Taranis and DSM2 mods

Hardware help and support for the FrSky Taranis
Post Reply
User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by Redbrickman » Fri Jun 07, 2013 1:22 pm

Can anyone tell me if the Taranis will support the DSM2 mods developed for the 9X?

For instance if I have a suitable RF board (dx4 etc) can I fit it in a module case as we do with the 9X and use it in the Taranis or is the hardware different in Taranis?
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 8820
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: United Arab Emirates

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by Kilrah » Fri Jun 07, 2013 1:52 pm

It won't out of the box for the initial runs, but we'll work on adding it to the firmware at some point in the future.

User avatar
tilmanb
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by tilmanb » Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:02 pm

Oh, i was actually betting on that. Ah well, no drama can wait.

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4079
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by ShowMaster » Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:42 pm

What about using a HK orange DSM/2/x tx module. It does it all and uses a ppm input? Now they have x receivers also.
I'm a summing the Taranis can support ppm out in the module bay? That had been my plan.
SM


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk.

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:56 pm

Yup. Orange module will work.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!


User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4079
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by ShowMaster » Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:39 pm

Perfect! I'm not a big Spektrum fan these days but those BNF planes in a box are fun to fly. Got it all this way.
SM


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk.

User avatar
tilmanb
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by tilmanb » Sat Jun 08, 2013 10:33 pm

I should probably just get rid of my receivers and sell the transmitter whole instead of gutting it for the RF module

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by Rob Thomson » Sat Jun 08, 2013 10:49 pm

But the bnf models are not able to easily change to other receivers :)

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
tilmanb
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by tilmanb » Sun Jun 09, 2013 2:34 pm

I have no bnf planes. :)
My only reason to keep spektrum is that I have two working receivers and that my UAV can read the digital DSM stream and does not need CPPM.
Screw that, I give my dx5 to my brother. He turns out to have a knack for RC flying. And I have some planes to recycle.

User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by Redbrickman » Mon Jun 10, 2013 12:51 pm

Always amuses me to see the pricing structure on the BNF planes. They can often be bought for 45- 50 GBP ready to go and yet the receivers as spares are about 45 GBP :roll:
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by Rob Thomson » Mon Jun 10, 2013 12:55 pm

The planes are just a way yo make people use your rf system.

Once they 'lock you in' they sell you more :)

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by bertrand35 » Tue Jun 11, 2013 1:31 pm

I just added DSM2 support. As I don't have a DSM2 external module, I can't test myself!

User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by Redbrickman » Wed Jun 12, 2013 12:33 pm

Rob Thomson wrote:The planes are just a way yo make people use your rf system.

Once they 'lock you in' they sell you more :)

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Yes Rob I agree but the whole hobby is an addiction anyway :D

SWMBO says "Why do you need so many planes anyway, they all fly the same way?" To which I reply "shoes, need I explain further?"

Always receive a reply "Ah but they're different!" :roll:
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 15734
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by jhsa » Wed Jun 12, 2013 12:51 pm

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

And then you can reply, "What about handbags? Are they different also?" :mrgreen:
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by Redbrickman » Wed Jun 12, 2013 5:50 pm

Going too far OT I think but I showed the SO this video and we have called a truce :D

http://fashion-design.wonderhowto.com/h ... gs-361116/

She even has a cutting board perfect for modelling.

Now I wonder if I can adapt the idea and make a real flying shoe :lol:
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

User avatar
tilmanb
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by tilmanb » Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:18 pm

bertrand35 wrote:I just added DSM2 support. As I don't have a DSM2 external module, I can't test myself!
I can give you my module for pretty much indefinitely. I don't have any plans for it at the moment.
But, I have not modded it yet to fit in a JR style module box, but I have all the parts (3.3v regulator and diode :) )

If I can find a old JR style box somewhere, I can build it up for you. Or I can send you the pure radio module and the 3.3v regulator I have and you put it together.
I guess I also have to add one of my receivers for you to test?

bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by bertrand35 » Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:21 pm

I don't need a receiver, because Kilrah gave me an orange one. I would only need a module, but no rush, I will not fly with it, just do the testing...

