Soft start/stop doesnt work

Hardware Support for the 9XR Pro
Post Reply
Bojkas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:27 pm
Country: Czech Republic

Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by Bojkas » Mon May 25, 2020 8:31 pm

Hello,
I'm new here. My SD card stopped responding, I tried to format it, flash FW 2.3.7. If I turn on the radio, the logo always popped up there, but now it doesn't, only once, after a new flash. SD does not see in the transmitter settings. When I run it via the bootloader, the contents of the SD card are loaded, as well as the SD folders and internal memory are displayed after connecting to the PC.
The strange thing is that when I tried to load FW via companion without backing up the models and transmitter settings, then after launch all the planes are the same. Trimmings that are restored to the original state after the transmitter is turned off and on will not be saved.

If I switch it very very slowly, it will boot up with the SD card and welcome.
Any idea?

Thank you
Ivica


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19305
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by jhsa » Tue May 26, 2020 8:29 am

Hmm, It might be that the latest versions of OpenTX don't work well on the PRO. This radio doesn't seem to be supported by OpenTX anymore. There are other cases of the firmware not working on this radio.

I think you have two options. Install an early version of OpenTX, or move to ErskyTX which is still being developed for this radio. And it is an excellent firmware as well..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Bojkas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:27 pm
Country: Czech Republic

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by Bojkas » Tue May 26, 2020 8:53 am

I tried several versions from 2.2.4 to 2.3.7 including ErskyTX. Is it possible that it was a button, or is the board dead?

If I turn the radio on / off normally, I have no welcome / farewell. If I move the switch very slowly to tenths of a millimeter, it will load properly. Is it not possible to buy an RF DESK and a power button somewhere, or its exact replacement?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19305
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by jhsa » Tue May 26, 2020 9:34 am

Perhaps the switch failed then. It did on mine a few years ago.
The only thing I could do was to remove the switch, open it, and clean the contacts inside with alcohol and a toothbrush. Then put all together. It still works today.
But measure the switch with a multimeter before you do all that to make sure that is the problem..
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Bojkas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:27 pm
Country: Czech Republic

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by Bojkas » Tue May 26, 2020 9:49 am

I'm not very knowledgeable in electrical engineering, I have a multimeter, but I don't know what to measure against what and what values it should have. What should I set on the multimeter?

Thank you for your patience.

Ivica


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19305
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by jhsa » Tue May 26, 2020 10:27 am

remove the radio battery. set the multimeter to read resistance (ohms). probe between the middle pins and the outer pins of the switch. You should read close to zero ohms when moving the switch to the side of the outer pin you are measuring.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Bojkas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:27 pm
Country: Czech Republic

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by Bojkas » Tue May 26, 2020 11:00 am

I measured on the wires leading from the switch to the board
Black white OFF nothing
Black white ON 0,06
RED ORANGE OFF 0,09-01,3
RED ORANGE ON nothing
RED BROWNN OFF Noting
RED BROWNN ON Nothing
BROWNN ORANGE ON 04,3

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19305
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by jhsa » Tue May 26, 2020 12:17 pm

can you please post a picture of the switch showing the colors? I don't have my radio open, so I have no idea which colors my switch has :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Bojkas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:27 pm
Country: Czech Republic

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by Bojkas » Tue May 26, 2020 12:58 pm

Of course. :-)
IMG_20200526_145428.jpg
IMG_20200526_145420.jpg

Bojkas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:27 pm
Country: Czech Republic

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by Bojkas » Tue May 26, 2020 1:38 pm

What is that part? This is dead too. :-/
deska.jpg

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19305
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by jhsa » Tue May 26, 2020 9:39 pm

What makes you think that Q2 is broken? :O

About the switch.
Please measure Black and white. with he switch set to that side.
Also orange and red. switch moved to that side.
Measure also Orange and Brown. switch moved to that side, of course.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Bojkas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:27 pm
Country: Czech Republic

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by Bojkas » Wed May 27, 2020 6:33 am

Nothing can be measured on Q2. What is Q2 used for?

About the switch:
200 Ohm measurement set on the multimeter.

Black white ON switch (0,06)
Black white OFF switch (Nothing measured, ok)

BROWNN ORANGE ON (04,3) (after cleaning with toothbrush and alcohol 0,07)
BROWNN ORANGE OFF switch (Nothing measured, ok)

RED ORANGE ON switch (Nothing measured, ok)
RED ORANGE OFF switch 0,09

Bojkas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:27 pm
Country: Czech Republic

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by Bojkas » Wed May 27, 2020 7:07 am

It will probably be the Q2 mosfet and see the thread for soft start issues.
https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopi ... E3#p112519

When you switch off, i dont see the "SHUTTING DOWN" message on the display, same is when switch on, no welcome message, just sometime.

Bojkas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:27 pm
Country: Czech Republic

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by Bojkas » Thu May 28, 2020 6:07 pm

Am i right? Is it posibillity?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19305
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by jhsa » Thu May 28, 2020 6:15 pm

Sorry i didn't reply earlier. I am a bit busy at the moment. Give me some time to read the thread you linked above.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19305
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by jhsa » Thu May 28, 2020 7:30 pm

Ok, did you test with a trainer cable as Mike suggested on the other thread, to check if the Mosfet was damaged?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Bojkas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:27 pm
Country: Czech Republic

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by Bojkas » Fri May 29, 2020 9:28 am

Thanks for the reply, I don't have a trainer cable for the test. :-( Anyway, the father-in-law allegedly soldered the part because it was burned, so I won't even check it. Maybe that's why the soft start doesn't work now.
I hope that today he will be able to add a new part that I ordered.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19305
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by jhsa » Fri May 29, 2020 12:47 pm

Computer audio cable would do the job.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Bojkas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:27 pm
Country: Czech Republic

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by Bojkas » Fri May 29, 2020 7:19 pm

IT works! We replaced Q2 and now soft power work again! Thank you João and thanks for this amazing forum.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19305
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Soft start/stop doesnt work

Post by jhsa » Fri May 29, 2020 9:07 pm

Wonderful.. Great news, and well done.. :)
João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


Post Reply

Return to “Turnigy 9XR PRO radio”