Page 2 of 2

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 12:10 pm
by MikeB
Ok, assume you have a model called "MODEL05".
On the SD card, create a sub-directory from the root called "TEXT".
In this "TEXT" directory put the notes for the model in a file called "MODEL05.txt".

Each line in the text file must be no longer than 21 characters. You may have up to 16 lines of text, of which 8 are displayed at a time.

Mike.

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:10 pm
by lancaster
Hi Mike
Haven't cracked it yet :-

I connected the TX to the PC and opened the SD card (E:)

I have folders called FIRMWARE, LOGS, MODELS and VOICE

I created a new folder called TEXT and inserted a .txt file (NOTEPAD) with a model name to match an existing model and added some short text lines

Unfortunately when I select this model and chose Notes, the message is No Notes Found

Where did I go wrong?

regards
Hans

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:35 pm
by jhsa
The text file must have the exact same name as the model..

If the model name is for example "Spitfire" the note file name should be "Spitfire.txt" All without quotes of course.

João

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 2:03 pm
by lancaster
Hi Joao

Yes - I have exactly matched the text file name to the model name

I have also tried with the TEXT folder as a subfolder in the MODELS folder with no sucess

I created the text file from the dialogue box in Windows 10, I think this is using Notepad - is this the correct way?

regards
Hans

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 2:09 pm
by MikeB
I just checked this all works on the 9Xtreme. I created a new model "MODEL06", and put a text file "MODEL06.txt" in the TEXT directory off the root.
I don't know about Win10.

Mike.

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 2:42 pm
by lancaster
Mike
Curious

How did you create the text file?

Hans

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:02 pm
by MikeB
WIn7 Notepad:
MODEL06.txt
(25 Bytes) Downloaded 157 times
Mike.

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
by lancaster
Thanks Mike

Thats the same as mine

I'll keep trying

regards
Hans

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:16 pm
by jhsa
Mine also works, unlike my bootloader connection to the PC that fail many times :(

João

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:52 pm
by s_mack
Just a thought... but is it possible that you have file extensions hidden? When you normally look at text files in Windows Explorer, do you see "textfile.txt" or simply "textfile"? If extensions are hidden, and you force it to say "MODEL06.txt" then really the file is "MODEL06.txt.txt".

See this page: http://kb.winzip.com/kb/entry/26/

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 4:21 pm
by Daedalus66
Model Notes is working for me with Win10 using NotePad (found under Windows Accessories).

I've tried it with both 9Xtreme (pr219) and 9XR Pro (R218).

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 8:43 pm
by lancaster
s_mack wrote:Just a thought... but is it possible that you have file extensions hidden? When you normally look at text files in Windows Explorer, do you see "textfile.txt" or simply "textfile"? If extensions are hidden, and you force it to say "MODEL06.txt" then really the file is "MODEL06.txt.txt".

See this page: http://kb.winzip.com/kb/entry/26/
Hi Guys
Thanks for the help and suggestions

Good thinking Steven - you are spot on with the solution

I was quite surprised when I deleted the .txt from the notepad file - hey presto it works !!

As you say, it must have a hidden .txt extension

Thats another step forward in the 9Xtreme adventure

By the way, I have now assigned my throttle safe switch onto one of the rotary pots - that way it can't be accidentally knocked off or on and as a bonus it frees up a switch which is probably more useful/needed than a pot

happy flying
regards
Hans

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:30 pm
by s_mack
Ha! Good. That was a 1 in a thousand shot but figured I'd mention it, just in case. Honestly I'm not even sure what made me think of it. One of the first things I do with a new computer is turn off the hiding common file extensions "feature" as it threw me off more than once when that was introduced with Win XP about 15 years ago (wow... can you believe its been 15 years since XP?). I also turn off the default that hides hidden and system files because there will be some time you're following some guide and looking for a file that the guide swears should be there and you swear it isn't. Annoying :)

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2016 12:06 am
by lancaster
Hi Steven

Yes it was a simple fix but it would have been the last thing I looked at - I was focusing too deep - thinking of complications like firmware issues

It just needs someone with an open mind and intuition to step in

thanks again - its a good feeling to fix problems

regards
Hans

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 10:49 am
by lancaster
Hi guys

I have a quick question

I want to use a MOM switch as a convenient quick RSSI strength output check

If I use the TRN switch, I would like to move it across to the left side of the TX where the THR switch is currently located

I notice that in Eepsky the TRN switch is preset to MOM

Can I just swap the switches so that the MOM switch is in the THR position or are there some conditions in the firmware that fix the MOM switch to this location on the right side of the TX ?

regards
Hans

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 12:15 pm
by jhsa
I did swap my THR and TRN switches on all my radios, and just moved the signal wire across to the other side. This way the switches will keep the same name. The ground wire can be the same from the other switch..