User avatar
tilmanb
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by tilmanb » Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:49 pm

Pm me your address and I mail you mine

keithw
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:07 pm
Country: -

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by keithw » Sat Jun 15, 2013 9:35 am

bertrand35 wrote:I just added DSM2 support. As I don't have a DSM2 external module, I can't test myself!
Will it be possible to connect a DX4 and/or MLP4DSM module to the trainer port and be able to bind it ?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 8820
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: United Arab Emirates

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by Kilrah » Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:11 am

It's not in the plans at this point...
You have everything incl. power in the module slot, so it seems more reasonable to hook it up there, is there a particular reason to want it on the trainer port?

keithw
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:07 pm
Country: -

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by keithw » Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:06 am

Kilrah wrote:It's not in the plans at this point...
You have everything incl. power in the module slot, so it seems more reasonable to hook it up there, is there a particular reason to want it on the trainer port?
I want to use FAAST and DSM2 modules and I prefer the idea of not having to plug/unplug them

th9xer
9x Developer
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:09 pm
Country: -
Location: Beside the seaside

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by th9xer » Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:24 pm

One thing the built in DSM protocol provides that the Orange Module doesn't is "Model Match". Always a feature I liked so I am glad to see Bertrand is already on the case of adding the protocol back in.

dang
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 1:33 pm
Country: United States
Location: Olympia and Westport, Washington

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by dang » Sat Jul 20, 2013 4:53 pm

Has anyone actually used an orange module in the Taranis? I have seen dozens of comments stating it should work and believe myself that it should. I have an orange module here that does not work. I don't know if the module is any good as I have nothing else with a JR style socket. The module blinks once kind of feebly when powered up by Taranis but won't bind to a known working receiver or anything else.

rdeanchurch
Posts: 492
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Rio Vista. CA

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by rdeanchurch » Sat Jul 20, 2013 5:03 pm

dang wrote:Has anyone actually used an orange module in the Taranis? I have seen dozens of comments stating it should work and believe myself that it should. I have an orange module here that does not work. I don't know if the module is any good as I have nothing else with a JR style socket. The module blinks once kind of feebly when powered up by Taranis but won't bind to a known working receiver or anything else.
Mine plugged in without any problem with pin alignment.
I have bound it to a 6100 rx and it was just like binding on a DX-7.
Works fine on bench test with servos plugged in and channels re-arranged to JR/Spektrum.
I haven't flown it yet, my Bind and fly UMX sbach arrives Tuesday.
Hopeful I'll be able to bind to it as painlessly as it has gone so far.
Dean
OldDmbThms: 1. Takeoff, 2. Crash, 3. Repair, GOTO 1

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by Rob Thomson » Sat Jul 20, 2013 5:42 pm

Mine too. No problem at all.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4079
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by ShowMaster » Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:14 pm

Are there any modules that should not be plugged into the Taranis module bay that's popular? Not seeing a posted caution about what's on the #2 and #5 pins from the top I'm assuming most after market JR pinout modules are OK?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 13809
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by MikeB » Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:32 pm

If you have modified a DJT for telemetry on pin 5, then don't plug it in the Taranis. The smart port on pin 5 is logic level (inverted). I'm thinking about a slightly different mod to the DJT so it will work in both cases.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4079
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by ShowMaster » Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:35 pm

Thanks Mike. So pin 5 is the one to worry about on modules.
It should be floating for safety?
What about the pin 2. Ok to ground?
The stock FlySky and Turnigy modules may ground one or both of these pins in the module. I'll have to check. I'm sure many may try a stock 9x module so it should be addressed to keep from damaging the Taranis.
SM

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 8820
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: United Arab Emirates

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by Kilrah » Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:31 pm

Pin 2 is an input to the Taranis, but not used yet. So no problem to ground it, but don't send 12V to it... Which should not happen as it's an input on Jr modules.

Sent via mobile

SkyNorth
Posts: 953
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: -
Location: Mansfield , Ontario

Re: Taranis and DSM2 mods

Post by SkyNorth » Sat Jul 20, 2013 11:15 pm

The first diagram pinout in upside down.!
The ANT connection is at the bottom , and the PPM at the top
Just like the picture shows.

Post Reply

Return to “FrSky Taranis radio”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest