Another two modules thread. 2.0

Where to find parts? Refactoring your entire transmitter, new cases? Sticks etc..
User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1891
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by bob195558 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:35 pm

MultiModule 4 in 1.jpg
MultiModule 4 in 1 pin-layout.
MultiModule 4 in 1.jpg (47.38 KiB) Viewed 1343 times
Pin 1: PPM/protocol in
Pin 2: No connect
Pin 3: Power
Pin 4: Ground
Pin 5: Telemetry data out

DJT module telemetry normally uses Pin 2 (in) and pin 5 (out) ?
Can the MultiModule be used as a DJT module (PPM protocol with TSSI) telemetry using both telemetry wires ? :?:

Bob B.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme, Er9x on 9x with Smartieparts Programmer with TelemetrEZ Board
3D Printing: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85)

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1891
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by bob195558 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:42 pm

Rad wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:23 pm
big problem that I have now:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=10530&p=132123#p132123
See here for setting Gimbals stick directions: (viewtopic.php?f=95&t=9977&start=30#p128295).
Wiring with the M9 and Taranis Gimbals are the same.

Bob B.
Last edited by bob195558 on Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme, Er9x on 9x with Smartieparts Programmer with TelemetrEZ Board
3D Printing: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85)

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15716
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MikeB » Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:45 pm

bob195558 wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:35 pm
Can the MultiModule be used as a DJT module (PPM protocol with TSSI) telemetry using both telemetry wires ?
Provided you flash the Multi module with the config set so one of the protocols selected by the rotary switch is FrSky 'D', then yes, the multi module should behave like a DJT module with the telemetry being sent at 9600 baud. However, the Multi module doesn't use the the second pin from the top, so the telemetry signal from the radio will not be seen by the module. However, this is not a problem as the only reason for that signal on a DJT is to be able to set telemetry alarms in the module, and the Multi module doesn't have any alarms to set.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:57 pm

bob195558 wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:42 pm
Rad wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:23 pm
big problem that I have now:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=10530&p=132123#p132123
See here for setting Gimbals stick directions: (viewtopic.php?f=95&t=9977&start=30#p128295).
Wiring with the M9 and Taranis Gimbals are the same.

Bob B.
My problem seems to be more hardware than software, specially when one of the gimballs works perfectly. Please in order to not to derrail this thread, answer me in the gimbals thread.

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1891
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0 (Multimodule Telemetry Wire connection as a DJT)

Post by bob195558 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:20 pm

Thank you Mike for explaining, of the Pin 2 Telemetry Wire which is only used for setting the Telemetry Alarms in the FrSky D-series modules.
I did not know this as I was guessing it was maybe for the TSSI signal.
MikeB wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:45 pm
bob195558 wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:35 pm
Can the MultiModule be used as a DJT module (PPM protocol with TSSI) telemetry using both telemetry wires ?
Provided you flash the Multi module with the config set so one of the protocols selected by the rotary switch is FrSky 'D', then yes,
the multi module should behave like a DJT module with the telemetry being sent at 9600 baud.
However, the Multi module doesn't use the the second pin from the top, so the telemetry signal from the radio will not be seen by the module. However, this is not a problem as the only reason for that signal on a DJT is to be able to set telemetry alarms in the module,
and the Multi module doesn't have any alarms to set.
Mike.
Bob B.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme, Er9x on 9x with Smartieparts Programmer with TelemetrEZ Board
3D Printing: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85)


Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:06 pm

Hi guys, some necroposting here. Finally I have my radio fully working and with all the mods done, the only thing left is I am still fighting with the multiprotocol module.

So, 9xtreme, with ersky9xProvR221g2 flashed
Multiprotocol module flashed following Mr Joao video tutorials.
Im triying to bind the stock flysky receivers, but I am not going too far...

In protocol I selected Internal, Multi, it is enabled, Protocol flysky, type flysky, RX num 0, autobind N, Option 0.

Then I do click in bind, but it does not bind. (of course I put the plug in the receiver)

Any clue?

Also, is there a place where I can download the latest software for the multiprotocol module?

Thanks!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18013
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by jhsa » Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:46 pm

I have just bound an old flysky receiver to my 9xtreme radio with multi module installed internally.. No problems binding at all.
I remember some old Flysky receivers had the labels for Bind and Batt swapped.

Here is the link to the Multiprotocol Github page.

https://github.com/pascallanger/DIY-Mul ... -TX-Module

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:35 am

Uops, I wrote another post but vanished...

Anyway, I found the mistake, I had one wire conected wrong. Now everything works perfectly. Thank you very much.


