9XR Pro and Futaba GY401

ersky9xr is the port of the er9x firmware to the 9XRPRO radio.
Post Reply
cu19x
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:11 pm
Country: -

9XR Pro and Futaba GY401

Post by cu19x » Wed Nov 19, 2014 8:13 pm

Dear all,
I have bought a Turnigy 9XR Pro (lot more complicate than my Futaba 7CP) running on stock, with the combination of RC long time (3 years) absence, I need some guidance in some issues.
Here, I want to configure correctly the Futaba GY401 gyro, and as the TX hasn't any gyro menu, I figure that I should do from Mixes (please kindly correct me if I am wrong). Please also keep in mind that still I haven't made any test flight (I am still on the bench).
So, I have some possibilities (from what I found):

1) Gyro TX Template write to Mixes page:
+50%P2 switch(!GEA) Offset (100%)
-50%P2 switch(GEA) Offset (100%)
With this setting, as I understand, when I switch the GEA it takes the value of P2 knob (from its position) and give value from +50% (50% HH mode I guess) to -50% (50% rate mode I guess). Is this useful and reliable (I mean that knobs are easily moved even over storage)?

2) Heli template from web:
+65%RUD switch(!GEA) Offset (100%)
-50%P3 switch(GEA) Offset (100%)
I cannot understand how the first variable (I mean +65%) works? I mean, it gets info from rudder stick to translate a % over HH? And knob 3 is used only for rate mode? I don't get it.

3) My thought (if I understand clearly how this TX works):
+80%FULL Switch (!GEA)
This way I get the same 80% of HH and rate mode. I am not sure if I should use offset.

4) My thought for a 3 position switch (if I understand clearly how this TX works):
+70%HALF Switch (ID0)
+80%HALF Switch (ID1)
+90%HALF Switch (ID2)
I don't know if this is useful or not. I also not sure if I should use offset.

Could you please guide me through the best setup of my gyro


cu19x
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:11 pm
Country: -

Re: 9XR Pro and Futaba GY401

Post by cu19x » Thu Nov 20, 2014 8:59 am

Returning to my previous post, because seems to be big and complicated , I am wondering if its possible to explain-verify the followings:

1) [+80%HALF switch(!GEA) and -60%HALF switch(GEA)]. Is this programming correct for 80% HH and 60% RM as a true result?

2) [+80%HALF switch(!GEA) ]. Is this programming correct for 80% HH and 80% RM as a true result?

3) [+50%P2 switch(!GEA) Offset (100%) and -50%P2 switch(GEA) Offset (100%)]. Is this programming correct for 50% HH and 50% RM in combination with the position of the knob P2, as a true result? Are knobs safe to use for manipulate gyro (due that the can easily moved also during storage)?

4) [+70%HALF Switch (ID0) and +80%HALF Switch (ID1) and +90%HALF Switch (ID2)]. Is this programming correct for 70%, 80%, 90% HH as a true result?

Which do you think is the best choice from the 4 above?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16795
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9XR Pro and Futaba GY401

Post by MikeB » Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:18 pm

I don't know anything about gyro setup (or what you mean by HH and RM, I'm guessing HH=Heading Hold).

For your 4) this simplifies to:
Chxx: +10% SWCH(IDx) Offset(+80%) (with Fix Offset ON).

Using SWCH(IDx) as the source, you get -100% at ID0, 0% at ID1 and +100% ID2. Setting the weight to 10% you get -10%, 0% and +10%. With and offset of +80% (with Fix Offset set ON), the 80% is added to these giving 70%, 80% and 90% as the result.
You only need 1 mix line for this instead of 3.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

cu19x
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:11 pm
Country: -

Re: 9XR Pro and Futaba GY401

Post by cu19x » Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:33 pm

Ahhh, thanks again Mike.

Unfortunately, I don't have the option of SWCH(IDx) but I have 3POS instead (seams to work like you say in eePskye simulation).

My question here is that this way seems to work only if the case uses 3 values with the same "distance". If I wanted to put ID0 +45, ID1 +75, ID2 +90, I think this couldn't work with this programming.
Correct?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16795
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9XR Pro and Futaba GY401

Post by MikeB » Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:03 pm

Are you running the firmware that comes already installed? This is ersky9x, either r202 or r204, you can check the revision number in the "VERSION" menu.
Since the 9XR-PRO was released, I have been upgrading the firmware. One change is to allow ANY switch as a mix input, so 3POS has been changed to SWCH, with an option to select the required switch.

If you want ID0 +45, ID1 +75, ID2 +90, then do the following:
Your ID1 position is +75, so this will be the offset value.
The ID0 position is 'further' from ID1 (75-45=30) than the ID2 position (90-75=15) so the 30 is the weight.
Now change "Curve" to "Diff", this is differential. Adjust the "Diff" value so that ID2 has the correct value, in this case you need to set the "Diff" value to -50%.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


cu19x
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:11 pm
Country: -

Re: 9XR Pro and Futaba GY401

Post by cu19x » Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:27 pm

Hehe, it works (seems you know some things :D )...
Just to clear everything, your 2 last suggestions are just to simplify my 3 mix lines for the same job. But please could you confirm that my 3 mix lines suggestion is correct and works?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19251
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9XR Pro and Futaba GY401

Post by jhsa » Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:38 pm

cu19x wrote:Hehe, it works (seems you know some things :D )...
Just to clear everything, your 2 last
I'm not surprised ;) He wrote the firmware for your radio.. :D
João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16795
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9XR Pro and Futaba GY401

Post by MikeB » Thu Nov 20, 2014 3:21 pm

Yes, your 3-line mix does work in the same way.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


Post Reply

Return to “ersky9xr”