Turnigy 9xr Pro + FrSky XJT + D4R-II won't bind

ersky9xr is the port of the er9x firmware to the 9XRPRO radio.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Turnigy 9xr Pro + FrSky XJT + D4R-II won't bind

Post by MikeB » Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:36 pm

Is that a hole burnt in the chip?

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


n1trog3n
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:25 am
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9xr Pro + FrSky XJT + D4R-II won't bind

Post by n1trog3n » Tue Nov 10, 2015 4:18 am

MikeB wrote:Is that a hole burnt in the chip?

Mike.
Looks like you're right. Seems like a small hole....

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Turnigy 9xr Pro + FrSky XJT + D4R-II won't bind

Post by MikeB » Tue Nov 10, 2015 9:56 am

I'm fairly certain that chip is the switch mode, voltage regulator. If that is 'broken' it is also possible other components have been damaged by an incorrect voltage supply. That regulator provides 5V, and there is then a linear regulator to provide 3.3V, so you might find the important chips are OK.

The 5V is present on the SPort connections. Measure the voltage between the + and - signals on this to see if it is 5V (+/- 0.25V).

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

n1trog3n
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:25 am
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9xr Pro + FrSky XJT + D4R-II won't bind

Post by n1trog3n » Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:55 pm

Sorry, Mike. I did not get where I have to measure voltage. Can you show where on picture please.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Turnigy 9xr Pro + FrSky XJT + D4R-II won't bind

Post by MikeB » Tue Nov 10, 2015 11:11 pm

On the back of the XJT are some pin headers, one row of 4 and another of three. Right at the bottom of the case is a diagram showing the connections to them. The three on the right are the SPort connections, labelled -, + and S.
Please measure between the - and + pins when the XJT is powered. Take care not to short them together.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


n1trog3n
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:25 am
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9xr Pro + FrSky XJT + D4R-II won't bind

Post by n1trog3n » Wed Nov 11, 2015 8:02 pm

MikeB wrote:On the back of the XJT are some pin headers, one row of 4 and another of three. Right at the bottom of the case is a diagram showing the connections to them. The three on the right are the SPort connections, labelled -, + and S.
Please measure between the - and + pins when the XJT is powered. Take care not to short them together.

Mike.
I've measured the voltage. And I have 8.2-8.4V there...

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Turnigy 9xr Pro + FrSky XJT + D4R-II won't bind

Post by MikeB » Wed Nov 11, 2015 11:05 pm

OK, that means the chip with the hole in is not working, you are getting something like battery voltage not 5V.

The only fix is to replace the chip (at least, assuming there are no other problems), although I'm not sure at the moment exactly what the chip is. I don't have the circuit diagram for the XJT.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

n1trog3n
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:25 am
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9xr Pro + FrSky XJT + D4R-II won't bind

Post by n1trog3n » Thu Nov 12, 2015 4:58 am

MikeB wrote:OK, that means the chip with the hole in is not working, you are getting something like battery voltage not 5V.

The only fix is to replace the chip (at least, assuming there are no other problems), although I'm not sure at the moment exactly what the chip is. I don't have the circuit diagram for the XJT.

Mike.
:cry:
Thats is exactly what I was afraid.
If you'll find out what king of chip is it-let me know please..

Thank you for you help.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10116
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Turnigy 9xr Pro + FrSky XJT + D4R-II won't bind

Post by Kilrah » Thu Nov 12, 2015 5:54 am

Should be a TPS5401.

n1trog3n
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:25 am
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9xr Pro + FrSky XJT + D4R-II won't bind

Post by n1trog3n » Thu Nov 12, 2015 5:45 pm

Kilrah wrote:Should be a TPS5401.
Ordered one.

CptanPanic
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:32 am
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9xr Pro + FrSky XJT + D4R-II won't bind

Post by CptanPanic » Tue Mar 22, 2016 3:35 pm

Did you ever get this working. Interesting thread.


Post Reply

Return to “ersky9xr”