Adding Bluetooth module

Hardware Support for the 9XR Pro
Post Reply
idar66
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:12 am
Country: New Zealand

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by idar66 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 4:33 pm

heres the other side, sorry i thought it had loaded both, on the back of my modual i have a trace thar runs from en pin to pin 34
Attachments
IMG_20151221_051502[1].jpg

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18037
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by jhsa » Sun Dec 20, 2015 4:35 pm

I'm not sure if on your photo, you have connected the pushbutton to the EN pin? If so, remove it..

Your BT, even if it has the same part number than mine, is different.. Not the BT module itself, but the blue board it is soldered to..

I don't understand, you put the wire where? Picture please.. I have to understand what you are doing so I can help you..
You shouldn't have to put wire anywhere. Is there a connection between any side of the push button and pin 34? No wires please.
João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18037
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by jhsa » Sun Dec 20, 2015 4:40 pm

I can see you had a little accident with the hobby knife there.. Let's hope you didn't cut any trace..
I think one of your button pads should be connected to pin 34 of the BT module..
Did you cut any track? if so which? I hope none.. :)
João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18037
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by jhsa » Sun Dec 20, 2015 4:42 pm

It looks like the track that would need to be cut on yours is on the top side, mine is on the other side.. But forget that track, you will not be cutting it..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

idar66
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:12 am
Country: New Zealand

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by idar66 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 5:36 pm

thanks jhsa ive taken the little wire off the erase pin, ive taken pin out out removed pin altogether ive now soldered erase wire to first part of little button, so now theres no connection between pin hole and wire on little button which makes a circut to pin 34, also just updated the firmware i now have the right menus etc, im too tired too see if its worked or not ill finish up after a sleep, thank you so much for your patience i find it very hard typeing things out as you can tell lol cheers idar


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18037
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by jhsa » Sun Dec 20, 2015 5:48 pm

No problem, happy to help.. Please let us know if it worked.. ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

idar66
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:12 am
Country: New Zealand

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by idar66 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 10:28 pm

hi ive just given it a try and i cant get it to work,on buletooth menu it wont let me change master slave just stays on unknown , the weird thing is i can pair with it with my ph, my ph sees it as hc05 so i must have a connection not right somewhere ,im not sure if this is related but i have a couple of things on my menu saying disabled when i go into the menu, one was hardware and another called eprom i think mike locked them out for a reason, im going to go over my connections and start from scratch,as i want to get this up and running, thanks idar

idar66
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:12 am
Country: New Zealand

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by idar66 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 10:36 pm

hi just wanted to add i did not cut any traces not on purpose anyway, im just about to take it apart again doh!! should have tested it before screwing back together, oh well i love learning new things

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18037
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by jhsa » Sun Dec 20, 2015 10:58 pm

Ok, picture of where you connected the wire from pin 34. It is supposed to be connected to the ERASE pin.
Also, check you connected TX from bluetooth module to the RX on the main board.
RX from Bluetooth connects to TX on the mainboard.
Go to radio setup/general and make sure the BT Baudrate is set to 115200.
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15725
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by MikeB » Sun Dec 20, 2015 11:45 pm

Two things:
1. On the Bluetooth menu, what value do you see at the bottom right after Br?
2. From the main screen, press UP long, then left twice to get to the BT (debug) display.
On this display, there are a lot of numbers starting on the line under the BT heading. Are these all 0000?

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

idar66
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:12 am
Country: New Zealand

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by idar66 » Mon Dec 21, 2015 4:07 am

hi mike yes debug is 0000, ive had progress i disconected the wire that went to erase point, if i turn on and push little button it works, im pretty sure ive got the place wrong where i soldered the erase wire too, i thought i had that part right as i lifted board and soldered to the pin underneath as i could not remove the power and sd card asembly, im just in process of looking at where i soldered too, worse case i have to push button everytime i want to use bluetooth, is there a way i can test the point where im going to solder erase wire to make sure ive got it right, at least ive had progress and bluetooth still working ill slay this beast yet, thanks idar

idar66
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:12 am
Country: New Zealand

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by idar66 » Mon Dec 21, 2015 4:11 am

hi mike by the way when i push button after start and it works i have debug of 1, also mike these a few things coming up with disabled is this normal for this firmware, thanks idar

idar66
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:12 am
Country: New Zealand

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by idar66 » Mon Dec 21, 2015 9:20 am

jhsa wrote:No problem, happy to help.. Please let us know if it worked.. ;)

João
hi there jhsa i got it up and running finally, i had soldered the earase wire on the pin next to the one i should have soldered too, i got confused and did not realise on photo it was a bottom view so i had it back to front, lucky that pin wasnt a bad one as i could have easily fried the modual, anyway just wanted to tell you that leaving button on and soldering a wire on one side of button works without cutting traces etc, so thanks heaps for your guys patience and help its really nice to know when things get too much for me theres people out there with the knowlege and patience to get me through it, so till next time ciao idar

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15725
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by MikeB » Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:15 am

The Hardware and EEPROM menus are disabled to prevent accidental modification. We have had the occasional small child 'playing' with a Tx as well and changing settings.
To enable these, just power on holding the left horizontal trim to the left. They will then be enabled until you power off.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18037
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by jhsa » Mon Dec 21, 2015 11:15 am

Hey, great that you've managed to get it working. Yeah, knowing the PRO radio I did suspect you could get the erase pin wrong, that's why I asked for a picture somewhere above.. :) Anyway, well done ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

idar66
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:12 am
Country: New Zealand

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by idar66 » Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:47 am

thanks for the info mike on firmware very good idea having menus locked out when theres no reason most need to go into them,this firmware is so flexible and so much fun once you get the basic understanding of how it works, cheers idar

User avatar
Dbswans
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:06 am
Country: -

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by Dbswans » Sat Dec 26, 2015 1:45 pm

First off hello guys lol just received my activation email for the forums.... But have been reading and reading so I feel some what prepaid when I receive my bt-module I did order HC-06 and threw more reading I get the feeling I should have gone with the (05) for future proofing ? Also I would like to know if the ( status ) pin could be used to wire a blue led on the case cosmetic reason mostly lol anyways can't thank you enough for the time and dedication put into this !!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
Dbswans
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:06 am
Country: -

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by Dbswans » Sat Dec 26, 2015 1:49 pm

I'm sorry correction the (state) pin


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15725
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by MikeB » Sat Dec 26, 2015 2:34 pm

The HC-06 comes as either a MASTER or a SLAVE, do you know which you have ordered?
The firmware currently supports a HC-06 as a SLAVE, or a HC-05 that is controlled to be in either MASTER or SLAVE as required.

The state pin goes high when BT is connected. I don't know what current it can drive to know if it can handle a LED.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Dbswans
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:06 am
Country: -

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by Dbswans » Sat Dec 26, 2015 2:44 pm

I thought 05 was master/slave 06 slave only


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15725
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by MikeB » Sat Dec 26, 2015 2:50 pm

The -06 may be bought as MASTER only, but I believe is SLAVE only unless you specifically get a MASTER one.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Dbswans
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:06 am
Country: -

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by Dbswans » Sat Dec 26, 2015 2:50 pm

Listing does not specify slave/master you recommend just ordering the 05?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18037
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by jhsa » Sat Dec 26, 2015 2:52 pm

The HC-05, as Mike said above, can be configured by the radio as Master or Slave.. If you get another one, get an HC-05. ;)

Welcome to the forum by the way :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18037
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by jhsa » Sat Dec 26, 2015 2:53 pm

MikeB wrote:The -06 may be bought as MASTER only, but I believe is SLAVE only unless you specifically get a MASTER one.

Mike.
HC-06 is normally sold as SLAVE.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Dbswans
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:06 am
Country: -

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by Dbswans » Sat Dec 26, 2015 2:57 pm

Thanks and yea they are cheap enough I'll just order the 05 I think when I ordered I was thinking didn't have to mess with the jumper wire but as I read threw lol didn't seem such a big deal


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
Dbswans
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:06 am
Country: -

Adding Bluetooth module

Post by Dbswans » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:42 am

So am I seeing this right as of now the HC-06 only useful for trainer mode ? I do have the (05) on order just playing around with mounting and such but doesn't seem to be able to do anything at this point ? I'm sure I'm just being stupid lol!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18037
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by jhsa » Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:04 am

I think with the HC-06 you can send telemetry to your smartphone or tablet.
You can also use the bluetooth to connect to eepskye, and then program your model on the computer and see in real time what is happening on the model. REMOVE PROPS of course.. ;) :)
Please see here:

viewtopic.php?f=91&t=5476

With the bluetooth you don't need to build any extra hardware. Just read the info to learn how to program a model on your radio so the control throws match the ones in eepskye.. It is easy..
Also your computer must be able to connect to bluetooth devices of course.

You can of course also use your radio in a bluetooth trainer setup, but you need another radio with an HC-05 installed and set as MASTER, so you can connect both..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Dbswans
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:06 am
Country: -

Adding Bluetooth module

Post by Dbswans » Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:50 am

Ok thank you long read but well worth it also ( should I remove my props first ) lmao only kidding


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by Dbswans on Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Dbswans
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:06 am
Country: -

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by Dbswans » Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:53 am

My wiring and instal until I get my (05) from China

ImageImageImage


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18037
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Adding Bluetooth module

Post by jhsa » Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:49 am

That's where mine is on my 9XR-PRO.. perfect place ;) :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “Turnigy 9XR PRO radio”