Page 2 of 2

Re: PPM to USB Dongle

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 6:45 pm
by kalle123
Octavio, specially for you ;)

Switched my machine from linux to win7. Dualboot and normally I am on linux!

Started phoenixrc with that "illegal" dongle and my MPX Pro 7 connected.
Unbenannt.JPG
All 7 channels are there. Channel 7 is NOT in that pic, because it is on a switch and at the moment I am to lazy to search through MPX menus, what is programmed on that switch.

So, I guess, the problem is with you, not with that dongle .... ;)

br

Re: PPM to USB Dongle

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:50 pm
by OctavioS
kalle123 wrote:
So, I guess, the problem is with you, not with that dongle .... ;)

br
I have to agree with you. And at least in this case im happier that way. :)
Can you please enlighten me then, because i dont know what else to do for the other channels to work or to showup. Is there anything in the configuration that you do in order to specify the source input?

Re: PPM to USB Dongle

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:10 pm
by kalle123
Octavio, I did it with my MPX radio, not the taranis!

Did you make the settings according to that video?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3FUXcevbwk

Re: PPM to USB Dongle

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:54 pm
by OctavioS
kalle123 wrote:
Did you make the settings according to that video?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3FUXcevbwk

Yes, that was actually the video i watched when first configured it.
dont know what is "mpx radio".

Re: PPM to USB Dongle

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:10 pm
by jhsa
Multiplex radio.. the only brand of radio until today that destroyed one of my models after just a few flights. Not even the 9x managed to achieve that :)

Re: PPM to USB Dongle

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:29 pm
by kalle123
Octavio. Did not do a test with my taranis, but with other make of radio.

By the way Octavio, do you have more than 4 channels configured on your taranis? Do you see any movement in channel monitor on your taranis on channel 5, 6 , 7 , 8 ... ?

@João. Yes MPX is not for everyone :D

Re: PPM to USB Dongle

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:39 pm
by OctavioS
kalle123 wrote:
By the way Octavio, do you have more than 4 channels configured on your taranis? Do you see any movement in channel monitor on your taranis on channel 5, 6 , 7 , 8 ... ?
Actually no, because i thought, "wrongly", that the sim would assume any switch that i would assign. :(
So, that must be the prob.

Re: PPM to USB Dongle

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:59 pm
by Daedalus66
Just viewed video and it's accurate as far as it goes.

One significant omission is the switches/slider needed to operate channels 5-8. Obviously, as he admits in the response to a comment, you can't get anything to happen on these channels unless you program them. This is a result of the basic philosophy of the open source firmwares that they give you the tools to do things, rather than doing them for you.

Perhaps the key point is that the trainer mode MUST be set to Slave. This is a point some people have a hard time understanding, but all it means is that the transmitter must be putting information OUT through the trainer port, unlike the Master Tx in a trainer setup that take info IN through the trainer port from the Slave TX when the instructor holds the switch.

The other key point not made in the video is that Protocol must be PPM and the polarity must be "-". Hard to see that little minus sign. I wish it were "NEG" as it is in Er9x.

I have mine set up with switches on channels 5 and 6 and slider on channel 7.

As suggested in the above post, always check what the transmitter is doing by looking at the monitor (graphic screen with bars) before even bothering to plug it in.

EDIT: I see you've found the problem. I reemphasize, for this and any other such problem, always go to the monitor screen FIRST. At least half the time the problem will be immediately apparent.

Re: PPM to USB Dongle

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 3:04 am
by jhsa
kalle123 wrote:
@João. Yes MPX is not for everyone :D
I agree.. Simple model, 3 channels, flew several times with the radio, no change in programming. Suddenly, model spiraled to the ground..
That is correct, MPX is not for everyone, at least not for me, not anymore :mrgreen: It was a profi 2000 by the way, brand new and expensive.. well, more expensive than the hammer I used to recycle it. Didn't even bother with waranty :)
A couple years ago, I saw an younger brother of my radio do the same to a friend's gas model here in Germany.. It was also recycled :mrgreen:

João

Re: PPM to USB Dongle

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:18 am
by OctavioS
Daedalus66 wrote:
EDIT: I see you've found the problem. I reemphasize, for this and any other such problem, always go to the monitor screen FIRST. At least half the time the problem will be immediately apparent.
Yes, the problem is solved, but being a newbie myself (1.5 years in the rc world), it takes sometime to gather all the necessary info.
Thats why this forum exists i suppose. So we can get answers to our questions and rely on the good will of the veterans/advanced modelists.

Re: PPM to USB Dongle

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:56 am
by kalle123
Octavio, good to hear, that this is no solved .....