This is how I fitted the module in the radio.
IMG_20180111_083153.jpg

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18013
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:25 am

Hmm, I would not place the antenna the way you did.
The active part of the antenna is surrounded by metal stuff like the switches, the gimbals, etc.
It will greatly reduce the range in my opinion. Specially in such high frequencies, antenna placement is very important.

João

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1891
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by bob195558 » Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:25 am

Hi Rad,
You can mount your internal antenna on top where the old Flysky antenna was.

Bob B.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme, Er9x on 9x with Smartieparts Programmer with TelemetrEZ Board
3D Printing: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85)

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:42 pm

Damn, I thought it was Ok like that. I use the radio for tanks, so all the stuff will be maximum 20 meters away from me... Is there any way of locating the antenna inside? The way Bob sugests is the most logic way, but due to my sons use my RC stuff, I preffer to have the antenna inside. It is more safe...

I mean, this is not the first antenna they break...

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:50 pm

IMG_20180111_195228.jpg
what do you think about this?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18013
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:06 pm

Much better..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:16 pm

jhsa wrote:
Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:06 pm
Much better..

João
Thanks mate. Then I will leave it like that. :)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18013
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:55 pm

Testing is the best.. But I think it will be ok for ground models

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:02 pm

jhsa wrote:
Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:55 pm
Testing is the best.. But I think it will be ok for ground models

João
After having everything working, I had to screw something again, lol.

I updated the bootloader (from 1.7 to 2.6)
And I tried to update the multiprotocol module with the radio.

I went to your link to download the latest version (1.2.0), but it seems there is no bootloader version.
https://github.com/pascallanger/DIY-Mul ... e/releases

So then I checked in the older version section (1.1.6) and I downloaded and flashed this:
Multiprotocol_V1.1.6_STM32.bin

But now the module does not work... So I guess I had to flash other thing.

Is there any place where I can download the file that I have to flash in the module? Or a tutorial for learning how to do it and stop annoying you?

Thanks!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18013
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by jhsa » Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:40 pm

You don't annoy me at all.
when you say the module does not work, what does it do?
Check the link.

https://github.com/pascallanger/DIY-Mul ... -TX-Module

Scroll down, there is all the documentation.
Don't flash pre compiled files. :( They might not be the right ones for your radio / module.
You probably wiped out the bootloader, or flashed a file that has no "CHECK FOR BOOTLOADER" option enabled. I think this is disabled by default on the config file.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:47 am

jhsa wrote:
Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:40 pm
You don't annoy me at all.
when you say the module does not work, what does it do?
Check the link.

https://github.com/pascallanger/DIY-Mul ... -TX-Module

Scroll down, there is all the documentation.
Don't flash pre compiled files. :( They might not be the right ones for your radio / module.
You probably wiped out the bootloader, or flashed a file that has no "CHECK FOR BOOTLOADER" option enabled. I think this is disabled by default on the config file.

João
I just cant bind it anymore. Previously, when it worked, next to the word bind, something like (1.1.0.6) appeared but now is gone.

Definitelly I think I flashed the wrong file... I am at the work now so I wont be able to double check it until I am back at home, but I think I still can flash with the radio.

Anyway I think I will open the radio and I will follow your video tutorials again to flash everything again in the module with the FDTI.

I also took another look to the link you gave me, and even when I find files to download, I still cannot find the .hex or .bin for flashing it with the radio. Maybe is not there and I have to create it?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18013
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by jhsa » Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:41 am

It is always the best to compile it yourself. Then you make sure you have set all the options correctly.
If you have the 9xttreme board and the module is connected on the module bay (external), then you need to compile the module's firmware with "TELEMETRY INVERTED".
This could explain why the version number doesn't appear, and you can't bind.

You can also try to go to the "Model Setup / Telemetry menu, and enable "Invert COM 1".

If this doesn't work we will try to help compiling a new file when you come back.

João


Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk


My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Fri Jan 12, 2018 11:55 am

jhsa wrote:
Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:41 am
It is always the best to compile it yourself. Then you make sure you have set all the options correctly.
If you have the 9xttreme board and the module is connected on the module bay (external), then you need to compile the module's firmware with "TELEMETRY INVERTED".
This could explain why the version number doesn't appear, and you can't bind.

You can also try to go to the "Model Setup / Telemetry menu, and enable "Invert COM 1".

If this doesn't work we will try to help compiling a new file when you come back.

João


Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk
I have no idea of how to compile it. Well, I did it some months ago following your videotutorial (the one where you were with one feet on the gravestone, lol) but I forgot almost everything, but I think is just a matter of following your steps again.

The module is internal, and according to a tutorial, I have selected COM 2.

Definitelly it seems I flashed the wrong firmware. From the downloads web I think I flashed one of them, dont remember wich one now, but probarblz the wrong one:
Multiprotocol_V1.1.6_STM32.bin

Multiprotocol_V1.1.6_STM32_INV.bin


Once I arrive home in some hours Ill try to flash the INV one, and if I cannot do it, then Ill reflash the module from the beginning following your video.

