D4R-II binds, V8R4-II doesn't!

General Help and support for the Taranis Radio.
Post Reply
User avatar
Crabro
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:45 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Saltdean, near Brighton

D4R-II binds, V8R4-II doesn't!

Post by Crabro » Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:52 am

I have an X9D and recently bought an X9D+ which was an EU LBT version. As I already have a fair few receivers I decided to update openTx and install the non-EU firmware.

I have installed openTx 2.2.1 and flashed the firmware to opentx_X9DP_mode2_nonEU.bin (file date Wed 30 Dec 2015). However, as the title subject says, I can bind my D4R-II Rxs but not my V8R4-II Rxs (using D8 and the same binding technique of bridging pins 1+2 and switching Rx on).

Any pointers to what I could have done incorrectly please?

Thanks in advance

Dick

User avatar
Crabro
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:45 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Saltdean, near Brighton

Re: D4R-II binds, V8R4-II doesn't!

Post by Crabro » Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:45 am

Can also add that the firmware is X9DP_2.1.6

CatRovacer
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:53 am
Country: Russian Federation

Re: D4R-II binds, V8R4-II doesn't!

Post by CatRovacer » Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:45 pm

V8FR-II, and several (7pcs) V8R4-II I binded successfully with several versions of opentx(2.1.1-2.2.1) with the internal RF module of Q7X.
Of course shorted ch1&ch2, power to Rx, [bind] operation in menu for curent model, 2nd page
Of course only "D8" mode for internal RF
good food & warm summer

User avatar
Crabro
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:45 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Saltdean, near Brighton

Re: D4R-II binds, V8R4-II doesn't!

Post by Crabro » Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:52 am

That's what surprises me. I use D8 and still the V8R4-II does not bind.
Anybody have any theories on this "impossibility" ? I have to be doing something wrong! Is it possible the internal RF module I installed is incorrect? Is there a checksum and a way to check it?

Help!

CatRovacer
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:53 am
Country: Russian Federation

Re: D4R-II binds, V8R4-II doesn't!

Post by CatRovacer » Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:59 am

When binding: red LED flashing, next red off and on green LED?
At me green LED very often blinks, it is possible to tell or a weak glow. )))
If binding happen, but Rx non responded, then cause there may be different unsuitable settings. I had incorrect parameters for the Trainer mode. try to play them.
Try other type Rx.
good food & warm summer


User avatar
Crabro
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:45 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Saltdean, near Brighton

Re: D4R-II binds, V8R4-II doesn't!

Post by Crabro » Mon Apr 02, 2018 10:11 pm

The Rx just does not bind. The only time I see a green led is when I try binding it without pins 1+2 connected, and I get a single green led flash when I release the FS switch. It's really frustrating. Thanks for the idea.

CatRovacer
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:53 am
Country: Russian Federation

Re: D4R-II binds, V8R4-II doesn't!

Post by CatRovacer » Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:43 am

V8R4-II have delicate antenna. check it.
On all my V8R4 & V8R4-II receivers it was broken off. soldered the antenna from other Frsky Rx's (spare from HK). or made himself of a thin coaxial wire. The braid is soldered to the GND (capacitors opposite the pad for signal conductor)
good food & warm summer

User avatar
Crabro
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:45 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Saltdean, near Brighton

Re: D4R-II binds, V8R4-II doesn't!

Post by Crabro » Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:07 pm

Thanks. I will check them out.

User avatar
Crabro
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:45 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Saltdean, near Brighton

Re: D4R-II binds, V8R4-II doesn't!

Post by Crabro » Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:42 pm

The Rx antenna is not the problem. I have since bound the V8R4-II to a non EU D9X and flown the model. It was fine and had full range.

Today I tried flashing the opentc_X9DP_mode2_nonEU.bin file from X9DP_2.1.6.rar using the bootloader method and the radio initially reported that the firmware was incompatible. I tried a second time and it apparently succeeded, BUT, it has effectively bricked the radio, showing a corrupted opentx boot screen and hanging. The only way to switch it off is to pull the battery.

I saw on a YT video that there are rumours that frsky have blocked downgrades to non-EU on recent radios.

Does anyone know how to tell if this is indeed such a radio?

TIA

User avatar
Crabro
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:45 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Saltdean, near Brighton

Re: D4R-II binds, V8R4-II doesn't! [SOLVED]

Post by Crabro » Wed Apr 25, 2018 5:09 pm

To overcome the problem above I used Companion to re-flash the firmware.
Having read on another another thread a suggestion that the Tx needed to be at least two metres away I moved the Tx to another room and both Rx bound faultlessly.
Thanks for your help.

Post Reply

Return to “General help (FrSky Taranis radio)”