FrSky S6R receiver

General Help and support for the Taranis Radio.
Post Reply
Raythegreat
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:33 pm
Country: -

FrSky S6R receiver

Post by Raythegreat » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:08 am

Hi,

Can anyone confirm if we can use the FrSky S6R receiver with the standard Taranis, not Taranis plus?
And also does it need OpenTX V2.2 and higher to work? Will V2.1.9 work?

Thanks

Helle
Posts: 560
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:08 am
Country: -

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by Helle » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:14 am

Yes,
S6R works with X9D, X9DPlus, X7, X12

You need openTx V2.20x ONLY if you will setup/ config the S6R with a TX (config send from Tx to S6R )

If you setup/config the S6R with PC you dont need V2.20, you can work with V2.19

With V2.19 you can do this:
Setting at Tx Mode D16 Ch 1-16
Ch10, Ch11 setting the 4 main Funktion of the S6R manual, auto, ...., ....
Ch12 starts selftest (Starts with 3times 100% <-> 0% in 3 sec)
Ch9 Analog value is setting P-Parameter (0 to 100%) normal setting is 40 to 60%

You always need latest Software at S6R!

Raythegreat
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:33 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by Raythegreat » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:37 am

Thanks Helle,

So what you are describing is that I need to use the PC to configure the S6R and then I can use V2.1.9 to do this:

With V2.19 you can do this:
Setting at Tx Mode D16 Ch 1-16
Ch10, Ch11 setting the 4 main Function of the S6R manual, auto, ...., ....
Ch12 starts selftest (Starts with 3times 100% <-> 0% in 3 sec)
Ch9 Analog value is setting P-Parameter (0 to 100%) normal setting is 40 to 60%

Do I really need to configure the S6R or I can simply use the Ch10,11,12,9 and program with my X9D?
Doesn't the S6R has a setup/config default and I could use V2.1.9

Thanks.

User avatar
kalle123
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:59 am
Country: -
Location: Moenchengladbach

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by kalle123 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 7:39 am

Raythegreat wrote:Do I really need to configure the S6R ...
YES! If you stay with 2.1.9.

You'll need this here - https://www.frsky-rc.com/product/pro.php?pro_id=168

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9093
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by Kilrah » Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:48 am

Configuration software is needed to select wing type and orientation.
Assuming you didn't need to change those from defaults you could skip the software... but at least make sure you understand how to verify the settings are really what you think they are.


User avatar
kalle123
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:59 am
Country: -
Location: Moenchengladbach

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by kalle123 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:03 am

Kilrah wrote:Configuration software is needed to select wing type and orientation.
You omitted sensor calibration.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9093
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by Kilrah » Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:15 am

Ah yes, correct - always done it from the radio too so forgot about it

Raythegreat
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:33 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by Raythegreat » Sun Jan 08, 2017 4:22 pm

So if I summarize, if I don't use the PC to configure I cannot use the S6R with V2.1.9. Right?
Will V2.2.0 RC8 work?

Thanks for all the answers.

User avatar
kalle123
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:59 am
Country: -
Location: Moenchengladbach

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by kalle123 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 4:59 pm

Raythegreat wrote:So if I summarize, if I don't use the PC to configure I cannot use the S6R with V2.1.9. Right?
YES
Raythegreat wrote:Will V2.2.0 RC8 work?
YES :mrgreen:

You have to do a configuration, but under 2.2.x this is done with a lua script ...

(I think, now comes the next question ...)

br

Raythegreat
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:33 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by Raythegreat » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:06 pm

Hi,

you think my next question is when the V2.2 will be released? right?
Well, no, :) I will be patient and wait for it. :D

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14472
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by MikeB » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:14 pm

Ersky9x r220 supports configuring the S6R from the Tx. If you can't use a PC to do the configuration, then you could flash ersky9x to access the facility.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
kalle123
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:59 am
Country: -
Location: Moenchengladbach

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by kalle123 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:29 pm

Mike is beating the drum for his baby - 9x :mrgreen:

Mike, off topic here, but as I know, you wanted to contact FrSky on Monday, could you please try to find out, what is behind that "STK20161212.frk". Thank you.

br KH

andrewju
Posts: 697
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by andrewju » Sun Jan 08, 2017 6:42 pm

Mike's post was not related to 9x in any way. He meant one could use ersky9x on Taranis in order to setup and calibrate the S6R.

