OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

openTx has introduced a range of new features, ideas and bling. It is fast becoming the firmware of choice for many users. openTx will run on ALL current hardware platforms, including the gruvin9x and sky9x boards. Work has already started to support the new FrSky X9D radio!
User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9053
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Kilrah » Sun Apr 20, 2014 7:03 am

Select Multipos Switch on the hardware page for the pot you replaced, then do a calibration as usual.

User avatar
ckleanth
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:19 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by ckleanth » Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:37 am

Guys can we have an averaging function for a1 & a2 analog voltage reporting with tunable parameters in the telemetry display?
Although I use a function to report main pack voltage below a threshold only if throttle is halfway stick range or less, voltage spikes still trigger the alarm, the same apply for the servo pack.

http://youtu.be/K_LvYdRqzIg
(disregard ripping off the landing gear)

On A1& A2 ports i use the standard frsky volrage reducer circuit with the standard capacitor across measured voltage to smoothen the voltage measurement/ripples.
the voltage reducer sensors are grounded straight to the rx from the battery (see schematic in connection circuit link below)

The motor & esc & bec equipment
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost ... count=3116

Connection circuit
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost ... count=3124
If it has wings it will fly...

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: -
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Scott Page » Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:43 am

I'm under the impression that 2.0 has a place for notes for each model. I'm unable to find this. If it's there probably in clear sight and I'm overlooking it.

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: -
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Scott Page » Mon Apr 21, 2014 6:10 am

Clicking on Compare Models in OpenTXCompanion is giving me a window flash and disappear.

bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by bertrand35 » Mon Apr 21, 2014 6:28 am

Scott Page wrote:Clicking on Compare Models in OpenTXCompanion is giving me a window flash and disappear.
This one will be fixed in next nightly builds


bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by bertrand35 » Mon Apr 21, 2014 6:29 am

Scott Page wrote:Clicking on Compare Models in OpenTXCompanion is giving me a window flash and disappear.
You need to create a text file [modelname].txt in the MODELS directory.

Side note: I allowed some special chars to be displayed like \up or \dn for the switches positions.

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: -
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Scott Page » Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:05 am

The compare models now works however the "Expo/Dr Settings" doesn't represent the new "Inputs" very well. Probably a change for a later time.

rdeanchurch
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Rio Vista. CA

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by rdeanchurch » Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:16 am

Scott Page wrote:I'm under the impression that 2.0 has a place for notes for each model. I'm unable to find this. If it's there probably in clear sight and I'm overlooking it.
Has this been addressed?

I am not clear how to make or use Notes.
Dean
OldDmbThms: 1. Takeoff, 2. Crash, 3. Repair, GOTO 1

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9053
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Kilrah » Tue Apr 22, 2014 6:37 am

See just 2 posts above yours.


Envoyé de mon iPad à l'aide de Tapatalk

User avatar
ckleanth
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:19 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by ckleanth » Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:42 am

Kilrah wrote:See just 2 posts above yours.
What about an averaging function in telemetry outputs with adjustable sensitivity (for each output?
If it has wings it will fly...

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9053
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Kilrah » Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:33 am

Got it, you posted it enough times already ;)
Might have to wait for the telemetry rework. Currently each telemetry value is completely independent (i.e. would need separate implementations). The new system will be common for all and will make that kind of things much easier.

User avatar
ckleanth
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:19 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by ckleanth » Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:24 pm

Kilrah wrote:Got it, you posted it enough times already ;)
Might have to wait for the telemetry rework. Currently each telemetry value is completely independent (i.e. would need separate implementations). The new system will be common for all and will make that kind of things much easier.
Not trying to be pushy or repetitive and I appreciate you guys have a day job and personal life etc. but I was trying to get through and perhaps if the other developers agree that this is useful, basically not just implement RSSI averaging but expand this to other telemetry measurements. I was hoping this could be added either before (doubtful) but more than happy if this is added with 2.0 release.....? (or at least provisioned in the model data structure so that we don't have to have model data structure changes again etc....)
If it has wings it will fly...

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9053
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Kilrah » Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:36 pm

It will likely only come with the next model data structure change AFTER 2.0 that will be needed for the new telemetry system.

rdeanchurch
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Rio Vista. CA

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by rdeanchurch » Tue Apr 22, 2014 4:19 pm

Kilrah wrote:See just 2 posts above yours.


Envoyé de mon iPad à l'aide de Tapatalk
I saw that.

