Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

The original alternative firmware. Suitable for all 9x based radio control transmitters.
Post Reply
andybig
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 10:58 am
Country: -

Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by andybig » Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:06 am

Iv got a 9x and with the upgraded software it seems iv got double the channels i had before.
I can see how to switch between the first and second lot of channels.
How can i use them on my receiver?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14162
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:14 am

Which firmware (er9x or openTx) are you using?
What Tx module and receiver are you using?

How you may use the extra channels partly depends on the answers.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

andybig
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 10:58 am
Country: -

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by andybig » Sat Oct 10, 2015 4:34 pm

Hi Mike
Sorry my question was open ended and vague.

Its a Turnigy 9x radio and i was planning to use openTx.
Im yet to purchase a receiver for this build, so my options are open at the moment.
This will be for either an X-UAV Talon or X-UAV Skua build.
So it will want to be compatible with an auto pilot which im about to purchase.
The auto pilot was going to be my next question.

This will be my new winter project.
The money is burning a hole in my pocket and i want to get the parts ordered before the Xmas rush.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14162
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 10, 2015 5:49 pm

If you are likely to need more than 8 channels, then you probably want to get a FrSky XJT Tx module and one, or more, X8R receivers.
The XJT will transmit all 16 channels.
A single X8R will only output 8 channels directly, but also outputs all 16 channels on a SBUS signal.
You can also bind a second X8R to the same XJT, and configure it to output channels 9-16 when binding.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

andybig
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 10:58 am
Country: -

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by andybig » Sat Oct 10, 2015 6:48 pm

Thanks for your help Mike.
Guaranteed that's saved me a fortune and lots of head scratching by buying the correct parts first time round.


nigelsheffield
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by nigelsheffield » Sat Oct 17, 2015 4:24 pm

http://m.banggood.com/16CH-Receiver-PWM ... 96918.html

These is this sbus decoder for £6,

Also mike has written arduino code for a pro mini which I've been using in my glider.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16207
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by jhsa » Sat Oct 17, 2015 4:33 pm

nigelsheffield wrote:
Also mike has written arduino code for a pro mini which I've been using in my glider.
And working good?
Asking because till now I only used mine between the PC and my models to program them using eepskye.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

nigelsheffield
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by nigelsheffield » Sat Oct 17, 2015 5:24 pm

Yes it works fine, can't tell the difference between the servos on the RX and the decoder.
And I just ordered some more arduino nano to make some more so I can leave the decoders in planes that don't get flown enough to warrant their own rxs, frsky rxs arnt as cheap as the dsm2 rxs that were so cheap I could just buy loads and leave em every plane lol!
I have the x4r with the arduino openxsensor which I can then swap over with just one plug, only have to worry about the antenna fixing then.

On a related note I have ordered a rx-f802 reciever from banggood for £12 to test out, 8 channels and basic telemetry but just one antenna so will be interesting to see how it performs(in a foamy till I know its good enough for a glider), it can be my RX for testing out new scratch foamy builds so I don't damage a genuine frsky RX if my attempts don't work out lol...

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16207
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by jhsa » Sat Oct 17, 2015 5:55 pm

Is that frsky compatible? :o
Never read about it.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

nigelsheffield
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by nigelsheffield » Sat Oct 17, 2015 7:58 pm

Yes, its new,
Based on some code that Midelic wrote , not open source but he is updating the code regularly, search frsky diy RX.

nigelsheffield
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by nigelsheffield » Sat Oct 17, 2015 8:12 pm

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthre ... st27788570

Thread that the RX is based on , there is a cheaper RX but less range, also you can build your own with arduino

Be really nice if it was open source , II read one post somewhere that someone is planning to make a d16 version of fw which can make it a tx module or an RX module and release it as open source which will be great.
I'll try to findthe post and put it here.

mmilan
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:16 am
Country: United States
Location: Holly, Mi

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by mmilan » Sat Oct 17, 2015 8:35 pm

I have in use two of RMILEC converters. It converts signals both ways if needed in a different application. It will convert up to 18 sbus ch. to pwm or ppm. I use one with XJT/X8R combination. I found one here on ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/3113952643 ... ps&lpid=82

nigelsheffield
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by nigelsheffield » Sat Oct 17, 2015 8:37 pm

mmilan wrote:I have in use two of RMILEC converters. It converts signals both ways if needed in a different application. It will convert up to 18 sbus ch. to pwm or ppm. I use one with XJT/X8R combination. I found one here on ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/3113952643 ... ps&lpid=82

Hobby king sell that for around £6.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16207
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by jhsa » Sat Oct 17, 2015 9:52 pm

nigelsheffield wrote:http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthre ... st27788570

Thread that the RX is based on , there is a cheaper RX but less range, also you can build your own with arduino

Be really nice if it was open source , II read one post somewhere that someone is planning to make a d16 version of fw which can make it a tx module or an RX module and release it as open source which will be great.
I'll try to findthe post and put it here.
Very interesting indeed. It makes me want to build one.. I'm particulary interested on the Atiny 85 rx that outputs PPM. The reason is, I have built some PPM to PWM converters using a CD4017, like on the old FM receivers. It works great.. The project is somewhere on this forum. So, the rx with Atiny85 plus the CC2500 RF board, and the PPM to servo converter would make a nice cheap 8 channel Frsky receiver with telemetry (I think) ;) :) No antenna diversity I guess??
I have just built another project Midelic is also involved. A multiprotocol RF module.. I built one for my CX-10 quads, and it is working quite well.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2165676

This is fully supported by er9x..
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

nigelsheffield
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by nigelsheffield » Sat Oct 17, 2015 10:05 pm

http://m.banggood.com/DIY-FRSKY-8CH-Rec ... 87247.html

This is cheaper one.
No pa/LNA so range is less but line of sight someone reported 600m range!

The atiny and cheapest cc2500 sounded interesting to me too, but a number of reports of very short range out me off, maybe for indoor flying or very small stuff outside but no way in a glider!

None of these rxs are diversity and this is my main reservation.
I thought about mounting the antenna on a servo and moving the servo if signal drops to a certain value, ideally failsafe would move this servo before kicking in full failsafe to try to get control back.
I can try to implimenting this on the s.bus decoder or ask Midelic to write a version of the rx ccde with that on.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16207
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by jhsa » Sun Oct 18, 2015 12:45 am

Did they use a dipole antenna? If you have only one, better be a dipole..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

nigelsheffield
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by nigelsheffield » Sun Oct 18, 2015 8:15 am

The rx-f802 £12 has dipole from what others have said so far, the cheaper one does not.
They are on a plug so easy to change.
I did consider carefully whether to build or buy, by the time I bought the long range board, a 16m arduino, 3.3v reg, header pin, vero board, a dipole antenna I was pretty close to £10 and then would have all the wiring etc to do and come back if it did not work plus it would be bigger then this RX and probably more fragile.

I bet this is the tip of the iceberg though and we will see more of these rxs appearing cheaper and cheaper, hopefully with diversity antenna at some point.
The components used arnt expensive, cc2500,RFX2401 a few passives and a micro controller, we could see sub £5 good range telemetry rxs quite easily I would think. Would replace the d6 and d8 in many cases.
Once the other telemetry data is cracked and d16 mode too frsky should be worried.
I have been saying for a while they need to reduce prices a touch if they just were less then £15 posted there would be no import problems in uk and its a fair price , with customs here in uk cheapest I can get any telemetry RX is £23 Inc post , a d8r cost £23 plus £3 odd post.....
Once the copies start there is no stopping it, look at spectrum, I used to pay £35 plus post for crappy ar6100e now I can get a lemon copy which works better then spectrum for about £3 posted!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16207
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by jhsa » Sun Oct 18, 2015 8:31 am

Wow, is the lemon stuff that cheap? I never checked cos I never used DSM stuff. I did test some stuff and wasn't impressed at all. Had a friend of mine a couple months ago shouting he didn't have control with a brand new DX9 radio.. so, I guess I will stay with frsky. I also think they got a tad too expensive. I remember the D8R receiver being under $20 a couple years ago? No doubt they will have to keep an eye on the market.. If these receivers work well, and I will for sure order at least one to test, it would be great for small models. I hope they allow failsafe on all channels though as the DIY project seems to have it only on Channel 3?
On that SBUS to servo conveter Mike developed there is failsafe on all 16 channels. So, would it be very difficult to also implement it on the DIY receiver?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

nigelsheffield
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by nigelsheffield » Sun Oct 18, 2015 9:28 am

I got Midelic to add full programmable failsafe on all channels. And fast reconnect times too.
He was using it as mainly quad flying so till I asked he did not think it important.

Also s.bus is there too.

He says he will also look to crack the rest of te!memetry and the £12 RX has RX and tx pins.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16207
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by jhsa » Sun Oct 18, 2015 9:56 am

"Midelic" and "hpnuts" are also "Stars".. I think if they wanted they could even write an open source protocol that could kill all the other systems just like the open source firmware for the radios does..
But definitely would need hardware with diversity.. Safety would have to be first rule.. ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

nigelsheffield
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by nigelsheffield » Sun Oct 18, 2015 10:07 am

Yeah I think they could for sure, certificates would probably be the only thing to get in the way.
Just been looking at the oplink miini as it came up on BG.
Comes in at under the magic £15 , not sure if 433mhz is OK in the UK though and if it integrates with taranis or if it would all be through a PC or phone.
Interesting times any way!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16207
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Now iv got 16 channels how do i use them?

Post by jhsa » Sun Oct 18, 2015 10:09 am

For sure ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “th9x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest