What a great package this OpenTx

Post Reply
tonnie78
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:33 am
Country: -

What a great package this OpenTx

Post by tonnie78 » Mon Mar 25, 2019 3:31 pm

Mostly this forum is used for asking questions, but this time I want to just share my wonderfull experience with OpenTx.

I am currently building a four glow-engined plane together with some co-builders.

It's a ply and balsa scrap build of a Lockheed Constellation with a span of around 3,7 meters.

My main task in this build at the moment is the electrical part.

Thanks to the combination of OpenTx and a FrSky Horus we can use 23 channels to control this Vintage Airliner.

I am using a second external XJT module to get channels 17-32.

This in combination with SBUS makes wiring easy.

One of the things I challenged myself with today, is how to trim 4 engines so they can idle all at about the same speed. I mean we have all engines on their own channel so I would love to have trim for all 4 channels too. I came to the following solution:

I started with adding GV1 to the channel for engine 1 (channel 29)
Then i created a logical switch L1 .
L01 = AND knob 6P2 is active and Trim throttle up.
Then i created L2
L02 = AND knob 6P2 is active and Trim throttle down.

Then i created two special functions.
SF1 L01 Adjust GV1 +=01
SF2 L02 Adjust GV1 -=01

So now if a set the rotary know to position 2 I can set idle position of servo for throttle 1

I did the same of course for engine 2, 3 and 4 on the 6 position know position 3, 4 and 5.

On position no 1 of the know it controls all 4 motors at the same time.

Because Gv1 is used in the mixer as offset it controls the whole range, so when i decreased GV1 the channel did not reach 100% any more. I solved that by assigning GV5 to the weight of the Throttle channel. So If GV1 decreases GV5 increases. So now I can change idle position but still maintain 100% Throttle open.

What other Transmitter without Open source software can do that?!?

So just one huge thank you for the developers of OpenTx. You've done an amazing job for all us modelers out there.



Last edited by tonnie78 on Mon Mar 25, 2019 3:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.


tonnie78
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:33 am
Country: -

Re: What a great package this OpenTx

Post by tonnie78 » Mon Mar 25, 2019 3:52 pm


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18968
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What a great package this OpenTx

Post by jhsa » Mon Mar 25, 2019 3:54 pm

Yep, open source rocks.. I use ErSky9x instead, which is equally powerful.. :)
For example on my IC powered models, I use a pot to tune the engine idle, instead of the trim switch. I find it quicker to set by the right amount, when needed ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

ThompsonJim
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 10:42 pm
Country: Australia

Re: What a great package this OpenTx

Post by ThompsonJim » Mon May 13, 2019 9:19 pm

jhsa wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 3:54 pm
.........................
For example on my IC powered models, I use a pot to tune the engine idle, instead of the trim switch. I find it quicker to set by the right amount, when needed ;)

João
That's a good idea Joao.
I will use it when setting up my new (almost finished) tug plane. (In OpenTX 2.2.3 though.).

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18968
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What a great package this OpenTx

Post by jhsa » Mon May 13, 2019 11:55 pm

Have a look here. At the end of the video.. it is for Ersk9x but OpenTX works more or less the same way.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vn07XDd ... qcuIqJXhb9

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


Post Reply

Return to “openTx model setup”