Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

ersky9xr is the port of the er9x firmware to the 9XRPRO radio.
Post Reply
ckambiselis
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 1:15 pm
Country: Finland

Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by ckambiselis » Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:50 pm

Hi,

I just installed a 6POS switch for flight mode control and confirmed it works, kind of, I used an MR-K112 and set it to be a 6 position switch, I used the resistor values from the wiring diagram and made a custom milled pcb, installed the output to pin 2 of JR3, I set a 6POS source to AUX and can see the reading changing when I flip the switch, the reading is different for each position but the last 2 digits jitter for all but the first and last postion, I made the calibration for each (POS0-5), but the position changes 6P0-6P1-6P3-6P1-6P4-6P5, I measured the the output of the switch and I get 0.00-1.07-1.66-1.48-1.77-3.3 it seems the value margin set by the calibration is too big, is it possible to set it manually, I can't seem to find an option on the radio or eePskye?

Thanks
Oscar


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19251
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by jhsa » Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:55 pm

watch this video.. it is in the Hardware menu..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=981zcTd ... fxUB5C-mpr

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

ckambiselis
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 1:15 pm
Country: Finland

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by ckambiselis » Fri Aug 18, 2017 3:18 pm

jhsa wrote:
Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:55 pm
watch this video.. it is in the Hardware menu..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=981zcTd ... fxUB5C-mpr

João
If you mean the calibration he does on 10:30, I have done that already as I said, the HEX values are different for each position, what I want to change is the "deadband", if it could be described as here, for the each position of the switch.

And I also tried the filtering options, I had FILT by default anyway.

The values assigned by calibration
6P0: 0FFF 0C47
6P1: 0890 07D6
6P2: 071D 078B
6P3: 07FA 068E
6P4: 0523 0291
6P5: 0000

Oscar

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19251
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by jhsa » Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:13 pm

the filtering has nothing to do with the switch. It is for the sticks.. I suggest you leave it at OSMP..

I don't understand what you mean by deadband.. the switch should switch to the correct position after calibration. If it does this, it is working correctly. On you post above you said that 6P2 was missing.. That normally because of lack of / Bad calibration..

But I can see that the voltages on the switch don't look very good. I would check the PCB again for wrong connections or resistor values..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16795
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by MikeB » Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:27 pm

The voltages from the 6-pos switch should be in an increasing or decreasing order. You show "0.00-1.07-1.66-1.48-1.77-3.3".
The 1.48 value is out of sequence. Can you change the connections so this swaps with the 1.66 value?

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


ckambiselis
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 1:15 pm
Country: Finland

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by ckambiselis » Fri Aug 18, 2017 7:50 pm

These are the readings shown on SwitchDiag 6P0-6P1-6P3-6P1-6P4-6P5, this is the sequence they appear when I go from start to end.
This is the exact voltage reading sequence the output pin gives when I go from one end to the other 0.00-1.07-1.66-1.48-1.77-3.3.
The schematic is made exactly as shown on the "classic" wiring diagram.
And I have made the calibration procedure at least 5 times with the same results.

As I understand from the readings given in the 6POS settings screen the positions are not an exact number but a range, what I'm trying to find is a way to change the range since its lower value is a predefined number lower the reading taken when I press the Menu button for each position.

Attached some supporting data.

Oscar
Attachments
IMG_20170818_223947.jpg
Voltage reading for each position
IMG_20170818_223157.jpg
Resistance reading for each position, max resitance 5.2K
schematic.png
schematic
schematic.png (4.52 KiB) Viewed 3240 times
IMG_20170818_211154.jpg
IRL board
board.png
board
board.png (5.69 KiB) Viewed 3240 times

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19251
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by jhsa » Fri Aug 18, 2017 8:31 pm

Those are not the connections that Ersky9x is expecting.. You have one pin floating (not connected). I suggest you modify your switch.
You say you built it based on another design?
For which radio is that switch you copied then? :o


João

EDIT: If you have the 4th pin not connected instead of the 3rd one, it might work
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2191
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by bob195558 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:14 pm

(Board index < Open Radio Control Transmitter Firmwares < ersky9xr)

Hi ckambiselis,
This string is for a different radio that uses erSky9x firmware like your 9XR-Pro,
and may have some info that may help with the calibration problem: (viewtopic.php?f=126&t=8479).
Though, your problem may be with your 6 position switch you have.

Bob B.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

Welcome to 3D-Printing: (https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=129).

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16795
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by MikeB » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:23 pm

Yes, if you move the connection from the 4th position to the 3rd position, and leave the 4th position unconnected, then run the calibration it should all work.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

ckambiselis
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 1:15 pm
Country: Finland

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by ckambiselis » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:29 pm

jhsa wrote:
Fri Aug 18, 2017 8:31 pm
Those are not the connections that Ersky9x is expecting.. You have one pin floating (not connected). I suggest you modify your switch.
You say you built it based on another design?
For which radio is that switch you copied then? :o


João

EDIT: If you have the 4th pin not connected instead of the 3rd one, it might work
Well isn't this suppose to be the wiring diagram viewtopic.php?t=5659 , if not than all the info should really be put somewhere where it is easy to find and cleanly written where no comments or questions can be made but they are just updated when something new comes, shifting through the forums isn't really ideal, I have found 10 different threads for each thing I'm trying to make.


EDIT:
Yeah I saw the post about 5 posts down that talks about the resistor being on the wrong side, the original should have been edited for this exact reason.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19251
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by jhsa » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:47 pm

ckambiselis wrote:
Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:29 pm

Well isn't this suppose to be the wiring diagram viewtopic.php?t=5659 , if not than all the info should really be put somewhere where it is easy to find and cleanly written where no comments or questions can be made but they are just updated when something new comes, shifting through the forums isn't really ideal, I have found 10 different threads for each thing I'm trying to make.
You are right, it is wrong there.. :(

EDIT:
Yeah I saw the post about 5 posts down that talks about the resistor being on the wrong side, the original should have been edited for this exact reason.

I don't think any of us realized that at the time, and probably then no one was interested in installing a 6 position switch, therefore we didn't see the mistake.. But try it. I believe you just need to cut one trace on your PCB and solder it to the other switch pin.
Please let us know if it worked..
I hope Brent read this and correct the diagram. Therefore it is important that you let us know if it worked :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

ckambiselis
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 1:15 pm
Country: Finland

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by ckambiselis » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:58 pm

Got the hot air gun out and just swapped the first and the last resistors (1K with 2.2K), and it works perfect now.

That connection diagram is actually very well made and I have saved it in my UAV folder for all the mods I'm making, and since it is the first thing that comes up when your search for the 9XR Pro wiring I would recommend it is kept updated, even better if the Eagle files can be linked under it, it would be even better.

Thanks for the help!
Oscar

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16795
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by MikeB » Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:27 pm

I've put a note on the first post of that thread to look 9 posts down!

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19251
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by jhsa » Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:08 pm

Thanks Mike..

João


EDIT: Perhaps the picture from 9 posts down should be uploaded to the first post together with Brent's text?
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

ckambiselis
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 1:15 pm
Country: Finland

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by ckambiselis » Sat Aug 19, 2017 9:30 am

Here are the wiring diagrams with the values switched.

Oscar
Attachments
User_Mods_1.jpg
9XR_Pro_wire_1_1.jpg

Helle
Posts: 577
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:08 am
Country: -

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by Helle » Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:06 am

Hy,

think his problem is were is the 1,65V commming from (3,3V/2= 1,65V)

Look at user added 6pos switch shematic and at the 3 way switch, open 1,65VPin

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19251
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Manual calibration for 6POS switch?

Post by jhsa » Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:10 am

The problem is solved. :)

João

Sent from my thor using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


Post Reply

Return to “ersky9xr”