Serial in eepe/eepskye

eepSKYe is the desktop too for flashing and managing your sky9x firmware.
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by jhsa » Mon Oct 03, 2016 4:07 pm

thanks Mike.. Will try that right now.. I remember trying to do it but somehow it didn't work, hence I asked again.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by jhsa » Mon Oct 03, 2016 4:15 pm

I can confirm it works.. I don't know why it didn't before.. :o

Thank you

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

michel49
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:59 am
Country: -

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by michel49 » Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:28 am

There is something strange: when I click "send S-Bus" I assume Eepe send a S-Bus frame, but the Tx expect a PPM frame ? how can it work ?

Why don't you use the USB link, it would be easier ; another strange thing: when I open the models file in Eepe 418 and click on the top "preferences generales", on the trainer menu I have choice berween 4 sources: jack, cppm, S-Bus and slave...

Michel

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by jhsa » Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:09 am

I think the version of the firmware you have installed on your radio might not have the trainer profiles yet..
Please go here

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4676

and download the file called "ersky9xProvR219w_multiDSM-2.zip". Unzip it and flash the right binary for your radio.

Also, don't use eepe with ersky9x, use eepskye. You will find eepskye.exe inside eepe's installation folder.

João

EDIT: in the trainer menu you have to set the "Trainer Source" to "BT" for the radio to expect SBus.
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14281
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by MikeB » Tue Oct 04, 2016 12:22 pm

Which radio are you using?
Those options are now only on the Taranis, since it doesn't have bluetooth. The SBUS and CPPM are for an input on pin 2 of the module connector (2nd pin from the top), on the Taranis.
On the 'PRO, you should see Jack, BT, COM2 and Slave.
You could use a wired connection to COM2, there is a setting in the telemetry menu for the COM2 function to use SBUS at 57600 baud.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


michel49
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:59 am
Country: -

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by michel49 » Tue Oct 04, 2016 3:42 pm

OK; I use the PRO with R219 and eepeskye; and I understand the "BT" option is OK for S-Bus frame. I'm not sure about COM2, is that the Futaba connector on the top ?

Michel

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14281
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by MikeB » Tue Oct 04, 2016 4:38 pm

Yes.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

dougal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by dougal » Sat Apr 29, 2017 10:17 pm

Hello,
I really hope someone will be able to help me out as I've been going round in circles for at least the last two days.

Basically I've been trying to get control of my model using eePe r421. The Tx is a Flysky FSTH-9X running er9X r820, have also tried r808. I feel I've setup the hardware correctly using a Adrduino Pro Mini ATmega328P connected to a FT232RL FTDI USB serial adapter. When I go to the simulator and click on the Send SBUS button the leds on the Arduino and FTDI flash rapidly as expected. I've read several articles on here, including 5476, and watched several youtube videos but still cannot achieve success. I feel I must be making a schoolboy error somewhere along the line, any help really appreciated!
Thanks in anticipation

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by jhsa » Sat Apr 29, 2017 11:38 pm

hi, welcome to the forum..
so, it seems that eepe is connecting to the arduino via serial, right?
A couple questions, is the arduino outputting PPM?
How do you connect the arduino to the radio? to the radio's trainer port?
If so, Please go to "Radio Setup / Trainer menu and check the numbers at the bottom change when you move the sticks on eepe's simulator

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

dougal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by dougal » Sun Apr 30, 2017 2:01 pm

Hi Joao,

I hope you're having a good weekend, and thank you for responding so quickly. I've spent the morning checking and double checking everything again hoping to find the problem so as not to take up too much of your time, but still no further on.

To answer your questions, I assume the Arduino is outputting PPM ok as the led changes from a slow flash to a fast flash when I click on the Send SBUS button and the led on the FTDI flashes very fast.
The Arduino is connected to the Tx trainer port. The 3.5mm jack plug is wired with pin10 of the Arduino connected to the tip of the plug and the gnd connection of the Arduino connected to the gnd connection of the jack plug. The middle connection on the jack plug is not connected to anything. Is this correct? I copied the connections from the picture here download/file.php?id=9363&mode=view When I go to the Trainer Menu the numbers at the bottom of the screen do not change, which from what you have said, I presume this is fundamentally the issue.

The connections from the Arduino to the FTDI are as follows :
Arduino FTDI
gnd------gnd
vcc-------vcc
rx--------tx
tx--------rx
dtr-------dtr
cts
The Trainer Menu is
RUD := 80% ch1 Switch RUD
ELE := 80% ch2 Switch RUD
THR := 80% ch3 Switch RUD
AIL := 80% ch4 Switch RUD

Thanks again for your help, I don't know what else to try...
Kind regards, Dougal

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by jhsa » Sun Apr 30, 2017 3:00 pm

Ok, I don't know if you're already doing this but in case you're not please insert the jack plug in the radio with the radio still OFF.
When you insert the plug, the radio will power ON, even with the power switch in the OFF position. The the radio is ready to receive PPM. If you power the radio ON first, it will be sending PPM and not expecting to receive a PPM signal on the trainer port..
see if this fixes your problem.. Check that the calibration numbers change this time..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

dougal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by dougal » Sun Apr 30, 2017 3:52 pm

Hi Joao,
Thanks for getting back to me so quickly. Previously I had been starting off with the TX switched on, however I've tried what you've suggested but unfortunately I still can't get the numbers to change and of course no luck with eepe either. I'm still wondering what I must be doing wrong!!
Kind regards,
Dougal

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by jhsa » Sun Apr 30, 2017 4:05 pm

What file did you flash to the arduino?

