Compiling Companion from Source

Help with any software/desktop related issues. e.g. companion9x, eePe, etc
paulj

Compiling Companion from Source

Post by paulj »

Good morning!

I have been using OpenTX for a couple of years now, and on my Gentoo system I have been compiling from source (cloning the git repository). Last time I was home, I updated everything to 2.2 without any issues. This weekend past, I decided to do the same on my laptop and "away" transmitter (I work away from home, so have replicated equipment in two places!). This is where the fun begins.

The laptop in question is new, and therefore a fresh install (also running Gentoo). I went through the process of getting the repository, and installing all the dependencies. However, it is failing with a CMake error:

Code: Select all

- Detecting CXX compile features
-- Detecting CXX compile features - done
-- Simulators library search path: /usr/local/lib/companion
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:99 (use_cxx11):
  Unknown CMake command "use_cxx11".

CMake Warning (dev) in CMakeLists.txt:
  No cmake_minimum_required command is present.  A line of code such as
Through google, I found a CMake macro which satisfies this command:

Code: Select all

macro(use_cxx11)
  if (CMAKE_VERSION VERSION_LESS "3.1")
    if (CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER_ID STREQUAL "GNU")
      set (CMAKE_CXX_FLAGS "-std=gnu++11 ${CMAKE_CXX_FLAGS}")
    endif ()
  else ()
    set (CMAKE_CXX_STANDARD 11)
  endif ()
endmacro(use_cxx11)
Is there somewhere I should be storing this globally in order for cmake to successfully complete?

Also, in the CMakeLists.txt, there are some environment variables which are not set in my environment, and again don't get set before they are used:
  • COMPANION_SRC_DIRECTORY
  • SIMU_SRC_DIRECTORY

(to name a few).

This leads me to believe there is a requirement for a local configuration file of some sort?