Raythegreat
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:33 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by Raythegreat » Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:12 pm

No need for ersky9r.
I can take V2.2.0 RC8, then calibrate S6R and come back to V2.1.9 until V2.2.0 is officially released.
But: I will use the PC instead, simpler. Now I need to buy the STK USB adapter.

Thanks to all for your answers.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14472
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by MikeB » Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:08 pm

Should you use Arduinos and have a nano spare, there is a sketch available that lets the nano operate as a STK.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
kalle123
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:59 am
Country: -
Location: Moenchengladbach

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by kalle123 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:34 am

No need for a Nano, can do it with any Arduino.

Pawel demonstrated it with a Nano.

Small problem, you have to flash a hex file on to it.

Further info here -> https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpos ... tcount=855

br

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16672
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by jhsa » Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:13 am

If you have to flash an "HEX file" to the arduino, and that hex file was compiled for a nano, then normally it should have to be an arduino nano. That doesn't mean it wouldn't work on a pro mini for example as they are quite similar, but there are chances it doesn't ;) :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
kalle123
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:59 am
Country: -
Location: Moenchengladbach

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by kalle123 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:53 am

João, are you sure?

Have a look at different arduino circuit plans and tell me the differences

Pawel chose the nano, because

- it is small

- it has a usb connector on board

- it has ISP port on board

With a pro mini, you would have to use a USB UART adapter to connect to the computer and study the circuit diagram, to look for those ISP port pins. But that should not be a big issue. I tested Pawels hex with a clone UNO. No issues.

Just my 2 cents. I am not the big expert :mrgreen:

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16672
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by jhsa » Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:02 am

I said that there are chances it might not work, so I would try to use a nano. I don't have one of these receivers or I would try with an arduino pro mini just to see if it would work.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
kalle123
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:59 am
Country: -
Location: Moenchengladbach

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by kalle123 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:47 am

If that really matters, what you said "... that hex file was compiled for a nano ...", look for a genuine arduino nano with for example the FTDI chip on board, not a cheap clone from china with CH340.

Hex directly goes into the atmel 328 and does not care for fancy things like on board usb connector or separate ISP port. 5V, GND, MOSI, MISO and SCK are there, directly on the atmel 328, as RX and TX signal. And the hex file is not interested, how you get those RX and TX signals onto your computer. Can be FTDI, CH340 or CP2102 ...

The problem is, to get that hex file onto the atmel. You need a progger, the cables, search the circuit diagram. Therefore I did a short test with an uno here.

KH

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9093
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by Kilrah » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:01 am

There is no noeed for a specific programmer to load the hex file, the standard arduino bootloader does the job perfectly well.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16672
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by jhsa » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:08 am

How do you upload an HEX file with the arduino bootloader and an FTDI adapter??
Can the IDE handle HEX files now?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9093
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by Kilrah » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:23 am

avrdude, potentially with a GUI for it like avrdudess, or... XLoader, which is used and explained in the post he linked to...

User avatar
kalle123
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:59 am
Country: -
Location: Moenchengladbach

Re: FrSky S6R receiver

Post by kalle123 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:36 am

When there is a bootloader on the atmel, you can do it with the arduino ide and a trick.

Flash your pro mini with, for example, the blink code. Record the messages in the lower window of the ide.

Get THAT line and just replace "Blink.ino.hex" with your hex file. And correct the path to your file.

/home/kalle/Anwendungen/arduino-1.6.8/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -C/home/kalle/Anwendungen/arduino-1.6.8/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -patmega328p -carduino -P/dev/ttyUSB0 -b57600 -D -Uflash:w:/tmp/builde367934488b0983dfdff3b1e56e86005.tmp/Blink.ino.hex:i

Then execute that modified line in a terminal. Don't have to care for special settings ....
50.jpeg
51.jpeg

Post Reply

Return to “General help (FrSky Taranis radio)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests