FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

All mods related to the frsky telemetry series of the firmware
User avatar
Spoogy
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:27 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Spoogy » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:21 pm

Kilrah wrote:That connection with the cut trace is the one going FROM the radio TO the module, and is used to set the alarm levels on the frsky module itself. The telemetry data FROM the module TO the radio travels through the other connection.

Okay, and how I could test that this FROM radio TO module connection is working in my setup? As I said I'm using that 470R resistor but I don't know so much about frsky or anything about telemetry that I could know how to test that? :roll:

But one thing. Kilrah you mentioned that this 47R is just for additional protection. So, I understand that it could be also left out. Am I correct? And if I am why it is for? Or what it is 'protecting' for?
Last edited by Spoogy on Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
What goes up, must come down. -Isaac Newton
OpenTX - expanding possibilities

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9671
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Kilrah » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:23 pm

Which firmware and options are you using?

User avatar
Spoogy
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:27 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Spoogy » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:24 pm

I'm using latest Open9x with frsky and templates.
What goes up, must come down. -Isaac Newton
OpenTX - expanding possibilities

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9671
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Kilrah » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:42 pm

OK. So you can jsut go on the telemetry pages, and set alarms either on A1, A2 or RSSI. If the alarms work as intended, then it's all good. The beeps will come from the frsky module's buzzer.

User avatar
Spoogy
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:27 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Spoogy » Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:11 pm

Yep! Tested with D4R-II receiver. In A1 I have steady 5.12V from RX (displayed in telemetry screen). And when I set A1 alarm to yel the buzzer of the module begun to beep. And when I changed that to org or red the buzzer beeped more frequently. And when I set that alarm value above that 5.12V beeping stopped as it should.

So as an conclusion, the resistor can also be 470R.
What goes up, must come down. -Isaac Newton
OpenTX - expanding possibilities


User avatar
IceWind
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 1:45 am
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by IceWind » Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:07 pm

Well I'm still checking it.
So far I traced all the way to the pins on the 9x module slot and it's fine.
The er9x FW fetches the alarms thresholds right after we turn on the radio.

I'll keep checking it all up until the uC itself. :)

User avatar
IceWind
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 1:45 am
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by IceWind » Sat Oct 27, 2012 12:23 am

Ok, it's confirmed is the 470R resistor. :)
Ended up doing some code to test and connect bypassing the 1K resistor and it worked fine.

Image

After I removed the 470R resistor and used a lower one, 4.7R (didn't find a 47R at home) and the
radio could now read the alarm levels.

Question is, I don't have a 47R resistor at the moment, closest I have is 39R or 100R (I can put two in parallel and get 50R).
How precise must it be? Btw how did you calculated the 1K and 47R resistors to use?

This was fun. :)

User avatar
Spoogy
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:27 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Spoogy » Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:36 am

So you are saying that you CANNOT use 470R resistor with 1K resistor? If you read my previous post you can see that I have 470R and 1KR resistors and it's working perfectly!! :o
What goes up, must come down. -Isaac Newton
OpenTX - expanding possibilities

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9671
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Kilrah » Sat Oct 27, 2012 8:24 am

Well - I initially wanted to use 470 Ohms (like what the other telemetry mods used), and (apparently) picked the wrong ones in the pack and ended up with 47 Ohms. As this worked fine... I didn't bother much.
It would be wiser to use 470 Ohms to protect the radio and the module in case of short circuits, and then use 10k for the little smd resistor to keep the ratio. But I haven't tested it, so I kept the guide to what I know works :)

User avatar
IceWind
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 1:45 am
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by IceWind » Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:55 am

Well with mine that combination doesn't work.
It was tricky to solder the 0306 SMD 1K, but I may well do that to change it to a 10K.
But at least it's working now, even using the pins of the back of the DJT module.

pat
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:56 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by pat » Sun Nov 04, 2012 3:06 pm

Hi.

Is it possible to do this mod without the modifications of the FrSky module?

I think of a connector on the backside of the 9x to connect it to the RX/TX connector on the module. :?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9671
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Kilrah » Sun Nov 04, 2012 11:03 pm

No. The wires in the module are required for the "without RS232 level converter" part. You can use the back connector, but then the level converter is needed.

http://openrcforums.com/wiki/index.php/ ... _telemetry

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by kaos » Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:51 am

Pat:
as Kilrah stated you can do what you stated, see this: viewtopic.php?f=44&t=1888&start=30, but you have to use the RS232 level converter inside the tx. I have the ERSKY9X board in side so I just connect those two wires to the RS232 header, but for my stock board T9x I will add a rs232 level converter (the Frysky upgrade lite) as described in this : http://openrcforums.com/wiki/index.php/ ... _telemetry

User avatar
algo
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:11 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by algo » Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:04 pm

I tried with a 470 ohm and 10k on the tx line and although the radio could talk to the FrSky module, the computer could not via the external rs-232 lines.

