Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

How to use eePe
Shorty54
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Country: -

Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Shorty54 » Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:55 pm

Hi, I am new here and to the 9x.
I have a new Turnigy 9X (never used) with the ATM64. I installed the back light from HK and the Smartie Basic board.
I have downloaded the USB drivers from the Smartie site. I downloaded the er9x and eePe from the er9x site.
when I try and burn the er9x hex the radio beeps one long tone and I get the error message:

avrdude.exe:error:programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1

I have removed the basic board and replaced with another new one, I have 2 SP boards and 9x.
I cleaned the pads, a couple times and pins on the 9x board and SP board. I even applied light pressure
to the SP board making sure pins were getting good contact. I looked the 9X board over looking for a broken or missing
resistor or bad solder joint, from what I can see, it looks fine. Although I am no pro at where to exactly look.

I tired on both Windows 7 pro and Windows 10. I removed all software and drivers form the computer and reinstalled with the same results.

Apologies if this is posted in the wrong spot. Feel free to move to the proper location
Thanks for any help..
Shad


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18911
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by jhsa » Tue Apr 02, 2019 12:07 am

Please try -B100 in the extra arguments field in eepe
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Shorty54
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Shorty54 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 12:44 am

I tried -B100 and -B1000, same error code..

Thanks,
shad

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18911
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by jhsa » Tue Apr 02, 2019 10:54 am

Ok, some (earlier?) 9x boards have the SCK pad connected to the wrong pin.
Could you please take a good picture of your 9x mainboard and post it here?

João


My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Rad » Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:10 pm

Hi Joao, I am trying to help this gentleman too. He sent me photos of his radio. The radio is the newer hobbyking version, with the newer module and receiver. The processor was indeed the Atmega 64. I provided him all the ideas I had, but I hope you guys can guide him better.

Some months ago I flashed the newer version of the radio, and it went smooth. So I dont think it is a problem of earlier board...

There are many video tutorials of how to flash the radio with er9x, but most of the videos are with a self made usb plug, or other boards... I think it would be a good idea if Steve does a video of how to flash with the neweer programmer and uploads it to youtube. I helped a bunch of people from other forums to flash, and a video like that would come handy.


Shorty54
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Shorty54 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:11 pm

Is this what you were looking for?
I did notice a diode in the lower left of the picture.
Its "L100" Its the only one that looks like its soldered crooked???

Shad
T9x Board.jpg
T9x

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18911
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by jhsa » Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:20 pm

Hmm strange, as far as I know the newer radios come with the GREEN chip which is a fake m128?
This one does have an ATmega64A as far as I can see.
That black part is an inductor, not a diode, and it separates both analog and digital grounds.
Does the radio power normally and it works?
avrdude.exe:error:programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
This error means that the SP board is talking to the computer but not to the chip. Again, please check that all the SP programmer's pogo pins are completely out and working, and they are not bent.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Shorty54
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Shorty54 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:41 pm

The radios were sealed in a box. I opened them up, removed the battery tray, cheked the battery pos/neg wires on a new Life 3s 9.9v battery, and installed. I turned on the radio and it came on. I pressed the menus keys and moved the sticks around. It seemed to work. I then installed the HK back light kit and SP Basic board. Battery voltage on the screens says 10.5v at this time.

I have 2 SP Basic Board kits. I tried them both. I cleaned the 9x board contact areas several times with isop alcohol.
I also cleaned the pins on the SP board. The pins on the SP move freely in and out and are straight. I have installed both boards
several times and moved the board around on the 9x several times making sure it has good contact and pints are in the centers of the contacts on the 9x. I have even applied slight pressure to the board during flashing.

Thanks,
Shad

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18911
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by jhsa » Tue Apr 02, 2019 3:42 pm

Try disconnecting the backlight..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10182
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Kilrah » Tue Apr 02, 2019 3:49 pm

Are you supplying power to the radio? (battery in and switch on)

Supply from the programmer is typically not sufficient.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18911
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by jhsa » Tue Apr 02, 2019 4:07 pm

Kilrah is right, the new SP boards as far as I know don't supply power to the radio.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2109
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by bob195558 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:04 pm

Some more info if needed about older 9x boards, see here: (http://smartieparts.com/shop/index.php? ... =page&id=8).

Looks like you are OK, you have the newer generation board.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

Shorty54
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Shorty54 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:11 pm

Yes I have switch turned on.
I disconnected backlight, same error.

I took my other new radio out of the box and installed the same SP board from the one I am trying to flash and it flashed no problem.
So is the 9x board faulty? I was told Bangood has Atmega128 9x boards, should I order that on or replace with a Atmega64 like what is in it already.

