Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Cant get your radio to work? General Hardware issues?
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14281
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by MikeB » Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:42 pm

I'll need to look through to see what might be happening. There is code in ersky9x to handle the barometric altitude in particular. This takes the first received value(s) as ground level and uses that as an offset to give relative height. This may be affecting the max value you are seeing.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: RE: Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Fri Sep 30, 2016 1:00 am

CobaltEcho wrote:
pmshop wrote:I stand corrected - short press of exit does clear...briefly though.
Happens very fast.
I also noted whatever the number is for max is incorrect.
I have 45 as max right now and the actual alt was 14.9 - looked straight at it.
Absolutely could not be 45 feet because my warehouse peak is only 25 feet.

If this helps, I hit exit and now alt reads 5.2 and max reads 16
Could it be 45ft from sea level?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Great guess but we are in what is called the Hill Country.
Known mean Sea Level (MSL) is 1720 feet.
That is reflected perfectly once I get a GPS lock.

User avatar
CobaltEcho
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 4:06 am
Country: United States
Location: East Coast

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by CobaltEcho » Fri Sep 30, 2016 1:02 am

pmshop wrote:
CobaltEcho wrote:
pmshop wrote:I stand corrected - short press of exit does clear...briefly though.
Happens very fast.
I also noted whatever the number is for max is incorrect.
I have 45 as max right now and the actual alt was 14.9 - looked straight at it.
Absolutely could not be 45 feet because my warehouse peak is only 25 feet.

If this helps, I hit exit and now alt reads 5.2 and max reads 16
Could it be 45ft from sea level?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Great guess but we are in what is called the Hill Country.
Known mean Sea Level (MSL) is 1720 feet.
That is reflected perfectly once I get a GPS lock.
Haha, had to try! I'm only 4ft above sea level, so it seemed practical to me, lol

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
-Echo

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:58 pm

Awesome!
I could have saved $38USD by building my own RS232 to TTL Converter for FrSky Telemetry from a Pixhawk:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/142076966567?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT
with a 1n4007 diode:
TTL.jpg
Diode band is at the top - away from the board.

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Wed Oct 05, 2016 11:41 am

There bust be a big difference how the data is handled between 3.3.3 and 3.4rc5.
Running 3.3.3 with the new shutdown sound firmware, FasV and altitude do not display.
I also noticed on the GPS screen, alt max needs a decimal just like alt did.
Temp2 on the RPM screen shows a balmy 199F
This morning it shows 32F but after GPS lock, it shows a sweltering 289F. :D
I will mention this GPS fix is at a different location - since it seems they are related.


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14281
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by MikeB » Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:34 pm

Temp2 is used to send "number of sats" and GPS fix (0-3). It is coded as 10 times "number of sats" + GPS fix (in degrees C).
So 199F comes from 93C, 9 sats and GPS fix of 3.
289F comes from 143C, 14 sats and GPS fix of 3.

If I don't receive FasV and Alt, I can't display them!
I'll put the decimal place in the Alt max.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:16 pm

Neat about the sats and temp relation.

That's the thing about FasV and Alt, they are received & displayed with 3.4rc5 firmware.
But I need to stick to 3.3.3 due to logging - Logs for developer and rc firmware editions are not interpreted correctly.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14281
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by MikeB » Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:52 pm

I may be able to do something about the FasV value, the voltage is sent in the passthrough data so I'll see if I can use that when there is no FasV value being received. There does not seem to be an alternative source for the Alt value.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Wed Oct 05, 2016 5:12 pm

I appreciate Mike. Hope they release 3.4 soon

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:32 pm

@MikeB ,
FasV up and running with 05 Oct 2016 firmware with 3.3.3 - thank you very much!

I know we discussed it a little earlier, and I know you are the developer and understand more....
...but I still don't understand why Alt on the ArduC, RPM and Custom screens can be seen with 3.4r5 custom but not 3.3.3 custom.
I mean that would be complete functionality...unless the square in the middle of the ArduC screen is an artificial horizon? :D
*note - older picture just to show the square:
IMG_9110.JPG

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14281
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:01 pm

The square has to do with the direction the FC is pointing (heading), and possibly switches to home direction when the home information is available.
It seems only 3.4r5 sends the Alt value (barometric) as a specific SPort value, using the Alt ID.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:06 pm

Understood.
I will check and see if Craft and Theory can change that in their custom 3.3.3

floaledm
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:02 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by floaledm » Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:31 pm

Both our modified 3.3.3 and the official rc5 sends (when using passthrough - SERIAL#_PROTOCOL = 10):

- GPS MSL altitude in decimeters on ID 0x1002 for our modified 3.3.3 and ID 0x5002 for official rc5: https://github.com/craftandtheory/APM_F ... 66a8e8R454

- altitude relative to home (using inav) in decimeters on ID 0x1004 for our modified 3.3.3 and ID 0x5002 for official rc5: https://github.com/craftandtheory/APM_F ... 66a8e8R519

The protocol that will end up in (hopefully soon) the stable version of Copter is the one found in the official rc5 (Copter-3.4 branch): https://github.com/ArduPilot/ardupilot/ ... rsky_Telem

The protocol found in the offical rc5 has some differences and is updated compared to C&T's modified 3.3.3.

As you were discussing, the rc5 protocol sends the following standard sensor values:
- Alt (altitude in cm above home position) on ID 0x0100
- Vario (vertical velocity in cm/s, +ve up) on ID 0x0110
- VFAS (battery pack voltage in volts) on ID 0x0210
- GPS (gps latitude or longitude, alternates) on ID 0x0800

Only GPS (gps latitude or longitude, alternates) on ID 0x0800 is sent in 3.3.3. The reason there's more raw (not using passthrough) values in the rc5 protocol is that users requested to be able to use them directly in OpenTX (without having to use scripts required by passthrough on the Taranis).

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:29 am

@MikeB

Did something change in the firmware affecting PWM limits?
When I would calibrate my radio by Mission Planner, my lower limits for sticks/ POTs and switches would be 1000
All are now 980-982 except throttle which is unchanged.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14281
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by MikeB » Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:49 am

I'm not aware of any chnages that would affect that.
You may check the actual outputs in the Limits menu. The currently highlighted channel output value, in uS, is shown on the top line.
The default range is 988 to 2012 uS.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Tue Oct 11, 2016 3:13 pm

Most excellent!
Craft and Theory made the Alt possible with an alternate 3.3.3custom just emailed to me.
All good now until the official 3.4 is released...

...unless someone wants to work on the direction square :D

But seriously - thank you all!

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Mon Oct 31, 2016 12:37 pm

Ardupilot 3.4 is released.
Checking with Craft and Theory if they have released their custom and I will report back.

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:30 am

Well, not what I really wanted to hear but @MikeB , you might want to see this:
From Florent Martel at craft & Theory...

I looked at your forum post, and it made me think that really soon we're transitioning to not supplying modified firmwares. The main difference with the official ArduPilot firmware compared to the modified one is that we'll use passthrough addresses in the 50xx range for the FrSky packets, instead of the 10xx range. There are other minor protocol changes, so that's an important consideration for the 9Xtreme.

So, if it's a modified firmware, it will work on the 9Xtreme as is. But if you use the official firmware (and ultimately that will be the only one available - no modified version), there's fairly straightforward protocol changes that need to be made to the 9Xtreme code...

As a side note, the protocol needed to evolve because of changes agreed to between FrSky and OpenTX (on the passthrough protocol addresses) but I don't anticipate that will happen again anytime soon.

Best,
Florent

Florent Martel

florent.martel@craftandtheoryllc.com

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14281
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by MikeB » Tue Nov 01, 2016 1:17 pm

Both addresses 50xx and 10xx are accepted by ersky9x. I think I'm supporting the "official" protocol, so I would expect 3.4 to work OK.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Tue Nov 01, 2016 5:20 pm

Checking what I have so far, the flight mode labels are mismatched for 3.4.
Everything else looks great!!!!!!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14281
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by MikeB » Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:49 pm

Do you need to select ARDUC instead of ARDUP?

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Wed Nov 02, 2016 10:42 am

ARDUC is what I am using

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14281
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by MikeB » Wed Nov 02, 2016 11:58 am

In that case, do you need ARDUP?
Please detail what the labels are, and what they should be.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Wed Nov 02, 2016 3:16 pm

ARDUP - Not that I know of.
What is the difference?
And actually, what is the difference between all?

Modes seen in ARDUC:

Actual Displayed
Stabelize ACRO
PosHold BRAKE
Auto GUIDED
Land UNKNOWN
RTL CIRCLE
AltHold AUTO
Guided LOITER
Loiter RTL
Circle UNKNOWN
Drift UNKNOWN
Sport FLIP
Flip cannot get it to enter mode obviously
AutoTune same
Brake UNKNOWN

Modes seen in ARDUP:

Actual Displayed
Stabelize CIRCLE
PosHold UNKNOWN
Auto ACRO
Land AUTO
RTL CRUISE
AltHold TRAIN
Guided FBWA
Loiter FBWB
Circle A-TUNE
Drift LOITER
Sport UNKNOWN
Flip cannot get it to enter mode obviously
AutoTune same
Brake UNKNOWN

Let me know if you need anything else.
**Column formatting did not stay as I wanted it to

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14281
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by MikeB » Wed Nov 02, 2016 5:20 pm

From Mavlink documents I found, I'm using the following:
Arduplane flight mode numbers (ARDUP):
0 Manual
1 CIRCLE
2 STABILIZE
3 TRAINING
4 ACRO
5 FBWA
6 FBWB
7 CRUISE
8 AUTOTUNE
10 Auto
11 RTL
12 Loiter
15 Guided

Arducopter flight mode numbers (ARDUC):
0 Stabilize
1 Acro
2 AltHold
3 Auto
4 Guided
5 Loiter
6 RTL
7 Circle
9 Land
11 Drift
13 Sport
14 Flip
15 AutoTune
16 PosHold
17 Brake

It seems something may have been changed.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Wed Nov 02, 2016 9:47 pm

Just to be clear, that is just the order I tested in...my custom 6 programmable flight modes.
Then, what was missed, I went in Mission Planner order.

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:14 am

Here ya go MikeB
From Florent Martel at Craft & Theory:

I looked at the forum and mikeB did things very nicely by providing support for both protocols (older and newer), so you shouldn't even need the modified firmware anymore, albeit this minor difference:

Re. the flight modes, there's a protocol change there whereas +1 has been added to the flight mode number compared to mavlink (so as to avoid sending all zeroes). So stabilize is actually flight mode 1 instead of 0, land is 10, poshold is 17 ...

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Thu Nov 10, 2016 1:07 pm

Did you see the previous MikeB ?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14281
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by MikeB » Thu Nov 10, 2016 1:22 pm

I've done a change to the source files for this, I just haven't had much time so far this week to do much, I was away on Monday and I'm still catching up.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

pmshop
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm
Country: -

Re: Turnigy 9Xtreme, XJT, and Telemetry

Post by pmshop » Thu Nov 10, 2016 5:03 pm

I understand.
Getting behind at the warehouse here too.
Just thinking, if the modes are 1 off, why would the name display UNKNOWN if it should simply display the next mode in the list?

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests