ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
nppc
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 5:37 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Hessen

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by nppc »

Thank you for confirmation about opentx João.
Very appreciate it.
I've read that MegaSound module flashed with kind of special bootloader.
If I'm using Arduino Pro Mini with stock Optiboot, will it work with original firmwares for MegaSound9X? Or I should use your Bootloader? If so, what is the difference?

Thank you!
Pavel

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by jhsa »

Errrrr, it's not my bootloader. :) I just had the idea to use an arduino as the megasound board wasn't being produced anymore and people didn't have a chance of getting one or building their own because they would have to make a PCB, etc. Therefore I use stripboard with through hole components, so more people could build it.
Mike (the er9x developer) did all the programming. Arduino and bootloader. I think you will have to use this bootloader but Mike is the right person to explain why ;) :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17990
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by MikeB »

The standard Arduino bootloader should work OK for most of this.
However, the voice application does detect attempts to access the bootloader, and "drops out" to the bootloader that is on the Megasound board. To do this, it expects the bootloader to be at a specific address (0x7E00 for the MEGA328). THe bootloader we use is optiboot, with some slight changes, so it fits in just 512 bytes.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
nppc
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 5:37 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Hessen

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by nppc »

Ok, thank you Mike!
Will give a try to original Optiboot first, because all my Arduino boards is already flashed with it.
At the end of May, I will come back home, and then will try it. At the moment I will finish my PCB and send it to OshPark. :)
Will report back about my results, and public schematic and PCB files when device will be successfully tested.

Pavel.
nppc
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 5:37 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Hessen

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by nppc »

Hi João!
I'm comparing your schematic to others, and I see that some designs have pulled up D1 (MTD) line to +5v with 10k resistor.
Your schematic do not have it. What the purpose of this resistor? should I add it?
Thank you
Pavel

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by jhsa »

On the other schematic I have it is a 3K3 resistor and pull the MTD line (goes to pin 27 of the 9x Atmega) to +5V.
I'm not sure but I think I did ask Mike about it when I was messing with the arduino, and decided not to use it. I also don't have any FET transistors.. Only the diodes, and it works..

But that is to connect the voice module to the mainboard over serial to save models to the SD card when still using the LCD lines.. As far as I know openTX doesn't support model backup and restore, so you don't need that connection.. Only the LCD lines and the PB7 pin..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
nppc
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 5:37 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Hessen

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by nppc »

Yes, at the beginning I will try with opentx, but it is good to have oprion for Er9x :)
I think transistors there for level shifting. But I'm not sure, should I have transistors on PB7 line if arduino runs from 5 volts and sd card is 5v compatible?

Pavel
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by jhsa »

Yes, the transistors on the PB7 line are needed for the clock and busy signal if you're using the LCD lines.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
nppc
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 5:37 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Hessen

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by nppc »

Ok, thank you! PCB is sent to OSHPark... Lets see what will come :)
Pavel
Taipan
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:07 pm
Country: Australia

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by Taipan »

Hi João,

I am in the process of modding my Turnigy 9x – so far I have added the Hobby King backlight module, Lipoly battery pack and flashed ER9x r818. I have just come across this forum topic. I understand the electronics and I have ordered the items on ebay, but I have some queries about programming the Arduino.

1. Is it possible to flash both the bootloader and firmware to the arduino pro mini, before it is connected to the 9x, using just the USBasp and eePe? It is not clear to me why the instructions say to use the USBasp programmer to flash the bootloader and then say to use the USB to serial adapter (FTDI adapter) to flash the firmware? I don't plan to leave a programmer (a USBasp or a FTDI) permanently connected inside the 9x.

2. Is the backlight now controlled by the arduino pro mini code rather than the ER9x code (via pin D9)?

3. How does the ER9x code know that the arduino pro mini is handling the audio, backlight, etc – and that it is now through a serial port? What changes need to be made to the ER9x configuration to make this work?

Cheers,

Taipan
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by jhsa »

Taipan wrote:
1. Is it possible to flash both the bootloader and firmware to the arduino pro mini, before it is connected to the 9x, using just the USBasp and eePe? It is not clear to me why the instructions say to use the USBasp programmer to flash the bootloader and then say to use the USB to serial adapter (FTDI adapter) to flash the firmware? I don't plan to leave a programmer (a USBasp or a FTDI) permanently connected inside the 9x.
The bootloader will allow for the chip to be programmed using a serial communication. That means only 3 wires, against 6 from the USBASP. The FTDI adapter in this case is not used only for programming the chip, but also to access the SD Card. You can copy/delete models between the PC and the voice module. You can also send new voice files to the SD card using the serial communication. This avoids you having to remove the SD Card from the radio and reading it with the computer using a card reader. If you want to flash bootloader and the firmware together with the USBASP to the arduino before you build the circuit, you can. Please follow the link below and download the combined firmware file. make sure your SD Card module is NOT connected to the arduino at the same time as the USBASP.

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=948&p=94398&hilit=c ... zip#p94383



2. Is the backlight now controlled by the arduino pro mini code rather than the ER9x code (via pin D9)?
The backlight is now controlled by er9x via the serial communication between the tx mainboard and the arduino. Please see the schematic above.
3. How does the ER9x code know that the arduino pro mini is handling the audio, backlight, etc – and that it is now through a serial port? What changes need to be made to the ER9x configuration to make this work?
yes, this project uses the serial communication instead of the LCD lines and you will have to tell ER9x that you are using this hardware.
First turn your radio ON while holding both horizontal trims AWAY from the center of the radio. This will enable the Hardware menu in the radio setup index menu. This menu is now hidden for obvious reasons ;) Then in the hardware menu turn ON the option "M' Sound Serial". This will tell er9x that you're using the serial communication on pins 27 and 28 of the 9x processor.
Then go to Radio Setup/AudioHaptic and change the "Sound Mode" option to "Megasound".

Mike, if you're reading this, in my opinion the "Sound Mode" option should be moved from "AudioHaptic" to the hardware menu?? It also depends on the hardware you have installed in the radio..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
Taipan
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:07 pm
Country: Australia

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by Taipan »

jhsa wrote:
First turn your radio ON while holding both horizontal trims AWAY from the center of the radio. This will enable the Hardware menu in the radio setup index menu.
I just tried that method (left horizontal trim pushed to the left, right horizontal trim pushed to the right, while turning the power on) and got nothing but a blank screen for several seconds, and as soon as I let go of the horizontal trims, the standard ER9x splash screen appeared ... :cry:

I am running r818 of the ER9x code in Mode 1 on a Turnigy 9x, if that is relevant?

Cheers,

Taipan
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by jhsa »

That is normal. When you do that, the radio will power ON normally, but the Hardware menu will be available in the Radio Setup Index Menu..
If you turn the radio ON without pressing the trims, the hardware menu will NOT be available in the Radio Setup Index menu

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
Taipan
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:07 pm
Country: Australia

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by Taipan »

Hi João,

Yes, I can see the Hardware menu now ... I am slowly getting the hang of the ER9x software.

The only item that is listed in my Hardware menu is 'BandGap' - so I assume that the other menu items like "M' Sound Serial", "Telemetry", etc will only be visible when the mods have been done to install those options in the radio?

Thanks for all your help - I hope I don't have to bother you with too many more queries .... ;)

Cheers,

Taipan
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by jhsa »

You don't bother me at all :) Glad to help the best I can..

It's very strange that you have only "Bandgap" in your hardware menu. which version of er9x are you running?

I asked Mike about this problem, let's wait for his answer ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
Taipan
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:07 pm
Country: Australia

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by Taipan »

I am running r818 (the latest release) of the er9x code in Mode 1 on a Turnigy 9X version 2 transmitter.
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by jhsa »

Strange, did you buy the tx recently? I'm asking because the new ones from Hobbyking are coming with an Atmega128A processor instead of the Atmega64..
Can you check which processor yours has?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17990
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by MikeB »

The MEGA64 version of er9x is compiled specifically for either parallel voice connection or serial voice connection.
For the serial voice connection you need to flash http://code.google.com/p/er9x/source/br ... vn%2Ftrunk.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by jhsa »

I believe you need "er9x-frsky-sv.hex"

To download, left click on the file, then right click on "View raw file" at the bottom right of the screen and select "Save link As"..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
Taipan
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:07 pm
Country: Australia

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by Taipan »

jhsa wrote:Can you check which processor yours has?
I have had my transmitter for a few years now and it has the ATMEGA 64A processor.
jhsa wrote:I believe you need "er9x-frsky-sv.hex"
Unfortunately, that only gave me one more hardware option - "TelemtrEZ>=r90" and still no "M' Sound Serial".

Also, I now get an ALERT at turn-on that says "Switch Warning Please Reset Switches". But all the switches are in their correct positions and I cannot find any way to permanently clear that error.

I have reverted to the standard "er9x.hex" code and the ALERT message has gone ... :D Is that false ALERT message a bug in "er9x-frsky-sv.hex"?

Cheers,

Taipan

UPDATE: Thinking some more about the "Switch Warning Please Reset Switches" alert message when "er9x-frsky-sv.hex" was installed, maybe because I had not done any of the hardware modifications for telemetry, the switch settings were not as would be expected?
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by jhsa »

Yes, it could have been that. I wonder if I gave you the wrong file. Later I can load the firmware on one of my boards still with the m64. Will have to find a way of entering the hardware menu as the board is not installed in a tx hence I don't have the trim switches..
But it will have to be later because I have to work today. Sometimes we got to :) ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17990
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by MikeB »

With er9x-frsky-sv.hex, you still won't get the "M' Sound Serial" option as this version is already compiled to use the serial voice so you don't need to select it.
However, as you have discovered, it also expects the telemetry mod to be done. I'll admit I didn't expect anyone to be fitting the voice module without having the telemetry working, so I don't normally build that version.
I'll look into it, but I'll need a couple of days to get to it.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by jhsa »

Thanks for clarifying that Mike..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
Taipan
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:07 pm
Country: Australia

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by Taipan »

MikeB wrote:I'll look into it, but I'll need a couple of days to get to it.
Thanks Mike, but there is no rush as I have only just ordered the hardware pieces and they will take a couple of weeks to arrive - so please take your time .... ;)

Cheers,

Taipan
Taipan
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:07 pm
Country: Australia

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by Taipan »

MikeB wrote:I'll admit I didn't expect anyone to be fitting the voice module without having the telemetry working, so I don't normally build that version.
In thinking about this some more, I think you are right. It doesn't make sense to fit the voice module without having telemetry activated as well ... :?

Now I am looking at installing telemetry too, so please don't build a special version without telemetry, just for me.

Cheers,

Taipan
ReSt
Posts: 1581
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by ReSt »

I believe, voice module without telemetry can pretty well make sense (especially when you are using the original rf modules and receivers).
It can give you the model name, switch positions, flight modes, timer and countdowns and ....

Reinhard
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by jhsa »

If you decide to do the telemetry mod I recommend the one WITH the level converter. It's easier, no need to cut tracks inside the module (I personally don't like to mess with the RF module), and it can be used in case you have a XJT module with just a little modification. I think we just have to connect one more resistor, but not sure as i don't have any X equipment yet..

http://openrcforums.com/wiki/index.php/ ... _telemetry

You can also have a look at the link below even if it teaches how to do the mod without the level converter, which I don't recommend for the reasons explained above. But it explains very well how to re-route the 2 switches to other pins. This is an excellent guide by Mbanzi..

http://openrcforums.com/wiki/index.php/ ... #Telemetry

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
nppc
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 5:37 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Hessen

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by nppc »

Hi João!
I have very good success with ArduVoice on my PCB for Pro Mini. But I have only one problem.
I should put a finger on a R4 on SD card breakout board. It is 5V compatible As on the pictures in your first post here.
And finger should only put on startup. After that it working excellent!
Did you had similar issue?
Pavel
Attachments
IMG_20150611_202319.jpg
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by jhsa »

Pavel, I do apologize but I don't understand what you mean with "put a finger on a R4" :)

Good that is working then.. excellent :D

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
nppc
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 5:37 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Hessen

Re: ArduVoice-9x Voice Module with Arduino for the 9x Radio

Post by nppc »

It means that I touch with my finger R4. :)
But I just found the problem. This is a problematic SD card. When I used another card, everything works as it should! So nice and clear sound!
Amazing work guys!
Thanks a lot!!!
Pavel

Post Reply

Return to “er9x”