New 9x owner needing advice and encouragement

Cant get your radio to work? General Hardware issues?
calla969

New 9x owner needing advice and encouragement

Post by calla969 »

Hello everyone,
My name is Chris. I am fairly new to the RC hobby (been flying for a few months) and am purchasing a FlySky 9x next week to upgrade form my current DX5e. I have never owned a computer radio and I'm pretty excited about it. I am currently flying 2 airplanes and a glider and I'm really looking forward to just basic model memory, much less all of the mixing and programming features. I am operating on a very tight budget as I have 2 small children and am paying someone else's mortgage for daycare!!! I want to hard wire a cable for a USB programmer as soon as possible. I have been reading what i can about everything and just want to make sure I get the right stuff and learn as much as possible before I dive in. I want to DIY to save money, but if I screw it up, that defeats the purpose. I also get a lot of satisfaction from learning new things and doing things myself. I've read through the wiki and watched a few instructional videos and it looks doable for me. My soldering skills are non-existent, but you have to start somewhere. In order to be able to flash a custom firmware, am I correct in believing that this http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-ISP-Program ... 564wt_1166 is all I would need to purchase? It looks like it comes with the necessary connectors and ribbon cable. I hace some soldering irons and solder, but I'm not sure they will be sufficient, so I will probably either buy or borrow a sufficient one.