Taranis QX7 Switches cannot be selected after firmware update

Help with any software/desktop related issues. e.g. companion9x, eePe, etc
Post Reply
bbutcher6735
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:58 am
Country: -

Taranis QX7 Switches cannot be selected after firmware update

Post by bbutcher6735 » Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:09 am

I am helping a friend setup a QX7 taranis and am seeing too many strange things I can't seem to fix. 1. SD card error upon bootup saying expected version 2.2 ver6, I have the latest sd card contents file I could find copied to a 32G micro SD. 2. My switches are not being recognized from either the radio or open tx, they are listed in the source section but are greyed out and I can't select them. When I try to assign a switch from the radio they don't show up in the list of switches at all and if I toggle the switch to set the value nothing is recognized. I am not sure if this is a firmware issue or a hardware issue I need help.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Taranis QX7 Switches cannot be selected after firmware update

Post by Kilrah » Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:54 am

1) If it asks for version 6 use SD card contents version 6, not "the latest". OR upgrade to "the latest" firmware that matches the SD contents you loaded...
2) You probably wiped the switch settings, configure them again on the Hardware setup page.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17914
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Taranis QX7 Switches cannot be selected after firmware update

Post by jhsa » Sun Apr 09, 2017 8:57 am

As it has been always my opinion, the hardware menu should always be protected to avoid that. It is the second time in a couple days that I read that people change the hardware settings by mistake..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Taranis QX7 Switches cannot be selected after firmware update

Post by Kilrah » Sun Apr 09, 2017 9:05 am

They wouldn't have changed it on the radio, it's literally impossible to manually wipe all switch assignments by mistake, you'd have to do it manually one by one. That happened most likely by mishandling computer<->radio transfers.

It's happened a couple of times while it shouldn't theoretically be possible, but unfortunately people who do these mistakes usually don't really know what they're doing, so it hasn't been possible yet to get a description that allowed reproducing the issue and taking action to prevent it.

brm
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 6:39 pm
Country: -

Re: Taranis QX7 Switches cannot be selected after firmware update

Post by brm » Mon Apr 10, 2017 6:42 pm

Kilrah wrote:
Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:54 am
1) If it asks for version 6 use SD card contents version 6, not "the latest". OR upgrade to "the latest" firmware that matches the SD contents you loaded...
2) You probably wiped the switch settings, configure them again on the Hardware setup page.
ahh, i have the same - i did NOTHING.
just added an empty sd card ...

also the date time will not be remembered.

and - the big s*** - i cannot bind anything :?


moth
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 4:05 am
Country: -

Re: Taranis QX7 Switches cannot be selected after firmware update

Post by moth » Sun May 07, 2017 4:08 am

Kilrah wrote:
Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:54 am
2) You probably wiped the switch settings, configure them again on the Hardware setup page.
Please, can someone tell me where to find this hardware setup page?

Have same prob as OP - all switches greyed out; have searched through manuals and tutorials and still can't find this hardware setup page where I can configure them again.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Taranis QX7 Switches cannot be selected after firmware update

Post by Kilrah » Sun May 07, 2017 7:46 am

Radio setup menu (MENU long), then PAGE until you reach the HARDWARE page.

moth
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 4:05 am
Country: -

Re: Taranis QX7 Switches cannot be selected after firmware update

Post by moth » Mon May 08, 2017 1:38 am

Super, thank you very much, that did the trick.

User avatar
PITCHYandCRASHY
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 5:32 pm
Country: -

Re: Taranis QX7 Switches cannot be selected after firmware update

Post by PITCHYandCRASHY » Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:14 pm

So I'm in a similar situation with my QX7. I updated my firmware and now all the functions work except I cannot bind to any receivers. I tried reflashing firmware, with and without SD card (getting SD Card warning expected ver 2.2V0013)l. I tried factory reset and still nothing binds. I'm using OpenTX ver 2.2.1...Is there a chance the transmitter cannot transmit because of a firmware update or could it be a hardware short/burnout on the board?

Post Reply

Return to “Software”