Build Compile amod [Please help]

Help with any software/desktop related issues. e.g. companion9x, eePe, etc
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17722
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by jhsa » Thu Feb 23, 2017 11:58 pm

When I worked on the ArduVoice board, I had the same frustration you are having now. But at the end got it working. So, don't give up because at the end you will make it work.. It has to work. if it works for us it will have to work for you. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by MikeB » Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:13 am

BEFORE you remove any components, please try the following.
Use the normal firmware.
You have the FTDI adapter connected to the Tx and Rx pads. When you tested with the normal firmware, you can read and write files to the SD card, so these connections are working. Move the connection to the Rx pad to the PD2 pad and check you can read or write files still.
If that works OK, move the connection to the Tx pad to the PD3 pad and check for reading or writing files again.
If that works, then the PD2 and PD3 signals are working correctly.

Since the Tx signal is working OK, I can see no reason to remove the transistor Q4.
The reason for having D1, D2, D3 and Q4 is so that you may keep the FTDI connected while the Megasound is connected to the main ATMEGA128 without any electrical problems.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

darozas
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by darozas » Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:38 am

MikeB wrote:
Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:13 am
BEFORE you remove any components, please try the following.
Use the normal firmware.
You have the FTDI adapter connected to the Tx and Rx pads. When you tested with the normal firmware, you can read and write files to the SD card, so these connections are working. Move the connection to the Rx pad to the PD2 pad and check you can read or write files still.
If that works OK, move the connection to the Tx pad to the PD3 pad and check for reading or writing files again.
If that works, then the PD2 and PD3 signals are working correctly.

Since the Tx signal is working OK, I can see no reason to remove the transistor Q4.
The reason for having D1, D2, D3 and Q4 is so that you may keep the FTDI connected while the Megasound is connected to the main ATMEGA128 without any electrical problems.

Mike.
Moved FTDI like suggested.All works fine
Moved TX to PD3 writes fine
Moved RX to PD2 writes fine
Moved TX to PD3 & RX to PD writes fine

Regards

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by MikeB » Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:18 am

I think this is close to working.
I've attached a version with TESTING enabled. This sends some data in hex.
Put the FTDI adapter connecting to the Tx and Rx pads.
Connect the trim switches to LCD0 and LCD1.
Flash this test version to your board.
It should send the 'X' character as before, but this will appear as "58" (the hex code for it).
1. It should play file 0040.wav every so often.
2. The backlight should be flashing on and off.
3. On my terminal I see 588588588588 . . . If I press the trim switch, either way, I see some extra characters appear, some being different depending on the direction of the trim switch.

Typing the 1-9 doesn't work as this is the serial version and the code grabs these characters to see if it is a valid serial command, so they never get to the test code

So, with this loaded:
1. Do you see the 588588... on the terminal?
2. Does the voice file play?
3. Is the backlight flashing?
4. Do you see extra characters when you press the trim switch?
5. What happens if you press the "Esc" key TWICE on the terminal (not the characters E s c, but the key labelled "Esc")? I expect some new characters and the output to stop.

Mike.
Attachments
amod_lastSerH.zip
(27.03 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

darozas
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by darozas » Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:34 pm

Thanks for your time again
MikeB wrote:
Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:18 am

So, with this loaded:
1. Do you see the 588588... on the terminal? YES
2. Does the voice file play? Yes File 40
3. Is the backlight flashing? NO
4. Do you see extra characters when you press the trim switch? Yes
5. What happens if you press the "Esc" key TWICE on the terminal (not the characters E s c, but the key labelled "Esc")? I expect some new characters and the output to stop. Nothing changes if i press "ESC"

Mike.
So what to check now??? dont understand why Backlight dont work

Regards
Attachments
serial_pressing trims.jpg


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by MikeB » Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:45 pm

Please press the Esc key several times. If you have LEDs on the FTDI, please check the "Tx" LED flashes when you type a character.
The processor should be turning the backlight on and off about once a second. The signal is on PB1 (pin 13) and is buffered by a transistor. Please check there are not shorts on the board causing the transistor to be 'on' all the time. You may be able to see the voltage on pin 13 changing from 0 to 3.3V with your meter. The signal goes first to R5, so that is a good place to put the meter probe.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

darozas
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by darozas » Fri Feb 24, 2017 5:26 pm

MikeB wrote:
Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:45 pm
Please press the Esc key several times. If you have LEDs on the FTDI, please check the "Tx" LED flashes when you type a character.
The processor should be turning the backlight on and off about once a second. The signal is on PB1 (pin 13) and is buffered by a transistor. Please check there are not shorts on the board causing the transistor to be 'on' all the time. You may be able to see the voltage on pin 13 changing from 0 to 3.3V with your meter. The signal goes first to R5, so that is a good place to put the meter probe.

