Page 1 of 1

Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:32 pm
by trevornaim
Hi everyone,
Not received my Taranis yet, but playing around with companion9x.
Have cross trimmed the 4 primary channels, but how do you get the elevator trim to work only on the idle part of the throttle (ic engines) .

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:51 pm
by Daedalus66
I simply checked the Throttle Trim box in Setup. Then went to each of the four channels on the mixer page and set the trim to the appropriate trim lever.

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 2:19 am
by jhsa
In the model setup menu you might find a option called T-Trim. try checking it.
At least in opentx for stock board that's how it works.. the trim will only affect the lower end of the throttle travel..

Hope it helps

João

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:18 pm
by Daedalus66
That's how it works in the Taranis version too.

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:40 pm
by trevornaim
This will work if using throttle trim for throttle, but i want to use elevator trim for throttle. Just selecting the elevator trim for throttle affects the whole throttle range but i want just the idle range to be affected.

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:43 pm
by jhsa
did you do the cross trim? With opentx you can assign the ele trim to the throttle and the throttle trim to the elevator..
standby. will test on my radio ;)

João

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:51 pm
by jhsa
Ok, just tested.. You're right. T-trim is not following the throttle trim when swapping it with the elevator trim.. It will affect the elevator trim

João

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:51 pm
by Kilrah
The thing is that the T-Trim setting probably only applies to the "normal" throttle trim, I. E. Is applied to the trim itself.

Sent from my SC-03E using Tapatalk

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:59 pm
by bertrand35
As promised to joao, I will have a look to this issue tomorrow

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:14 pm
by jhsa

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:28 pm
by trevornaim
Thanks guys, will have to keep on it.

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:39 am
by bertrand35
Wow this one is not so easy!

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:33 pm
by trevornaim
Seems to me the best way would be a FW update, so that checking the Th trim box in setup, would assign this routine to whichever trim had been selected for the throttle. This would cover all options.

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:23 pm
by Kilrah
But the problem is that the radio doesn't know which is your throttle channel.
The way it works you may have 3 different channels referencing the throttle stick, common on helis for example.

One way could be to use the Throttle Source setting if set to a channel, but it would be kind of "hidden functionality" which we don't like.

On the other hand having a dedicated setting for just that rarely used function makes little sense too...

Sent from my SC-03E using Tapatalk

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:51 pm
by trevornaim
How about a check box for each of the 4 primary trims, which apply the same routines as currently checking the throttle trim box. Sorted!

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:44 pm
by trevornaim
Hi guys, any further progress on a solution to using the elevator trim as a proper throttle trim for ic engines?

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:29 pm
by iflyj3
I just received my Taranis and found the following with cross trims.

FrSky Taranis with OpenTx

In setting the model channels to use cross trims I found they are not fully functioning cross trims.

In cross trims, the old throttle trim becomes the elevator trim. However, the throttle trim behavior, no center announcement and linear movement remains with the old throttle trim control and the center announce and exponential function do not follow the trim.

The cross trims are for each model and not global as it should be normal with a radio.

I also have a couple of Turnigy 9X transmitters with ER9X firmware. They did not have cross trims, but added it when I requested it.

The way they did it was to put the line "CrossTrim on/off" in front of the Mode function in the radio set up menu. This makes the change global for all models and the special functions follow the trims.

ER9X

RADIO SETUP

CrossTrim [On/Off]
Mode 1,2,3,4

I would like to use OPEN9X on my other transmitters for compatibility reasons.
The global cross trim functions would be nice. This in no way interferes with using the trim functions in mixes like it is now.

Thanks fellows and keep up the good work.

Dan T.

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:35 pm
by ekill
Using version 2.0.11.
is cross trims on all 4 primary chs a possibility in future versions.

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:51 am
by Kilrah
You can already reassign all trims the way you want.

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:38 am
by mcddd
Is there any news about whether the problems with crossed trims in the Taranis will be corrected?

It's now almost February 2015, opentx is up to 2.0.15, but the crossed trim problems still haven't been fixed.

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:34 am
by gsambuchi
I have even tried loading v2.1.6 and cannot get the crosstrim feature to work. Am I doing something wrong? The only way I can get cross trim is to turn off trim on that channel and add a line in the mix using desired trim button as the source. Not ideal but it works

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:12 am
by mcddd
It's now December 7, 2016 and the cross trim problem is still there in 2.1.8 for glow/gas engines when using T-Trim function. Is this problem still being worked on for a future 2.1.x release?

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:51 am
by Kilrah
You need to weigh in on the related github issue if you want things to move. That's where devs look for things to do, and unless people add their word to it and give it importance it's not going to get much attention when it's in competition with 450+ other things to do or fix.

Re: Cross trimming on Taranis

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:16 pm
by mcddd
Thank you Kilrah! I took your advice and posted a comment to this old issue on github. Hopefully it will renew interest in solving the T-Trim issue when using crossed trims.
https://github.com/opentx/opentx/issues/170