HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

ersky9xr is the port of the er9x firmware to the 9XRPRO radio.
Post Reply
Smiithy89
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:20 pm
Country: -

HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by Smiithy89 » Sat Oct 08, 2016 5:55 pm

PLEASE HELP ME UNDERSTAND HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT ON A SWITCH WITH VOICE

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18131
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by jhsa » Sat Oct 08, 2016 5:57 pm

Which version of the firmware do you have? Stock?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15807
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 08, 2016 5:59 pm

Please don't shout! (Upper case is considered shouting on forums).

You asked this question on this thread: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=9276&p=119836#p119836, and have received some answers there.
I suggest you go back to that thread and ask about the answers you already have.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Smiithy89
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:20 pm
Country: -

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by Smiithy89 » Sat Oct 08, 2016 7:04 pm

Mike sorry for the uppercase letters and Joao it's r212 on turnigy 9xr pro

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18131
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by jhsa » Sat Oct 08, 2016 7:26 pm

I'm not sure your version of the software have already the sticky throttle cut feature in the safety switches menu.
Do you also have already the voice menu?

For throttle cut I will assume you have throttle on channel 3
Go to the safety switches menu and scroll down to your throttle's channel.

CH3 X !THR -100

The "X" option is a sticky throttle cut, that means, when you activate the switch the throttle must also be at minimum before the motor is allowed to run. This avoids the motor going wild if you bump the switch when the stick is not down.
Of course you select the switch you want, to control this feature, I use !THR.
So what happens is that the throttle cut is engaged (set to -100) when the throttle switch is OFF. !THR means throttle switch OFF. THR means throttle switch ON.

For the voice please answer my question above.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


User avatar
KAL
Posts: 551
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by KAL » Sat Oct 08, 2016 8:06 pm

... saying your aircraft is SAFE) ...
A throttle cut switch is indeed a nice feature to prevent injuries
caused by accidently hitting the throttle stick,
but please always keep in mind that besides all programming aspects
there is nothing you can do on TX side that makes your aircraft
100% safe (at least in terms of throttle ;) ) ...

Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

Smiithy89
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:20 pm
Country: -

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by Smiithy89 » Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:49 pm

Thanks for the reply guys but I have set Safety switch on Ch3 to X !THR -100 but when I flick the switch It still let's me throttle up am I missing something? I am new to the er9x I have standard version r212 on turnigy 9xr pro thanks, Dan

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15807
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:57 pm

Please confirm channel 3 is your throttle channel.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Smiithy89
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:20 pm
Country: -

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by Smiithy89 » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:14 pm

channel 3 is my throttle

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18131
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by jhsa » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:17 pm

With !THR, the throttle should be safe when the switch is OFF. Away from you, towards the back of the radio. To allow the motor to spin you should turn the switch ON.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Smiithy89
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:20 pm
Country: -

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by Smiithy89 » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:24 pm

I keep the switch pushed away !THR and it lets me throttle up still
Attachments
DSC00155.JPG
my screen

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15807
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:25 pm

Please go to the main screen that shows the stick positions and has THR, RUD and ELE on the left.
When you change the THR switch position, does the THR text change between highlighted and not highlighted?
If it does, now go down one screen to the "bars" screen showing the output positions. With the switch away from you, the bar for channel 3 should be fixed showing fully to the left of the display.
If the THR text doesn't change, then you have a problem with the THR switch.

r212 is now over 2 years old, you might consider updating your firmware.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Smiithy89
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:20 pm
Country: -

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by Smiithy89 » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:29 pm

let me check get back to you in a second and its a brand new radio but il try what you just said Mike

Smiithy89
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:20 pm
Country: -

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by Smiithy89 » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:33 pm

right when i pull the lever it highlights and when i go to the next screen the left hand side second bar from bottom is full over the the left

Smiithy89
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:20 pm
Country: -

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by Smiithy89 » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:39 pm

Right i think its actually working because on the bars screen if i move the throttle lever it does nothing because the lever is pushed away !THR witch must mean its in throttle cut and when i pull the lever towards me THR and then move the throttle stick the bar on the left then moves so i presume it is actually working ?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15807
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 08, 2016 11:02 pm

If you want the switch to function the other way round, change !THR to THR in the safety switch setting. That is the way I use it as I think it is more likely the switch will be accidently knocked towards the fromt rather than away, so knocked to the 'safe' position, but you choose which way you find 'best'.

With X in the safety switch, you have a 'sticky' safety.
Move the throttle to the mid position, then change the THR switch to enable the throttle. The bar should stay to the left. You then need to move the throttle stick to minimum before the bar will move. This stops you changing the switch and having an electric powered model bursting into life because the throttle is not at minimum.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Smiithy89
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:20 pm
Country: -

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by Smiithy89 » Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:51 am

what would happen if the safety switch was knocked when the model is flying would the motors shut off and model drop to earth ? , Dan

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15807
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by MikeB » Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:59 am

If the safety switch is activated then the throttle output will go to -100.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

lancaster
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:28 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by lancaster » Sun Oct 09, 2016 9:14 am

Smiithy89 wrote:what would happen if the safety switch was knocked when the model is flying would the motors shut off and model drop to earth ? , Dan
If a Pot is used to arm the throttle then it can't be knocked on or off - much safer than a switch

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18131
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by jhsa » Sun Oct 09, 2016 9:28 am

Not if you use pots for something else and you turn it by mistake. Is the same :)
You could also use a combination of 2 switches for example.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Smiithy89
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:20 pm
Country: -

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by Smiithy89 » Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:19 pm

HI guys would like to thank you all for the replys and helping my resolve my issuse
regards, Dan

sdavies
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 6:46 am
Country: Australia
Location: Adelaide SA

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by sdavies » Sun Oct 16, 2016 4:12 am

Probably a dumb question but I cannot get !THR.
If I use THR, the safety switch works but in reverse to the way described here.
How do I get !THR?

(V218)
Cheers,
Stephen

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18131
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: HOW TO SET THROTTLE CUT WITH VOICE SAYING YOUR AIRCRAFT IS SAFE)

Post by jhsa » Sun Oct 16, 2016 8:13 am

When a switch selection is empty, you get a "----"
Now if you scroll down you get the normal switches. If you scroll up then you get the reversed switches.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “ersky9xr”