NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

vondarius21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:08 pm
Country: -

NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by vondarius21 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:23 pm

NOOB help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S. New to planes and new to OpenTX.

I have attached the transmitter setup details from the Hobbyzone manual. How do I transfer / enter these settings into my Turnigy 9x with OpenTx?
Attachments
TransmitterSetup_Sport Cub S_Manual.pdf
Transmitter setup details from manual
(41.19 KiB) Downloaded 288 times


vondarius21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:08 pm
Country: -

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by vondarius21 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 8:27 pm

No takers? Please help before I submit to the frustration and buy a Spektrum radio.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16583
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by MikeB » Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:26 am

What Tx module are you using?

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18971
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by jhsa » Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:32 am

It seems to be a BNF model, so it is Spek. or similar ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18971
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by jhsa » Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:45 am

My God, I have just read the manual, who said that the spektrum radio is easier to program than the open source firmware? That thing made no sense whatsoever to me :)

I don't know if this help you but opentx is not that different from er9x. Download er9x manual from the link below and go to the "Appendix A" There you find some configuration for Spektrum transmitters on the 9x. Maybe if you start from there..

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=6473

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


vondarius21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:08 pm
Country: -

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by vondarius21 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:15 pm

I am using the Orange RX transmitter module. Will the settings in the Er9x manual work in OpenTX as well?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18971
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by jhsa » Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:27 pm

I haven't been using openTX since a while but I would think so..
You might have to learn how to assign switches to channels and how to program expo and dual rates. Rates and expo might be a little different in openTX.. So, it is a good idea that you also find a openTX manual.. You will find a button at the top of this page on the right side under the donate button..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

vondarius21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:08 pm
Country: -

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by vondarius21 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:31 pm

Ok, thanks for the feedback. I may just flash the radio to er9x.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18971
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by jhsa » Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:59 pm

If you do, please note that the eeproms are not compatible, so you would have to program existing models manually..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

vondarius21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:08 pm
Country: -

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by vondarius21 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:05 pm

OK, thank you for the heads up. I actually don't have any models programmed yet, so no worries there. Is there a tool out there to convert Spektrum .spm files to eeprom?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18971
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by jhsa » Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:45 pm

You mean to convert to the open source system I guess? Are those .spm Spek model files?
I don't think there are converters for that.. Give it a try.. Program the example from the manual and then ask here for some specific programming. I guess you know what the model is supposed to do?
There are some forum users that used/still use spektrum stuff, and they might be able to help you..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

vondarius21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:08 pm
Country: -

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by vondarius21 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:14 pm

jhsa wrote:You mean to convert to the open source system I guess? Are those .spm Spek model files?
I don't think there are converters for that.. Give it a try.. Program the example from the manual and then ask here for some specific programming. I guess you know what the model is supposed to do?
There are some forum users that used/still use spektrum stuff, and they might be able to help you..

João
Yes I mean to convert to eepee. The .spm files are model files similar to an .eepe.

Thanks for the feedback so far.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18971
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by jhsa » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:30 pm

I don't know of any way of converting them, and I'm quite sure there isn't any.. :(

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by Kilrah » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:31 pm

The 2 systems basically have nothing in common, would be pretty much impossible to convert them automatically.
The best is not to stay "trapped" by the exact parameters and values given in the manual, but rather to think of the big picture and understand what's important to fly the plane. Then replicate that in whatever way that gets done with your radio.

Spektrum are a bit like Apple, IF you use exclusively their equipment then everything is simplified, but they put 0 effort in describing things in ways that help you for other use cases. Good way to "force" people to buy your stuff exclusively.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18971
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by jhsa » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:37 pm

Yep, they should say for example how many degrees/millimeters, the control surfaces should move.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Daedalus66
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by Daedalus66 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:35 pm

Will provide details when I get home in a few hours. It's quite easy. All you have to do is set up to emulate a DX5e transmitter and that's it. No need to measure control throws.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18971
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by jhsa » Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:51 pm

Yes of course.. But what I meant was that they don't say that on their manual.. For me it is a bit awkward as I'm used that the models manuals have that kind of info..
Is just that people doesn't use other systems on the models.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Daedalus66
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by Daedalus66 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 7:04 pm

Here it is in a nut shell.
Channels 1-4 default mixes
Channel 5, 3-way switch -100, 0, 100
Channel 6 TRN switch -100, 100
Channels 1-6 set limits to 80 (very important)
channels 2 and 4 INV (reverse)
DR 100%, 70%
Expo 20%
If ESC does not arm, set lower limit for channel 1 to -100.

That should give you exactly the same output as the DX4e, DX5e and MLP6DSM that the model is designed for. Correct throws are set automatically.