I also looked the other board over in the 9x that flashed just fine and noticed the "L100" is soldered nicer.
Could the "L100" be soldered inproperly and not making a connection?
Crooked L100.jpg
Crooked L100
Straight L100.jpg
Straight L100

Thanks,
Shad

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18911
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by jhsa » Tue Apr 02, 2019 7:19 pm

Get your multimeter out and measure the resistance between the pad just above it, and the pad on the right side of it. It should measure a short (nearly zero ohms).

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18911
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by jhsa » Tue Apr 02, 2019 7:21 pm

And you didn't answer one of my questions, or perhaps I've missed it :) Does the radio work when you power it on without programmer?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Shorty54
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Shorty54 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 9:11 pm

jhsa wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 7:21 pm
And you didn't answer one of my questions, or perhaps I've missed it :) Does the radio work when you power it on without programmer?

João
Radio seems to work fine with and without SP Board installed (about 8 posts up in this thread)

I checked the ohms in the places you specified. Both my radios read .9ohms.
One radio is now programmed the other still has the error.

In changing Sp boards in and out so may times and moving them around, I managed to brake off one of the spring pins....

Thanks,
Shad

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2109
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by bob195558 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 11:32 pm

I think Steve at Smartieparts has some.
If I remember someone has found where they could be purchased too, but I can not remember what they are called.

João, could the problem be a bad chip, that manage to flash the first time only ?
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18911
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by jhsa » Wed Apr 03, 2019 12:56 am

I don't know what to say, the radio just doesn't answer. Some people managed to flash the radio by removing the big orange
capacitor just below the crystal..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Shorty54
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Shorty54 » Wed Apr 03, 2019 12:45 pm

I will tray a new main board. Hopefully that solves the issue.

Thanks,
Shad

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2109
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by bob195558 » Wed Apr 03, 2019 2:50 pm

Could try to re-solder some of the connections with this problem board too.
Not with 9x radios, but I have had success with fixing the toy China radios that had Bad (cold) solder connections.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18911
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by jhsa » Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:17 pm

You could check the pins on the Atmega chip.. Check if they are well soldered.. Or just touch them with the iron.. Make sure you haver a good iron and solder..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16556
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by MikeB » Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:01 pm

Two of the programming signals use the same pins as the THR and AIL switches. You could try moving these to the opposite position to where they are currently as in the "wrong" position they could cause a programming failure.

As João mentioned earlier, also try removing the yellow capacitor just below the crystal.

Please also confirm when you used -B100 and -B1000 you used an UPPERCASE B. You could try -B10000, it may be slow but may work!

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Shorty54
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Shorty54 » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:53 pm

MikeB wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:01 pm
Two of the programming signals use the same pins as the THR and AIL switches. You could try moving these to the opposite position to where they are currently as in the "wrong" position they could cause a programming failure.

As João mentioned earlier, also try removing the yellow capacitor just below the crystal.

Please also confirm when you used -B100 and -B1000 you used an UPPERCASE B. You could try -B10000, it may be slow but may work!

Mike
I dont quite follow "moving the thr ail position"?
Is this done just by toggling the switches?

Shad

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16556
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by MikeB » Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:06 pm

Yes, in one position they pull the signal to ground through a 200 ohm resistor.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Shorty54
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Shorty54 » Thu Apr 04, 2019 12:30 pm

MikeB wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:06 pm
Yes, in one position they pull the signal to ground through a 200 ohm resistor.

Mike
I tried all combinations of Ail and Thr switches, no luck.

Thanks,
Shad

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16556
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by MikeB » Thu Apr 04, 2019 1:55 pm

Please confirm you use an UPPERCASE B, and did you try -B10000.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Shorty54
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Shorty54 » Thu Apr 04, 2019 2:35 pm

MikeB wrote:
Thu Apr 04, 2019 1:55 pm
Please confirm you use an UPPERCASE B, and did you try -B10000.

Mike
-B100, -B1000, -B10000, same error..

Thanks,
Shad

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16556
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by MikeB » Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:21 pm

We have suggested removing the large, yellow capacitor that is just under the crystal. This is on the reset line and can cause the reset signal to be slow activating from the programmer. If it takes too long to apply reset, the processor doesn't see the command to enter programming mode.
Try either removing the capacitor, or you could just add a wire from the left side of the capacitor to ground so reset is always active while programming.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Shorty54
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Shorty54 » Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:35 pm

MikeB wrote:
Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:21 pm
We have suggested removing the large, yellow capacitor that is just under the crystal. This is on the reset line and can cause the reset signal to be slow activating from the programmer. If it takes too long to apply reset, the processor doesn't see the command to enter programming mode.
Try either removing the capacitor, or you could just add a wire from the left side of the capacitor to ground so reset is always active while programming.

Mike
Thanks Mike, I will try that.

Shad

Shorty54
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Trouble flashing er9x with eePe

Post by Shorty54 » Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:58 pm

No luck after removing the yellow capacitor, same error..

Thanks,
Shad


Post Reply

Return to “eePe”