Adding one pot through trainer port

Hardware help and support for the FrSky Taranis
Post Reply
papagayo69
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:32 pm
Country: Europe

Adding one pot through trainer port

Post by papagayo69 » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:09 pm

Hi everybody !!

I was wondering if it's possible to add a pot (just one simple pot), or joystick, through the trainer port at the back of the Taranis ?
The idea is to have one extra "channel" that I can easily unplug or deport a bit further from the taranis...

I've seen discussion on adding a joystick with the usb connection, or adding one through the S3 port, but nothing using the trainer port...

Thanks !!
;)

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9418
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Adding one pot through trainer port

Post by Kilrah » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:10 pm

You would need a PPM encoder that can take whatever your desired inputs are and from them generates the signal the trainer port expects.

papagayo69
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:32 pm
Country: Europe

Re: Adding one pot through trainer port

Post by papagayo69 » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:32 pm

Like generating PPM from let's say an arduino, and sending it through trainer port ?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17629
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Adding one pot through trainer port

Post by jhsa » Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:24 pm

yep.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “FrSky Taranis radio”