Mike.
Thanks for reply

Got Backlight working was short on transistor looks like GCODE wasn't done properly there so was i trace had no split. Got it cutted now BL works fine.

And now if i type in char in terminal TX led blinks

But tried to reflash with stock hex still no sound on radio.

Plays fine on Test file

ESC do nothing still

Regards

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by MikeB » Fri Feb 24, 2017 6:27 pm

I'll do another special test version, but I won't have time until either late tonight or tomorrow now.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

darozas
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by darozas » Fri Feb 24, 2017 9:41 pm

MikeB wrote:
Fri Feb 24, 2017 6:27 pm
I'll do another special test version, but I won't have time until either late tonight or tomorrow now.

Mike.
Thanks will be waiting !!!

Just tried to flash first test version i have compiled and i do same thing as the one you just send.Back light flashing file 40 playing,If i press trims adding chars to serial.

And if i flash non test version it makes BL always on and ticking again when need to play sound.

Regards
Attachments
ser_.png

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17722
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by jhsa » Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:46 pm

Because the connection to the radio is not good

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

darozas
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by darozas » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:18 am

jhsa wrote:
Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:46 pm
Because the connection to the radio is not good

João
Thanks for reply but there only 2 wires.

See attached

Regards
Attachments
connect.png

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by MikeB » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:32 am

You do have a ground (GND) connection as well don't you?

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

darozas
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by darozas » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:43 am

MikeB wrote:
Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:32 am
You do have a ground (GND) connection as well don't you?

Mike.
I got connected like this ???

Regards
Attachments
connect.png

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by MikeB » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:54 am

That looks fine then, just checking.

I've put together this test version, but I haven't had time to test it myself.
All received serial bytes should be echoed out, in hex to make them readable.

First, connect your FTDI and check characters you type get echoed back out. '0' will come out as "30", 'A' as "41".
If that works OK, then just connect the Rx signal to the main radio processor and see what comes out on the terminal. When doing this, have a switch controlling the backlight and turn the backlight on and off.

Mike.
Attachments
amod_lastSerH1.zip
(54.03 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

darozas
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by darozas » Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:20 am

Thanks again for your time

here results below



Regards
Attachments
RX type A.png
RX type 0.png
Type A.png
type 0.png

darozas
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by darozas » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:05 am

Dont know what to do hit wall here ........

Regards

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by MikeB » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:18 am

I think we have confusion as it looks like the names PD2 and PD3 on the Megasound board are swapped.
PD2 is the receive signal, and so should be wired to pin 28 of the main ATMEGA (which is Port D pin 3).
Counting up from the crystal on the main board, this is the 4th resistor above the crystal. Make sure you connect to the processor side of the resistor, not the via between the resistor and the capacitor.

Please just connect the main processor pin 28 to the connection PD2 on the Megasound, leave pin 27 on the main processor and PD3 on the Megasound unconnected.
Keep the FTDI connected to the Megasound.

Have the backlight set in the radio with the ELE switch controlling it, e.g.:
Light Switch ELE
Light off after OFF
Light on Stk Mv OFF

Now monitor the terminal and switch the ELE switch on and off.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

darozas
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by darozas » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:30 am

Hi and BIGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG Thanks to you

I have swaped wires on PD lines and flashed to non test version BOOOOOOM working

Where is DONATE button here ???

Regards

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17722
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by jhsa » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:43 am

MikeB wrote:
Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:18 am
I think we have confusion as it looks like the names PD2 and PD3 on the Megasound board are swapped.
PD2 is the receive signal, and so should be wired to pin 28 of the main ATMEGA (which is Port D pin 3).

Mike.
Exactly as I said here :)

download/file.php?id=15485&mode=view

And have been saying all the time.. This could have been working much sooner if people pay attention to what you say when you are trying to help and don't only do their own thing :D
Anyway, good that is working now. I think we all learnt something..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by MikeB » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:47 am

Even on that diagram, the actual connections are labelled incorrectly, PD2 and PD3 are swapped. Your black text is correct.