I was hoping for a Function to cause a note to be displayed.
I can view the note by going to Menu Long, Look at SD in models, and do a perform View Text.
Is this the only way to have text on the screen.?
I.e., How are Notes intended to be used?
Dean
OldDmbThms: 1. Takeoff, 2. Crash, 3. Repair, GOTO 1

rdeanchurch
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Rio Vista. CA

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by rdeanchurch » Tue Apr 22, 2014 4:42 pm

Is including support for the now released Haptic module planned for release 2.0?
Dean
OldDmbThms: 1. Takeoff, 2. Crash, 3. Repair, GOTO 1

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9053
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Kilrah » Tue Apr 22, 2014 6:39 pm

rdeanchurch wrote: I.e., How are Notes intended to be used?
There's a "View Notes" entry in the ENTER LONG menu on the main views.
There's one on the MENU LONG popup menu in all model edit windows.
There's a "Display Checklist" checkbox in model setup to have them show when loading the model.
rdeanchurch wrote:Is including support for the now released Haptic module planned for release 2.0?
Not sure. We haven't received upgrades yet for testing, and we really want to push 2.0 out ASAP now and not have to postpone it yet again. So it might have to wait until next minor release along with the rest of Taranis+ support.

rdeanchurch
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Rio Vista. CA

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by rdeanchurch » Tue Apr 22, 2014 6:52 pm

Display checklist...I missed it completely.
Very nice.
Dean
OldDmbThms: 1. Takeoff, 2. Crash, 3. Repair, GOTO 1

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14368
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by MikeB » Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:15 pm

Just configure PC12 as an output, then HapticOn sets it and HapticOff clears it. Works fine on ersky9x for Taranis. I've wired a prototype haptic to my pre-production Tx.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9053
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Kilrah » Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:32 pm

But it's... kinda crude.

We'll enable the usual haptic functions, but needs changes to reactivate all menu items.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14368
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by MikeB » Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:59 pm

PC12 doesn't have any timer available to provide PWM, so it has to be rather crude.
Options are:
Just on and off
Create a software driven PWM.
Use the SPI interface and send continuous bytes that provide a form of pwm.

Just ON and Off gets it working.

The plus uses a pin with a timer so for that, we can do to 'properly'.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9053
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Kilrah » Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:13 pm

I mean on/off via CFs being crude in terms of functionality compared to having full support with several available beep patterns and support for system alarms.
I wasn't talking of doing smooth start/stop, no point in that IMO.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14368
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by MikeB » Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:33 pm

I thought it was a matter of defining HAPTIC, to get the menus and patterns, then just adding the HapticOn and HapticOff (and HapticInit) at the driver level.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9053
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Kilrah » Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:22 am

There was some cleanup to do, but it should now be working in the TaranisPlus branch. The driver has room already made to put PWM-based driving in as well.

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: -
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Scott Page » Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:38 pm

I'm not sure when the Insert option was added to the firmware for special functions -- but it's awesome. Would be really great to have the same option in Companion. ;-)

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: -
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Scott Page » Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:04 pm

I started from scratch today with a new EEPE file using 4/23 firmware and Companion. I'm not getting a change of rate when setting rates in the Input tab.
april 23.zip
(6.88 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
Attachments
2014-04-23_9-01-48.png

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9053
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Kilrah » Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:12 pm

You used the raw stick in the mixer, not the input.

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: -
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Scott Page » Wed Apr 23, 2014 5:44 pm

Kilrah wrote:You used the raw stick in the mixer, not the input.
Thank you. Actually, this makes more sense and what I ended up doing. Since it was a change (that I'd not previously noticed) I thought I should check.

Question: Can you explain how sub-trim differs from PPM Center and what the difference is when Linear subtrim is used vs. not using it. Sorry to be dense - but I'm really not understanding the finer points on this screen.

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: -
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Scott Page » Wed Apr 23, 2014 5:56 pm

I'm thinking some more about the Input window.
4-23-2014 10-47-24 AM.png
4-23-2014 10-47-24 AM.png (32.86 KiB) Viewed 2264 times
I see Input weight works, Switch turns in input on or off. But I can't see that putting multiple lines per input has any mixing effect. Is there a reason that multiple lines per input are allowed? Is there suppose to be an effect of having multiple lines?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9053
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by Kilrah » Wed Apr 23, 2014 6:04 pm

Inputs are like the D/Rs before them, multiple lines but only the first one that has its switch on is active. It's one OR the other, no mixing.

About the servos page: PPM center shifts the whole output including limits, linear subtrim moves center keeping movement amplitude symmetric (clips movement if limit is hit), "normal" subtrim moves center without clipping but causing assymetry.
openTx_décalages_subtrim.png

mstrens
Posts: 1060
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 7:49 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX - Nightly builds for pre-2.0 testing

Post by mstrens » Wed Apr 23, 2014 6:36 pm

In the menu "Inputs" it is possible to associate a "Switch" to an input line.
When switch is ON, the parameters (weigth, curve, ...) are taken into account. This is OK.
I noticed that when the switch goes from ON to OFF, the last calculated "input" value is kept and is still apply e.g. in a mixer.

Question : would it not be more logical to set the "input" value back to zero instead of keeping the last value?

Note : the test has been made using the simulator and not the Tx.

Post Reply

Return to “openTx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests