat is gone from lower left and I just have a "who's online tab lower right. which opens the chat option.
no more quippy little latin phrases.! Its old

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Rob Thomson » Sun Jan 01, 2012 8:11 pm

wheelspinner20 wrote:Ok chat update from me. Win 7 now chat is gone from lower left and I just have a "who's online tab lower right. which opens the chat option.
sounds like your browser was caching the old code :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by GrootWitbaas » Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:02 pm

so can i ask for a feature on the chat ....is it possible to add a pop-out for a single chat ? I know this can be done for the chatroom .....

Groot
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

WTF kind of bug is that!? Anyone else having this issue?

Post by Rob Thomson » Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:20 pm

Unfortunately not.

The chat system is commercial software so I can't modify the code :(


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!


Post Reply

Return to “Feedback”