which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Cant get your radio to work? General Hardware issues?
gordonmcw
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm
Country: -

which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by gordonmcw » Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:17 pm

OK - so I may have damaged the processor in my taranis plus, not sure but I may have left the battery connected when disconnecting the ribbon cables to repair a stuck pushbutton (the enter button).

Radio now won't turn on, no backlight, nothing. Charger does appear to work still, it blinks when plugged in, then switches to steady during charge.

Computer doesn't "find" the radio when connecting USB with the battery out.

3.3V regulator is working, power gets to the chip.

So - if it's dead, which exact part does one need to order from digikey or mouser or the like, to replace the processor?

I'd look at the existing one, but it's at home and I'm not..

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:21 pm

IT looks like I got a STM32F205VET6 when I needed to replace a processor in a Taranis plus.
The 'V' specifies the 100 pin chip, the 'E' is 512K bytes of flash, the 'T' is for the LQFP package and the '6' is the temperature range of -40 to +85 (a '7' is for -40 to +105 and would also be suitable.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

gordonmcw
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by gordonmcw » Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:11 am

that's the markings on the one I have in the board - found it on digikey, just over 11 bucks. Worth a shot.

it's deader than a doorknob.. so I guess I'll order a part, and this time I'll UNHOOK the battery before messing with it!

Thanks, Mike

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:13 am

Indeed, with the plus, NEVER disconnect/reconnect the ribbon cables between the boards with the battery plugged in. That was how I damaged the processor on my prototype plus.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

gordonmcw
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by gordonmcw » Sat Sep 30, 2017 12:39 am

OK - so I got the new processor chip, carefully cut all the leads, cleaned the pads, and installed the new part, paying careful attention to orientation and alignment. Went over all of the pins with a 10X eye loupe, insuring no shorts, no unsoldered pins, etc.

When I try plugging in the USB port with no battery, the computer signals a USB connection, and says "USB device not recognized" which is more than it did with the old processor.

So, now how do I get it to be recognized by either zadig or open tx so I can reload the firmware? WHen I run zadig, and say "list all devices" there's no STM32 device listed, so no driver to update, etc.

What's the next step?


gordonmcw
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by gordonmcw » Sat Sep 30, 2017 12:46 am

tried with and without the battery, with and without the SD card, and no joy yet. I must be missing something.

Is there a driver I need to get from ST to get this thing started up? Or am I likely looking at a new main board?

gordonmcw
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by gordonmcw » Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:09 am

Now zadig is reporting an "unknown device" as well as the webcam device.

When I select "unknown device" under driver it says "none" -

I am getting to really dislike computers....

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9495
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by Kilrah » Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:15 pm

"USB device not recognized" isn't software-related, it means something goes wrong before it even gets to know what the device is, so there's still something wrong with your hardware. Either there's still a connection/soldering issue somewhere or something else got fried.

gordonmcw
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by gordonmcw » Sun Oct 01, 2017 2:47 pm

Thanks - I'm not surprised. I may take it to work where I've got hot air soldering and a Mantis magnifier to look it over a little more carefully.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:01 pm

Pins 70 and 71 of the processor are the two data signals for the USB, check these connect to the USB connector.
Also the +5V from the USB connector should go to R91 (3K), the other side of which goes to R90 (7.5K to ground) and processor pin 94. This signal puts the processor into the STM bootloader mode.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

gordonmcw
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by gordonmcw » Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:31 pm

Success! Found a solder bridge between two of the pads on the micro, up inside the row of pins on the chip. I didn't count pin numbers, just added a little solder and used some wick to draw it out. STM32 bootloader popped right up on zadig, installed the driver, and now have openTX 2.2 loaded on the TX, and so far testing shows it working.