Channel 5 switch is mode (beginner, intermediate, advanced). Channel 6 switch is panic button.
Note that setting limits to 80% is mandatory for any BNF model that uses linear servos, as 100% on open source firmware is like 125% on Spektrum. If throw is not reduced, the servos may be damaged. Also, channels 5 and 6 switches need to be set to 80% limits as the SAFE technology doesn't like more than normal Spektrum maximum throws.
This formula will fly any model compatible with the standard Spektrum transmitters, though some of the older ones expect a 2-position switch on channel 5. It will work equally well on Taranis, 9XR, 9XR Pro, and 9x, though the commands may differ slightly amongst them.
I have this setup and it works very well. Nice little model.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by Daedalus66 on Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:59 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Daedalus66
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by Daedalus66 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 7:06 pm

jhsa wrote:Yes of course.. But what I meant was that they don't say that on their manual.. For me it is a bit awkward as I'm used that the models manuals have that kind of info..
Is just that people doesn't use other systems on the models.. :)

João
I quite agree that it's very good info to have in general. Just in this case there's no need.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by Daedalus66 on Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18971
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by jhsa » Fri Mar 20, 2015 7:10 pm

I meant in general.. ;) :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

vondarius21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:08 pm
Country: -

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by vondarius21 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 9:02 pm

Daedalus66 wrote:Here it is in a nut shell.
Channels 1-4 default mixes
Channel 5, 3-way switch -100, 0, 100
Channel 6 TRN switch -100, 100
Channels 1-6 set limits to 80 (very important)
channels 2 and 4 INV (reverse)
DR 100%, 70%
Expo 20%
If ESC does not arm, set lower limit for channel 1 to -100.

That should give you exactly the same output as the DX4e, DX5e and MLP6DSM that the model is designed for. Correct throws are set automatically.

Channel 5 switch is mode (beginner, intermediate, advanced). Channel 6 switch is panic button.
Note that setting limits to 80% is mandatory for any BNF model that uses linear servos, as 100% on open source firmware is like 125% on Spektrum. If throw is not reduced, the servos may be damaged. Also, channels 5 and 6 switches need to be set to 80% limits as the SAFE technology doesn't like more than normal Spektrum maximum throws.
This formula will fly any model compatible with the standard Spektrum transmitters, though some of the older ones expect a 2-position switch on channel 5. It will work equally well on Taranis, 9XR, 9XR Pro, and 9x, though the commands may differ slightly amongst them.
I have this setup and it works very well. Nice little model.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Anyway you could email me screenshots of the switch setup and the DR settings?

vondarius21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:08 pm
Country: -

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by vondarius21 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 9:22 pm

Daedalus66 wrote:Here it is in a nut shell.
Channels 1-4 default mixes
Channel 5, 3-way switch -100, 0, 100
Channel 6 TRN switch -100, 100
Channels 1-6 set limits to 80 (very important)
channels 2 and 4 INV (reverse)
DR 100%, 70%
Expo 20%
If ESC does not arm, set lower limit for channel 1 to -100.

That should give you exactly the same output as the DX4e, DX5e and MLP6DSM that the model is designed for. Correct throws are set automatically.

Channel 5 switch is mode (beginner, intermediate, advanced). Channel 6 switch is panic button.
Note that setting limits to 80% is mandatory for any BNF model that uses linear servos, as 100% on open source firmware is like 125% on Spektrum. If throw is not reduced, the servos may be damaged. Also, channels 5 and 6 switches need to be set to 80% limits as the SAFE technology doesn't like more than normal Spektrum maximum throws.
This formula will fly any model compatible with the standard Spektrum transmitters, though some of the older ones expect a 2-position switch on channel 5. It will work equally well on Taranis, 9XR, 9XR Pro, and 9x, though the commands may differ slightly amongst them.
I have this setup and it works very well. Nice little model.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BTW, are these settings for OpenTX or Er9x?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16583
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by MikeB » Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:04 pm

As far as these settings are concerned, they are the same for both er9x and openTx.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Daedalus66
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by Daedalus66 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:20 pm

Yes. As I said, they apply equally to Taranis (OpenTX) and 9XR/Pro (Er9x).

vondarius21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:08 pm
Country: -

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by vondarius21 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:24 pm

Daedalus66 wrote:Yes. As I said, they apply equally to Taranis (OpenTX) and 9XR/Pro (Er9x).
I have a standard 9x not 9XR Pro with ER9X or I can flash to OpenTX withever is more desirable?

vondarius21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:08 pm
Country: -

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by vondarius21 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:01 pm

Ok, guys thanks for the all the feedback, I think I have it worked out. It's bound and all the control surfaces are responsive. 3 position switch seems to control the modes as expected, and the momentary switch seems to work. Now I have to figure out the settings for my 350 QX3. :-)

Daedalus66
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by Daedalus66 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:32 pm

vondarius21 wrote:
Daedalus66 wrote:Yes. As I said, they apply equally to Taranis (OpenTX) and 9XR/Pro (Er9x).
I have a standard 9x not 9XR Pro with ER9X or I can flash to OpenTX withever is more desirable?
In most respects both provide similar features. There is no reason to switch to OpenTX when you already have a perfectly good system going. Make sure it's reasonably up to date.

