Arduino relay as killswitch

Cant get your radio to work? General Hardware issues?
Post Reply
User avatar
chapterone
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Country: Sweden
Location: Vastergotland

Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by chapterone » Wed May 30, 2018 7:57 pm

I'm planning to have a killswitch for my Fuji-Imvac magneto engine.

My idea is to use an Arduino relay and control it direct from receiver chanel.
The relay have 3 input pins, - + and signal.
Is it possible?
Can the receivers channel signal trigg the Arduino 5V relay.
If so, then I can ground the magneto and kill the engine (hopefully).

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9518
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by Kilrah » Thu May 31, 2018 6:21 am

You need to say exactly what your "arduino relay" is so that we can know if it's made to expect an RC signal or not. Likely not, so you'd need something to process it... like an arduino with an appropriate program written for it.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17815
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by jhsa » Thu May 31, 2018 7:20 am

I guess a ready available RC switch could control a relay..

João
EDIT: Also, a relay with 3 pin? Don't know any.. :)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
chapterone
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Country: Sweden
Location: Vastergotland

Re: Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by chapterone » Thu May 31, 2018 8:10 am

IMG_5722.jpg
This is my plan, but can I have a signal from receiver to activate the relay? (hope the picture will show up)

I have an opto killswitch from RCXL but it doesn't work on the magneto ignition.

João, wich kind of RC switch do you mean?

User avatar
chapterone
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Country: Sweden
Location: Vastergotland

Re: Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by chapterone » Thu May 31, 2018 8:18 am

0J4778.400.jpg
0J4778.400.jpg (23.4 KiB) Viewed 832 times
Here is a similar projekt. See https://www.pololu.com/product/2804


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9518
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by Kilrah » Thu May 31, 2018 9:13 am

Again please link the exact model of relay board you have. It just looks like a relay with a buffered input, not an RC-compatible input like the pololu one.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17815
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by jhsa » Thu May 31, 2018 9:22 am

As Kilrah said, link to the one you have please.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
chapterone
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Country: Sweden
Location: Vastergotland

Re: Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by chapterone » Thu May 31, 2018 10:37 am

It's sold by a Swedish company without spec.,

but here is the closest I can find (inkl. datasheet)

http://www.circuitbasics.com/setting-up ... e-arduino/

Thanks for your patience.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17815
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by jhsa » Thu May 31, 2018 10:53 am

Ok, then as Kilrah already said, that won't work. You would need some kind of circuitry or a microcontroller, for example an arduino board, to read the receiver's pulses and then trigger the relay.
Please google "RC Switch".
Hobbyking sells at least one. Then you have to connect your relay to it.
An arduino would probably still be the best, but you would have to code it and prigram it.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
chapterone
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Country: Sweden
Location: Vastergotland

Re: Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by chapterone » Thu May 31, 2018 3:12 pm

Thanks for your help.

I have ordered a Pololu RC Switch with relay.
Threshold 1700 mikrosek hopefully works.

I will give feedback.

BR
Kenth

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17815
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by jhsa » Thu May 31, 2018 3:17 pm

It should work.. The product description says:

"The activation threshold and direction are configurable, and a safe-start feature reduces the likelihood of unexpected activation."

So, I guess it will work :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
chapterone
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Country: Sweden
Location: Vastergotland

Re: Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by chapterone » Thu Jun 28, 2018 7:59 pm

The Pololu RC switch works great together with my magnetic ignition.
It has an adjustable threshold of approximately 1700 μs.

Thanks for support.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17815
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Arduino relay as killswitch

Post by jhsa » Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:10 pm

;) :)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”