Can't Bind

Everything about the smartie programmer and backlight kit!
Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:16 am

https://vimeo.com/177676820

Στάλθηκε από το Redmi Note 3 μου χρησιμοποιώντας Tapatalk

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:18 am

When i move the sticks the numbers at the bottom change

Στάλθηκε από το Redmi Note 3 μου χρησιμοποιώντας Tapatalk

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18125
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Can't Bind

Post by jhsa » Fri Aug 05, 2016 10:10 am

good news ;) That means that the PPM pin on the 9xtreme is not damaged..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15799
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Can't Bind

Post by MikeB » Fri Aug 05, 2016 10:25 am

Everything seems to be working so I'm not sure what the problem is.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 11:18 am

uploadfromtaptalk1470395859785.png
The attachment Screenshot_NormalAppImage(2) is no longer available
Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014


Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 11:19 am

This is what it does. Not the fast blinking of the green light which is failsafe.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 11:23 am

I'm a little bit away from buying a taranis but i've already spent some money AND work time at this tx and i love it, so I can't give up yet.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 11:47 am

How can i format the tx? And then install the rom again?

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15799
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Can't Bind

Post by MikeB » Fri Aug 05, 2016 1:14 pm

I've found my V8FR and tested binding and operation with a DJT and the 9Xtreme.
This is what I see:
Turn on the V8FR while holding the button in, the RED led is on solid and the greem led is on but dimmer.
Turn on the Tx while holding the button on the DJT pressed, keeping the button pressed until the splash screen and all warnings are cleared, then release the button. The RED led on the DJT flashes fast, as does the RED led on the V8FR, indicating bind complete.
Turn both Tx and Rx off
Turn on the Rx, the RED led flashes slowly, the green led is off.
Turn on the Tx. When all alarms are cleared, the RED led on the DJT is ON, the green led is flashing fast. On the V8FR, the RED led is on solid, the green led is off (or may just be very very dim).
A servo plugged into the Rx is able to be controlled.

Please try this and let me know of any differences in the LED behaviour.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 1:53 pm

Everything is as you say with the only difference here '' Turn on the Tx. When all alarms are cleared, the RED led on the DJT is ON, the green led is flashing fast. On the V8FR, the RED led is on solid, the green led is off (or may just be very very dim).''

the green led isn't flashing fast on the DJT(it is off)

......and of course nothing.This is why i told you before for making a format.Maybe when i tried to slow down and up the camera at the beggining i messed with something i shouldn't. I say maybe it is a software issue.

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:01 pm

Besides my other turnigy transmitter (without 9xtreme) binds fine.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15799
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Can't Bind

Post by MikeB » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:34 pm

The green led not flashing indicates the PPM signal is not getting to the DJT.

Please do a continuity check (inside the radio) between the top pin of the module connector, and pin 7, of the 12-way connector, on the back board, and then to pin 7 of the 12-way connector on the end of the 9Xtreme. Then check this connects to pin 23 of the processor. REMOVE the battery while doing this check.

Rather than a complete reload of the firmware, just create a new model. This while set it to the same defaults as a complete reload would do.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18125
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Can't Bind

Post by jhsa » Fri Aug 05, 2016 3:24 pm

I don't understand, how did he see the numbers changing on the trainer screen then, if PPM is not present on pin 1? :o :roll:

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15799
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Can't Bind

Post by MikeB » Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:27 pm

It may be the loading on the signal. Maybe the output is not driving high very well. The trainer input is quite high impedance, perhaps the DJT needs more drive that is no longer there.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:22 pm

Nothing wrong.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:22 pm

Nothing wrong.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:22 pm

Image

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:23 pm

Image

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:23 pm

Image

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:23 pm

And i took some more pics, maybe you see something wrong

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:24 pm

Image

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:24 pm

Image

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:25 pm

Image

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15799
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Can't Bind

Post by MikeB » Fri Aug 05, 2016 10:27 pm

I can only think that some damage has been done to the processor pin when removing the module with power on. Perhaps it is only driving in one direction, but that works on the trainer input but not on the DJT.

My next suggestion is to test for this. This needs a resistor to be fitted, if you have one. A value between 1K and 3K3 would be suitable. You would probably need to solder a wire to one end of the resistor.
Connect one end to the PPM signal, most easily to the actual pin on the back board. Connect the other end to a 3.3V pad (5 or 10) on the expansion grid (provides a pull up resistor). Then test to see if the DJT then responds.
If not, move the resistor from a 3.3V pad to a GND pad (provides a pull down resistor), and try the DJT again.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Fri Aug 05, 2016 10:37 pm

Ok, thanks. I'll do it on Sunday evening as tommorow i'm on duty at my job.
What is the expansion grid? Which is the ppm signal?
Sorry for my questions but i haven't got much experience

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15799
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Can't Bind

Post by MikeB » Sat Aug 06, 2016 9:43 am

The PPM signal is the one you traced above, and ringed in red.
I posted a picture of the expansion grid earlier in the thread, it is where you connected the internal switched power wire.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:48 am

Ok I see

Στάλθηκε από το Redmi Note 3 μου χρησιμοποιώντας Tapatalk

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Sun Aug 07, 2016 2:38 pm

The second method with the GND to resistor seemed to work. It didn't flash the green led on the quad but red (searching for satellite), but i couldn't control it(couldn't arm the motors).
I tried the bidding method you suggested and everything was as you said(the leds) but again the green light of the quads led was blinkink(not the rx). And id did like having interference. The camera gimbal moved but i couldn't control it
I think we are near

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

Kdaffy
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:23 pm
Country: Greece
Location: Athens

Re: Can't Bind

Post by Kdaffy » Mon Aug 08, 2016 2:54 pm

My turnugy is the old one which i hade to solder to connect the smartieparts. Is it possible that has to do with this or something moved and doesn't make good contact at the back of smartieparts?

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 edition 2014

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15799
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Can't Bind

Post by MikeB » Mon Aug 08, 2016 4:02 pm

Unlikely.
Please confirm that with the resistor to ground the green LED on the DJT, in normal operation, is on but flickering.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Post Reply

Return to “SMARTIEPARTS PROGRAMMER”