However, it may be that Er9x is more suitable in relation to your next question about the 350 QX3. Will get back on that when I've analyzed the requirements from the manual.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

EDIT: Finally able to read this properly and realize you are using OpenTX in your 9x transmitter. That's fine.
Last edited by Daedalus66 on Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Daedalus66
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by Daedalus66 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:41 pm

vondarius21 wrote:Ok, guys thanks for the all the feedback, I think I have it worked out. It's bound and all the control surfaces are responsive. 3 position switch seems to control the modes as expected, and the momentary switch seems to work. Now I have to figure out the settings for my 350 QX3. :-)
Great. I've flown our Cub with both the MLP6DSM that comes with the RTF version and my 9XR with very similar results. When the weather warms up it will be flown by a 9-year old as a step up to ailerons from a HobbyZone Champ.

I'm in the process of analyzing the 350 Qx3 setup. The DX4 that comes with the RTF version is similar to the DX4e except that it has no trims or reversing switches (not needed in this application) and the throttle stick is spring loaded to centre.

Will be back on this one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

vondarius21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:08 pm
Country: -

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by vondarius21 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:42 pm

Daedalus66 wrote:
vondarius21 wrote:
Daedalus66 wrote:Yes. As I said, they apply equally to Taranis (OpenTX) and 9XR/Pro (Er9x).
I have a standard 9x not 9XR Pro with ER9X or I can flash to OpenTX withever is more desirable?
In most respects both provide similar features. There is no reason to switch to OpenTX when you already have a perfectly good system going. Make sure it's reasonably up to date.

However, it may be that Er9x is more suitable in relation to your next question about the 350 QX3. Will get back on that when I've analyzed the requirements from the manual.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have attached two files for reference for the 350
Attachments
BLH8180-350_QX3_BNF_Tx_setup-MULTI.pdf
(150.33 KiB) Downloaded 130 times
Set Up DX6-9-18 for 350 QX3.pdf
Set up file for reference for 350
(139.44 KiB) Downloaded 148 times

Daedalus66
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

Re: NOOB need help setting up Hobbyzone Sport Cub S

Post by Daedalus66 » Sat Mar 21, 2015 2:10 am

The first one of those is what's in the manual. The second one is the real key and is essential reading. We'll focus on understanding it in OpenTX terms..

Here's the basic setup:

CH1 80% Thr (limits -104, 100) THROTTLE (matches usual Spektrum range -100%, +100%)
R -104% HALF TRN MOTOR SHUTOFF ON TRAINER SWITCH (Gives Spektrum -130%) -- Note Replace setting of Mplex
CH2 100% Ail (limits -80, 80) INV AILERON (matches usual Spektrum range -100%, +100%)
CH3 100% Ele (limits -80, 80) ELEVATOR (matches usual Spektrum range -100%, +100%)
CH4 100% Rud (limits -80, 80) INV RUDDER (matches usual Spektrum range -100%, +100%)
CH5 100% 3-POS (-100, 0, 100) (limits -80, 80) SWITCH B - FLIGHT MODES ON 3-POSITION SWITCH (matches Spektrum -100%, 0, +100%) (GEAR channel)
CH6 100% GEAR (-100, 100) (limits -112, 96) SWITCH A - GIMBAL CONTROL MODE ON GEAR SWITCH (matches Spektrum -120% to 140%) (AUX1 or FLAPS channel)
CH7 100% P3 (limits -80, 80) KNOB - GIMBAL ANGLE ON POT P3 (matches usual Spektrum range -100%, +100%) (AUX2)

What you see here across the line is:
Channel number
Weight
Input (stick, pot, switch, etc.)
Limits settings in Limits or Servos page (Note E. Limits must be turned on to allow limits beyond 100).
INV if reversed in Limits or Servos page
The function this controls in the 350 QX3 and the equivalent switch name (Switch A, Switch B)
How the output relates to Spektrum (100% OpenTX = 125% Spektrum)
The name of the channel is Spektrum-speak (e.g., CH6 is called either Flaps or AUX1, depending on context.)

What you see above works in Er9x and should be readily transposed to OpenTX. I can't tell you exactly how to set all this up in OpenTX because I haven't worked with that firmware for a while. But if necessary I'll flash one of my 9x transmitters to OpenTX and figure it out. What version of OpenTX are you using?

This ought to take the place of all the "Set GEAR to B" type instructions in the "Flight Notes" document. The rest of those instructions should make sense if you label your 9x switches A, B, and I and P3 as Knob.

That's enough for tonight. To get the other two modes you just need to add mixes that will give values on CH5 of +100 (Spektrum 125%) and +112 (Spektrum 140%). You can use DR switches to access these modes, but I haven't thought through the details.

Hope this helps. Try setting it up and use the graphic and numeric output screens on the transmitter (or Companion) to make sure you are getting the right results. There may be errors in the above material, but the basic directions are correct.

I've written this up in the attached PDF document that may be more convenient to use.

EDIT: I should probably have started a new thread for the 350 QX3.
Attachments
Setting up the 350 QX3 on Open Source Firmware.pdf
(176.39 KiB) Downloaded 203 times


Post Reply

Return to “openTx model setup”