I will try again with the 470 and 1k.

User avatar
JEANALTAYR
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:53 pm
Country: -
Location: Gd Toulouse FRANCE

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by JEANALTAYR » Sun Dec 16, 2012 1:49 am

Hello
I connected links mosi and miso from FrSky JR module without disconnecting circuit on the board and without a converter like the tutorial open 9 x and it works with two resistors of 1 k
jmi
Attachments
mod modul  JR.JPG

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by kaos » Sun Dec 16, 2012 6:07 am

If it really works. great! need a little more detailed description and pic. ;)

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9671
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Kilrah » Sun Dec 16, 2012 8:06 am

And does setting the module's alarms from the 9x work? That's what requires cutting a track.

User avatar
JEANALTAYR
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:53 pm
Country: -
Location: Gd Toulouse FRANCE

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by JEANALTAYR » Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:04 am

Kilrah wrote:And does setting the module's alarms from the 9x work? That's what requires cutting a track.
THANKS
Merci
I thought my programmmation OPEN9 wasn"t full
for alarms so no matter the trace is cut? MOSI or MISO only 1?

concerning pads I had scratched the varnish surface on the 6 and 7 from 12 and soldered 2 thin wire

jmi

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9671
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Kilrah » Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:25 am

It's the module's RX line. On this pic the cut is under the little 1k resistor at the end of the blue wire. So, the track is cut, anc the cut is bridged by an 1k resistor. That allows the radio to program the module, but also leaves firmware upgrade through the back pins possible. You might need to replace your 2 1k resistors with lower values though, I used 47 Ohm.

Just re-read my original post :)

Image

User avatar
GTiDon
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 6:15 am
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by GTiDon » Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:59 pm

Can damage occur if a modified module is plugged into another radio type?

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk 2
Er9X Flashed
Speaker Mod Done
Haptic Feedback Mod Done
Telemetry Mod Done with FRSky TTL Lite
Voice Mod Done with Emartee Board
HK Backlight Done
FRSky Telemetry DIY Module Installed
----All these mods removed and installed Sky 3.0 board with DJT Module.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9671
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Kilrah » Sun Jan 13, 2013 9:02 pm

If the radio is one that has the 6V supply on pin 2, yes. If it's an unmodded 9x (that pin is grounded) you should have no issue.

Sent via mobile

Helle
Posts: 572
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:08 am
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Helle » Wed Jan 16, 2013 5:18 pm

hy,

and what about this Manual for TH9X and TH9XR and a Frsky DJT-Modul

Attention at the th9x pin 5 at RF-Board must be isolated/separated from Ground/Minus

Helle
Attachments
Converting 9XR to FrSky Telemetry.pdf
(1.71 MiB) Downloaded 543 times

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4537
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Rob Thomson » Wed Jan 16, 2013 5:29 pm

Can you make a wiki of it?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

iam123
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by iam123 » Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:14 pm

Hi,
Great job Kilrah.
I have 9x with solderless board 2.3v, TelemetrEZ and FrSky DJT module.
I want to know if I can do the modification as Mike Blandford and instead of connecting the wires from the backboard to max232 I will connect them to TelemetrEZ tx rx directly??
By using Mike Blandford method can I flash 9x without taking off the module????

User avatar
GTiDon
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 6:15 am
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by GTiDon » Fri Feb 01, 2013 8:48 am

Does the RX pin on the module really need to be connected for telemetry to work?
Is it only used for programming the module?
Er9X Flashed
Speaker Mod Done
Haptic Feedback Mod Done
Telemetry Mod Done with FRSky TTL Lite
Voice Mod Done with Emartee Board
HK Backlight Done
FRSky Telemetry DIY Module Installed
----All these mods removed and installed Sky 3.0 board with DJT Module.

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4537
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:15 am

No... But if you don't connect it, you can't use the firmware to set the A1 A2 alarm values, and the RSSI levels per model.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by kaos » Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:10 pm

rob: you mean the alarm beep in the module right? in the tx you still can set the alarm in er9x/variant ?

User avatar
algo
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:11 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by algo » Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:47 pm

Yeah, that's what I do. I use the er9x alarms instead of the FrSky alarm and I have the RX line on the module disconnected.

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4537
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:17 pm

True... But if I am correct, er9x uses a serial command to the module to turn off the inbuilt beep!

Without that, you would get both the er9x sound, and the module sound!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
algo
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:11 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky telemetry mod without RS232 level converter

Post by algo » Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:34 pm

You can turn off the FrSky module beeps using the PC software and the module keeps those settings.

Post Reply

Return to “FRSky Telemetry Mods”