Binding Turnigy 9X-9Xtreme to FrSky D4R-II

Rochester

Post by Rochester »

I'm an old man playing a young man's game here - but would appreciate any guidance you might provide. Can provide a photo of my dog-eared manuals and browser history if proof of due-diligence is needed.

Note: I've brought the motors up to speed using Cleanflight - but have never installed the propellers. Just so you know where I am with the build.

Hopefully this is summarized enough - but provides the key info. This is my first build - I bought the FrSky D4R-II along with the FrSky DIY DHT 2.4 module (with all the wires - not the module that you pop in the back) and a Turnigy 9X.

At no point did I knowingly attempt to bind any of it.

I put the FrSky DIY DHT 2.4 into the Turnigy 9X. I surface mounted the little red light/binding button and also mounted the 3 way switch which I have planned on leaving in the center position.

I thought I could wire the mod that would allow me to update the firmware on the 9X but gave up trying to solder the wires to the surface mounted chip/pins. On the bright side - I now have a bunch of resisters that I have no use for.

I bought and installed the SmartieParts 9XTREME. The biggest question there was where to plug the two wires that lead to the FrSky DIY DHT "package". I believe I connected them to the proper Rx and Tx on the side of the package. Mr. Steven Morehouse could do the world a humongous favor by having another installation walkthrough with a Turnigy 9X that has the FrSky DIY DHT already installed.

I flashed what I believe to be the latest version of ERSKY9X. No issues - powers up. Don't get errors.

There was one thing - super dumb - that is very, very easy to fix - in that I put a clover antenna on the 9X rather than my video Rx.