Turnigy 9x / Hobbyking V2 Firmware

Programming your 9x using the stock firmware that comes with the radio. (Note. This is for the th9x, not the X9R)
adza

Turnigy 9x / Hobbyking V2 Firmware

Post by adza »

Hi,

I am new to RC and am looking at the Turnigy 9x transmitter.

My question is in regards to the default firmware (or more particularly the v2 of the firmware that Hobbyking has recently announced is available with all it's new 9x modules).

From browsing the net and these forums, it would appear as though the original firmware is pretty poor, and it is highly recommended to flash upgrade (if not almost compulsary)?

I was wondering - does the new v2 'factory' firmware fix the original issues. Is it still necessary to expect to flash - or is the latest factory firmware vastly improved?

Thanks in Advance

Adza

ShowMaster

Re: Turnigy 9x / Hobbyking V2 Firmware

Post by ShowMaster »

The v2 FW talked about is still over a year+ old. It's still very limited and I believe is shy er9x was created. Later came open9x. Both can be used and will super charge a boring limited stick 9x and also double the model memories.
There are non solder and solder programming options to upgrade the firmware and add telemetry display as well.
If you want to just upgrade the FW or add telemetry as well is the first decision and then we can go from there.
Soldering options cost less but requires soldering and small circuit work. The non solder option is Smartiparts and you can read about it here and in more detail on the SP site.

Tell us more about what you want to do and we'll go from there.
SM

ShowMaster
Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
kaos

Post by kaos »

adza wrote:I am new to RC