But anyway, it is an old version (1.1.6) I think it would be better to put the (1.2) but how do I do it with the 9xtreme?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18013
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by jhsa » Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:45 pm

No, on COM 2 you want NOT INVERTED. make sure the "telemetry com port" in "Model Setup / Telemetry" is set to COM2.
Wait, I will compile it for you.. and attach to this post shortly. I downloaded a version a couple days ago.
See if you can flash it using the radio.

João

EDIT: Here it is the file. version 1.2.0.11. You will have to unzip it of course..
Attachments
Multiprotocol_STM32_1.2.0.11.zip
(49.48 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:40 pm

jhsa wrote:
Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:45 pm
No, on COM 2 you want NOT INVERTED. make sure the "telemetry com port" in "Model Setup / Telemetry" is set to COM2.
Wait, I will compile it for you.. and attach to this post shortly. I downloaded a version a couple days ago.
See if you can flash it using the radio.

João

EDIT: Here it is the file. version 1.2.0.11. You will have to unzip it of course..
Hi Joao, It seems I cant flash it. It says "Failed" So i am going to follow your videotutorials and I will flash this new file you created for me (BIG THANKS)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18013
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by jhsa » Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:18 pm

you might want to flash the bootloader first
This file was compiled with "CHECK FOR BOOTLOADER" enabled. So it will check for it. Don't know if it makes a difference.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:05 pm

EDIT: im working on it

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:28 pm

Well, now Im frustrated... After failing flashing your compilation, I followed step by step your video tutorials but with no success. I have been able to flash the bootloader (I keep the old files when I flashed it), but when trying to flash your compilation, the radio says it FAILED

I did another compilation myself and same fate.

Any idea?

I attach a photo after flashing the bootloader. It is a screenshot of my computer, it shows my flash demonstrator and a screenshot from your video tutorial.
t1.png

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18013
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by jhsa » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:47 pm

Ok, what version of Ersky9x?
What COM port are you selecting when trying to flash the module from the radio?
You should select COM2.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:48 pm

jhsa wrote:
Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:47 pm
Ok, what version of Ersky9x?
What COM port are you selecting when trying to flash the module from the radio?
You should select COM2.

João
ersky9xProvR221g2
I selected both ports with exact results.

I also tried with your compilation, with the new one that I did now, and with the old one I had from september...

Rad
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:56 pm

Surprisingly after something like 40 atempts I managed to flash the module!!! I did the same again and again and again, but for some unknown reason it worked now.

I flashed it with your compilation, Joao. Now in the BIND area it says 1.2.0.11

As always thanks your your priceless help! Now I know how to update the internal module for future updates.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18013
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by jhsa » Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:33 pm

Nice, that it is working.. ;)

Perhaps Mike has an idea why it took it about 40 attempts for the flashing to work. :)

I think you should learn how to configure the arduino IDE and compile the code yourself. Then you will know that it is always the way you want.
I don't mind compiling for you, but there is always place for more knowledge :D It is never too much ;) :)
The information is on the documentation I have linked before

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MaartenH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:35 am
Country: Netherlands

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MaartenH » Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:46 pm

Rad wrote:
Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:56 pm
Surprisingly after something like 40 atempts I managed to flash the module!!! I did the same again and again and again, but for some unknown reason it worked now.
I have the same issue as Rad but after 40 times still no luck... :(

What I have done (I followed the youtube video from João to the letter...lol):
- I flashed my 9Xtreme bootloader and firmware with the latest 'ersky9xProvR221g2.zip' version
- Flashed 4in1 module with software from Midelic (https://github.com/midelic/DIY-Multiprotocol-TX-Module), just as in the youtube video from João
- I installed Arduino 1.8.5 (ZIP version) on my D-drive and opened 'Multiprotocol.ino'. Checked that the bootloader part is on. In de 'Board' selection I didn't have the STM32 boards. I googled and found a link to add the boards: https://onetransistor.blogspot.nl/2017/ ... o-ide.html. After this I had the right STM32 board: Board:"Generic STM32F103C series, STM32F103CB (20k RAM. 128k Flash), STM32duino bootloader. But when I compile the code I keep getting this eror:

collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status
exit status 1

(I also have the full error log but that's like 60 pages long...!!)

- So I took the 'Multiprotocol_STM32_1.2.0.11.zip' (just as Rad did) and tried to flash the module from the radio. But it keeps giving me 'FAILED'... :?

Am I doing something wrong? I really want to make it work!
All help is welcome.
Turnigy 9X - 9Xtreme board - M9 Gimbals - 4in1 Module

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Mods”