Do you have a scope, so you can see what signal you're getting from the arduino?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

dougal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by dougal » Sun Apr 30, 2017 4:19 pm

Hi Joao,
I don't have a scope, but I can get this checked by a friend of mine who has one. I didn't manually flash a file to the arduino, when I connected the arduino to the computer (Windows 7) windows update installed the software for the arduino.
Kind regards
Dougal

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by jhsa » Sun Apr 30, 2017 5:48 pm

Ahh, you didn't program your arduino board, then it is not going to work.. :)
You need to install the arduino IDE on your computer, and then program the arduino board with the sketch that you can download from the first post of this thread..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

dougal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by dougal » Sun Apr 30, 2017 7:38 pm

Thanks again Joao. I've installed the arduino ide and will press on with programming the arduino next. Until now I didn't realise that a sketch was a term for some code. You can obviously tell that I'm a bit out of my depth here! I'll let you know how I get on...
Regards, Dougal

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by jhsa » Sun Apr 30, 2017 7:59 pm

You will need to download this file, extract it, and load it in the arduino IDE.

download/file.php?id=9386

Then go to tools, select your arduino board, select the correct COM port, and hit the "Upload" button. wait until it finished uploading.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

dougal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by dougal » Sun Apr 30, 2017 10:06 pm

Hi Joao,
Have just read your latest message. I had been trying to flash the arduino with SbusToPpm_21.ino which I got from the first post of the thread as mentioned, for the last hour or two but kept getting an error.
I'll try the one you've just mentioned and let you know how I get on.
Thanks again for your help 8-)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by jhsa » Sun Apr 30, 2017 10:20 pm

No, that one outputs the signal for 16 servo channels. that means you wouldn't need your radio, just connect your model's servos directly to the arduino as shown on the pictures inside the zip file..
I just tried to compile it and it does give an error..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by jhsa » Sun Apr 30, 2017 10:42 pm

First post updated with new " Eepskye_SBus to PWM.zip " file.. The arduino file didn't compile anymore on newer versions of the arduino IDE.. I think the latest version from Mike is working..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

dougal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by dougal » Mon May 01, 2017 7:01 pm

Hi Joao,
Thanks again for all of your help, have been out all of today or would have replied sooner. I have been able to successfully flash the arduino with the file Eepskye_serial_NEG_Sbus you suggested, without any errors. The good news is that when I look at the trainer screen on the Tx (currently running er9x r808) the calibration numbers change when I use the simulator, but the bad news is I still can't get eePe to communicate with the model. I'm wondering if I've overlooked something but I can't think what. I apologise for taking up so much of your time, as I feel I'm leaving a trail of school boy errors here :?

Kind regards
Dougal

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by jhsa » Mon May 01, 2017 10:37 pm

Ok, those are good news, calibrate the inputs in the trainer menu. put all the simulator's sticks in the center (including the throttle stick) and then hit "cal" on the radio.. All numbers should change to zero. don't forget to configure a switch to turn trainer ON or OFF..

Then create a model called simulator, and go to "Model Setup / general. Scroll down to "Trainer" and enable it. It should now work..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

dougal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by dougal » Tue May 02, 2017 9:32 am

Thanks Joao, I'll give that a try this evening and let you know how I get on...

Kind regards, Dougal

dougal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by dougal » Tue May 02, 2017 9:06 pm

Hi Joao,
A really big thanks to you today. I've now got the eePe simulator communicating with a receiver and servos at last thanks to all the information and help you've given me. With a bit more fine tuning (should keep me busy for a day or two) hopefully it should all be 100% I know for sure that left to my own devices this would have been a failed project. This will certainly make setting up a full house glider much easier.
Just a quick question on something else : Will any of the open source software featured on this forum run on a Turnigy TGY-i10?

Thanks again Joao
Kind regards, Dougal

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by jhsa » Tue May 02, 2017 9:39 pm

Good that is working.. Don't forget to do what I suggest on the first post so the throws of the servos are exactly the same. That means, enable "Extended Limits" in the model general menu, and then set the mixes to 80%. I think this is correct, must check..

As far as I know, no open source firmware runs on the i10.

João

Sent from my thor using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

dougal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Serial in eepe/eepskye

Post by dougal » Tue May 02, 2017 10:54 pm

Thank you Joao

Post Reply

Return to “eepSKYe”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest