FrSky S6R low RSSI

Hardware help and support for the FrSky Taranis
FinnMaccool

FrSky S6R low RSSI

Post by FinnMaccool »

I wonder if someone could help me, I am new to RC planes and may have bitten off more than I can chew!

I have updated firmware for Taranis X9D plus to vs 2.2 and purchased 3 S6R receivers two of which had lost their antennae and I had successfully replaced the broken antennae. The third S6R was new out of the box and had never been in a plane. All three receivers had been updated and configured using STK tool. Only AUTO, STAB modes had been configured.
Taranis RSSI values in all three receivers were about 90dB near the receiver and dropped to critical values a short 20 m. distance away.
Discover new sensors screen shows RSSI and battery with flashing asterisks.

Result plane lost! Taranis X9D plus works OK with Orange DSMX/DSM2 external module in another plane.

Any advice would be welcome re the unexpected low RSSI readings.
Thankyou in advance for your thoughts.

ShowMaster

Re: FrSky S6R low RSSI

Post by ShowMaster »

Do you have any other Frsky non S type receivers? I suspect not or you would have mentioned it.
The fact that the external module works using its own RF and antenna only verifies that the x9d plus encoder and opentx is working.
What does the swr screen show as a value. If you hold the antenna does it go up towards 18? If so, I would think the internal xjt rf is normal?

Without testing the Frsky RF and antenna (internal) with a different Frsky receiver, non S version, you won’t in my opinion, be able to tell if it’s the S receivers or internal XJT rf system or antenna.

all your tests are with S receivers I think bought at the same time and you’ve done antenna replacements to repair them. That is suspicious? You didn’t say why they were delivered broken and what you did to repair or replace them as well as if they are official Frsky replacements if changed?

Also what a range test distance is vs full power is?