X8R with no range

Hardware help and support for the FrSky Taranis
Post Reply
stockton
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 4:57 am
Country: South Africa

X8R with no range

Post by stockton » Wed May 02, 2018 5:05 am

I have been give an X8R receiver only to discover that this device has no range.
I have tried different batteries, as well as different installations but no matter what, I cannot get better than 20 paces before my QX7 gives me a low power warning and RSSI drops below 45.
Is there anything I can do to sort this out as I would rather not throw it away?,

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9493
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: X8R with no range

Post by Kilrah » Wed May 02, 2018 6:53 am

Guess there's a reason it was given to you... likely defective.

stockton
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 4:57 am
Country: South Africa

Re: X8R with no range

Post by stockton » Wed May 02, 2018 10:08 am

Interesting even though she is wining away about her problems regards power loss I have full control up to +/- 150 paces away through a two meter fence.
I'll take it to the field this afternoon where I can do a range check over a further distance.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: X8R with no range

Post by MikeB » Wed May 02, 2018 10:32 am

Do you still have a RSSI reading at 150 paces? Do you also have any other telemetry, e.g. Rx battery voltage?
It may be the Rx is receiving OK, but is not transmitting the telemetry (including RSSI) very well.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

uomonero99
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 10:43 pm
Country: -

Re: X8R with no range

Post by uomonero99 » Wed May 02, 2018 10:53 pm

Is a well known issue in our flying field, only telemetry range is very limited. We have replaced all receivers with rx8r and issue seems to be solved.

Inviato dal mio ONEPLUS A5000 utilizzando Tapatalk



RickTee
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 12:30 pm
Country: -

Re: X8R with no range

Post by RickTee » Sun Jun 10, 2018 12:37 pm

uomonero99 wrote:
Wed May 02, 2018 10:53 pm
Is a well known issue in our flying field, only telemetry range is very limited. We have replaced all receivers with rx8r and issue seems to be solved.

Inviato dal mio ONEPLUS A5000 utilizzando Tapatalk
I'm having the same problem with X6R's, 20 paces and the Tx starts complaining of low or no RSSI but at 100mtr on full power RSSI is 52ish. Is this just a telemetry issue? Should I just range test as per radios with out RSSI? and ignore the RSSI complaints? Interestingly my X8R Rx works fine.

andrewfl290
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 6:47 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: X8R with no range

Post by andrewfl290 » Sun Jun 10, 2018 11:42 pm

I have been having something similar on my X12S with X8R and S8R receivers since I did the latest firmware update a few months ago. I have carried out range checks and am getting good range but I find that I am getting RSSI warnings. Figure I need to re-flash the current firmware or revert to the previous. It's not something that I am worrying about because I have a good range check.

RickTee
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 12:30 pm
Country: -

Re: X8R with no range

Post by RickTee » Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:48 am

Re flashed the Rx to X8R_LBT_build151118 problem solved. :)

I'm loving the Taranis, should have bought one years ago instead of the JR XG14....anyone want a JR XG14. :lol:

Post Reply

Return to “FrSky Taranis radio”