João

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 1:41 pm
by lancaster
Joao

Thanks for the quick reply

You also thought the TRN switch is more useful on the left!

It did occur to me that extending the signal wires might be the simplest way to keep the set up as original - I will do it this way to avoid any conflicts with Eepsky

regards
Hans

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:42 pm
by jhsa
lancaster wrote:
You also thought the TRN switch is more useful on the left!
I believe it is the best for mode 2 flyers as the TRN switch is then on the throttle hand side. If teaching someone to fly, we can keep the right hand on the right stick for a quick recovery :)
Also, normally we only use the throttle cut switch when the model is on the ground, so it can be moved to the right side.
This is of course the way I see it.. Others might, and for sure will, think differently.. :mrgreen:
It did occur to me that extending the signal wires might be the simplest way to keep the set up as original - I will do it this way to avoid any conflicts with Eepsky
I believe it is the best :)

João

Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 4:42 pm
by Daedalus66
Having the trainer switch or button on the left on a mode 2 transmitter is how JR and later Spektrum have always done it (I checked in the manual of my 20-year-old JR XP783). The throttle hold switch in helicopter mode was on the right side.

There's no doubt this is the right way to do it for mode 2 as it leaves the right hand available for immediate action when an urgent intervention is needed.

For mode 1, its traditional to have the trainer switch on the right. You could argue that this leaves the left hand free to pull up elevator, but the case is a bit less convincing.

I usually fly mode 1 for my own enjoyment (goes back to flying a reed transmitter in the 1960s), but for instructing I much prefer the master transmitter to be on mode 2. Of course the student transmitter can be on any mode. One club I belong to is 95% mode 2, while the other is 50/50 mode 1/2.

On my own mode 2 transmitters I have the trainer switch on the left. I swapped the switches and ran the signal wire across.

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 7:05 pm
by jhsa
In my club there are quite a few flying mode 4..

João

Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 7:13 pm
by Daedalus66
Yes, we have a few flying IMAC aerobatics who like mode 4. It's a mirror image of mode 1 and has the same benefit of putting the two primary controls on separate sticks.

Being right handed, the mode I would like least would be 3, which puts elevator and aileron on the left stick.

I will soon have a single stick Tx going! It has rudder on a big knob on the end of the stick. It's an Ace MicroPro from 1991.

Better stop this off-topic rambling.

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 2:23 am
by EvanVH
bob195558 wrote:Hi João,
Thank you, this helps a lot.
I made this photo showing the wiring connections.
3 Position Switch connections_cc.jpg
The old Taranis Gimbals connectors (white plugs) do fit, so I will use them to make the EXT pin connections.

Bob B.

Hi Bob

I am wanting to up grade to a 3 position switch. But I don't plan on replacing my gimbals just yet so I am trying to identify what kind of white plug the Taranis gimbals come with. Any help would be great. Thanks

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 11:46 am
by bob195558
Hi EvanVH,
I saw somewhere, where someone posted where they purchased some of the proper white plugs.
I will try to find where they are.
Maybe someone else knows where they can be found also ?
Also look here for more info: (viewtopic.php?f=126&t=7987).

Bob B.

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 11:52 am
by jhsa
Try this. I think this is what you might be looking for..

http://www.ebay.com/itm/JST-2-0mm-PH-9- ... xyeR9TJaXs

João

Re: Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 2:03 am
by EvanVH
jhsa wrote:Try this. I think this is what you might be looking for..

http://www.ebay.com/itm/JST-2-0mm-PH-9- ... xyeR9TJaXs

João
Awesome João thank you so much.

Evan