Check that the backlight and trim switches are working correctly.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17722
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by jhsa » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:48 am

darozas wrote:
Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:30 am


Where is DONATE button here ???

Donate Link is under all my posts. There are 2 links. one of them is the donation link. For Mike obviously :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17722
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by jhsa » Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:02 pm

MikeB wrote:
Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:47 am
Even on that diagram, the actual connections are labelled incorrectly, PD2 and PD3 are swapped. Your black text is correct.

Mike.
Yes, that is why I wrote the black text :) If the original was correct I wouldn't have to do it. ;) :D

And that is why I said above that if people pay attention to what we say, problems would be fixed much sooner most of the times :)
But it is not the case most of the times unfortunately.. Eeeevery time we try to help someone, they always do everything else but what you ask them to do.
For the person that is trying to help that is absolutely frustrating. It is already bad that we don't have the equipment in front of us, so we do need to spend a lot of time doing some research, open our own radios sometimes, try to remember how we did it years ago, searching forums for hours, making pictures and sketches so people understand better what they need to do, etc. It is really frustrating when you do all this and then people just ignore your advice..
I'm not talking about this particular case, but in general.. Sometimes you just think, "Well Bugger it"" :(

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

darozas
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by darozas » Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:15 pm

Hi all again !!!

How does the haptic feedback works tried to connect small motor but looks like nothing happening :(

Set to do haptic on switch change soldered 3.3v vibrator motor in line with diode but wont runn.

De-soldered motor plugged multi meter on but cant see anything changing in voltage?

Again sorry to bother you with that many questions

Regards

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by MikeB » Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:31 pm

I didn't include a haptic driver on my original design. I think the board you have includes the driver (transistor buffer), but it still needs to be wired to the main processor, pin 43. There is a pad labelled PG2 on your board for this connection.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

darozas
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by darozas » Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:42 pm

MikeB wrote:
Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:31 pm
I didn't include a haptic driver on my original design. I think the board you have includes the driver (transistor buffer), but it still needs to be wired to the main processor, pin 43. There is a pad labelled PG2 on your board for this connection.

Mike.
Thanks for your time again

But i connected it to HAP+ pin should i need connect to PG2 instead?

And what type of or sort off voltage i should see there coz nothing changing when input is done meter reads nothing when connected to GND & HAP+ pin? PPM?

Regards

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by MikeB » Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:46 pm

The processor on the main board provides the control signal on port G bit 2 (PG2, pin 43). This signal cannot supply enough current to drive the haptic motor, so it needs a transistor to buffer the signal and drive the motor.
It appears this transistor is on your board, so you:
connect a wire from the main processor, pin 43, to the pad labelled PG2 on your Megasound board.
connect the haptic motor to the two pads marked haptic on your Megasound board.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

kmargos
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 7:54 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by kmargos » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:52 pm

Hi All,


In the MAKEFILE....

Code: Select all

atmega328_isp: atmega328
atmega328_isp: TARGET = atmega328
atmega328_isp: MCU_TARGET = atmega328p
# 512 byte boot, SPIEN
atmega328_isp: HFUSE = DE
# Low power xtal (16MHz) 16KCK/14CK+65ms
atmega328_isp: LFUSE = FF
# 2.7V brownout
atmega328_isp: EFUSE = FD
atmega328_isp: isp
I set HFUSE to DE or D6 ?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by MikeB » Sat Nov 04, 2017 7:40 pm

It shouldn't make any difference. The 1 bit that is different is the "preserve EEPROM" when erasing bit. Since the AMOD code (as I recall) doesn't use the EEPROM, it makes no difference. Using D6 does preserve the EEPROM.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

kmargos
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 7:54 pm
Country: -

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by kmargos » Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:46 pm

Hi Mike,

Do you know if sometimes when connecting the TX the megasound does not work, and that has to turn it off and on again to work?

Marco,

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Build Compile amod [Please help]

Post by MikeB » Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:25 pm

No, both my MegaSound boards work fine every time I power on. I have a MegaSound board that was produced by a member here in a 2561 Tx on a serial connection. I have another, my original build, in a M64 Tx. I'm not sure if this is on serial or parallel.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Post Reply

Return to “Software”