Thanks, guys, for the help. Appreciate the info! A 12 dollar repair vs. an 85 dollar new main board!

gordonmcw
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by gordonmcw » Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:34 pm

Mike where would I look for a short on the Switch D input? All switches are showing proper changes on the monitor screen except for D, seems to be stuck. I'm assuming that's probably another solder issue that I need to resolve.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Sun Oct 01, 2017 4:37 pm

Pin 38 and pin 44 are the two connections to switch 'D'.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

gordonmcw
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by gordonmcw » Sun Oct 01, 2017 4:57 pm

Thanks again, guys - found it, now all switches are working as they should. Teeny little pins for these 60 year old eyes!

Much appreciated,

happyrc1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:38 am

hi

after you replace new stm32 , Only plug usb to PC , it will note a STM32 bootloader ? Do not need use a Stlink usb to flash ?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9495
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by Kilrah » Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:52 am

Nope, just flash using companion as usual.

happyrc1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:04 am

hi Kilra
After i flashed so much version Companion OPENTX , My TX still not work. So i think i will erase chip STM32F2 by stlink and then flash firmware again.

but i wonder after erase chip STM32 , it will lost mode bootloader

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9495
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by Kilrah » Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:26 am

Flashing the same file through companion/dfu or stlink will give the exact same result.

If flashing is successful with companion and you're sure you used the correct firmware file you probably have another hardware issue like gordonmcw had.

happyrc1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:04 am

i fashed right all firmware for taranis plus .Even frimware orginal

You said hardware problem , but i saw TX alsmost only stm32f2.Other components are just minor. So any cause about hardware do it not work ?
Even i replaced a EEPROM m24256 , Sd card but not change

about EEPROM

I saw on screen EEPROM converting....... then no thing
EEPROM fromatting....... then nothing

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9495
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by Kilrah » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:09 am

What do you mean "nothing"? At this point it was expected the radio did not power up at all, now you suggest there is something on screen, but then "nothing"... screen goes blank? things stay? can't guess...

happyrc1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:13 am

nothing is mean Stop down.
still display CONVERTING or FOMARTING. Have to remove battery

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9495
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by Kilrah » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:17 am

Then most likely you have some non-working connections between the STM32 and the EEPROM chip, check all pins are properly soldered, no bridges, check continuity / no shorts,...

happyrc1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:21 am

connect is Ok . i borrow a TX from your friend to check

in companion , i still can read MODEL, write model OK

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:15 am

I've been helping on this problem via PMs on RCG. Let's now keep everything on this thread.
Summary of problem/progress so far (as I understand it):
OpenTx displays splash screen then hangs.
Flashing ersky9x displays splash screen, throttle check screen, then goes into what looks like a watchdog reboot every 2 seconds.
Bootloader (openTx) runs OK.
Ersky9x maintenance mode runs OK.
Tested with SD card present and removed, no change in results.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

happyrc1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:48 am

yes Mike ,Kirah
that is all problem

happyrc1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:17 pm

hello MIKE and Kilrah

I flashed direct by STLINK usb. but it not change . Same Problems ago

idk beside STM32F2 , any component affact to tx stop down ?

happyrc1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:45 pm

mike

Can you write a firmware do not use EEPROM (m24256 ) for ERSkY9X on taranis ?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:10 pm

Possibly (not quickly though), but if you run the bootloader (trims in) and connect to the PC, I thought you have said you can read/write the model memories, which are on the EEPROM. If so, then this indicates the EEPROM is working OK.

I do have some debug code I've used before that I can put in that would indicate how far the processor is getting in its execution.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

happyrc1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:30 pm

yes , i read model , wrote model on companion ok.
i also check power 3v3 , it stable .

ok . let me know if you complete

happyrc1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 8:38 am

eeprom maybe not issue. I removed Eeprom again by hot air. then power on tx . Ersky9x.bin on Taranis x9d also can not work.always Reset when go to eeprom formating .
i soldered EEPROM ahain and it can pass check EEPROM .

HMMMMMMMMM now only STM32f205 ???? what are you do now ? U4 : what is feature ? DAC ?it rate ? Some transitor on main board ?

my taranis Bricked ?? Sad

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”